Title: Paige’s Warriors
Series: The Bondmates, #3
Author: Ann Mayburn
.
Genre: Sci-Fi, Space, Aliens
Content: MMF
Stand Alone: Better read in order
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: May 16, 2016
Published by: Honey Mountain Publishing
Publisher bookstore: LINK
ASIN: B01BUI0I5W
Page count:
258 pages

.

..

.
authorbio3Contractor, a Bartender/Waitress, and an actor at the Michigan Renaissance Festival. She also spent a summer touring with the Grateful Dead-though she will deny to her children that it ever happened.

From a young Ann has had a love affair with books would read everything she could get her hands on. As Ann grew older, and her hormones kicked in, she discovered bodice ripping Fabio-esque romance novels. They were great at first, but she soon grew tired of the endless stories with a big wonderful emotional buildup to really short and crappy sex. Never a big fan of purple prose, throbbing spears of fleshy pleasure and wet honey pots make her giggle, she sought out books that gave the sex scenes in the story just as muchd etail and plot as everything else-without using cringe worthy euphemisms. This led her to the wonderful world of Erotic Romance, and she’s never looked back.

Now Ann spends her days trying to tune out cartoons playing in the background to get into her ‘sexy space’ and has accepted that her Muse has a severe case of ADD.

Ann loves to talk with her fans, as long as they realize she’s weird, and that sarcasm doesn’t translate well via text. You can find her at:

Newsletter  –  Website

.

synopsis3After a lifetime of war, Commander Trenzent has left behind the bloody battlefields of the Bel’Tan galaxy and traveled to Earth in the hopes of finding his bondmate. He can only pray that the one woman in the universe who can save his battered soul can look past his scarred exterior to the man within. Unfortunately for Tren, his potential bride is terrified of men thanks to years of abuse at the hands of her father and won’t be easy to seduce.

Paige Grant is pretty sure she’s losing her mind obsessing about a man who doesn’t exist. Ever since the night a wormhole opened up next to Jupiter she’s had these intense dreams about a terrifying, damaged man who awakens a passion inside of her she never knew existed. Despite his grim exterior, he makes her feel safe, something she desperately needs in the real world as she fights off the advances of a man who will not take no for an answer.

But Trenzent isn’t the only Kadothian warrior who believes Paige is his bondmate. An old political enemy of Tren’s, Rell Thantos, also believes the sweet and shy young Earth woman holds the missing part of his soul. He will do whatever it takes to win her heart, even if it means becoming bloodbrothers with a man he hates.

The men will have to find a way to get past their anger and work together to protect Paige against an unknown enemy who is determined to keep the women of Earth out of the Bel’Tan Galaxy forever.

.

buythebookhere

1-AMAZON-US.

myreview5I read this book with a mix of emotions. At times I had a smile on my face and others I just frown and at the end I definitely shake my head.

I liked the characters, most especially the males. They were big bad asses but big softies with the heroine.

This story was mainly MF until almost 2/3 of the book. I would not mind if I could know more of the third character, Rell, in parallel. But it was not the case in this story. I heard of him but I did not knew him enough to love him once he joined the relationship late in the story. It was, in my opinion, a bit too quick to accept a third. Even though I understood that, for this alien race, bondmates means eternal love, bonding a woman and bonding men were different which did not make much sense to me since bondmates were a gift of the Lord of the Life (for a matriarchal world, it was definitely male oriented *snort*)

I don’t know. For me, I would have liked to know more of  Rell: his spy background or his struggles to keep him sane. I also thought that his love story with Tren was a bit short. I would have liked maybe a full chapter to know and love him better. He was lovable, do not get me wrong, but I felt I did not know him enough.

However, the MF love story with the first male, Tren, was totally developed, sweet, a very alpha male protecting the love of his life kinda. I liked him a lot. Here too, I would have loved another chapter with his time at the Hive (the bad guys). It would have added a bit more drama I think.

The funny part is that it took me 2 or 3 chapters to remember the back story. I had to verify if it is was not one of those book that were renamed or revamped with a new cover or new pen name or even a new publisher as we often see these days without warning. But it was not. I checked on Goodreads which is the place that is pretty nice to check this kind of thing. It was truly a first edition. Phew! I was happy I did not spend my money on a book I already had. But I was happy also because it means that the first story I read (Casey), published in 2014 was memorable and if it was, it gave me hopes that this story (Paige) would be enjoyable.

And it was. 🙂

However, few things bothered me along my reading journey.

First, as mentioned, the equality was not respected with the third character. She loved him almost at sight. They had sex, she saw his soul and bam: eternal love! Yes, it was some fate and inevitable but being human, even though she understood the culture, was a bit too quick for me.

But to be honest, my major issue was inconsistencies, especially at the last third of the book.

(please skip this part to avoid spoilers)

  • The heroine is short at 5′ and curvy. Tren has a 12 inches dick. So in order for them to have sex, she must accept to grow in height. So she does and overnight she become a 5’11” women … but still with ALL the curves she had before. It was just a matter of growing her vagina receptacle. So she was tall AND curvy meaning what? Plus Plus size?
  • But then… almost at the end of the story, when she needs to bond with guys so they do not turn to madness, it is said that the alien race has a special lube that help to accept two dicks at once. uh? So what was the point to get the chemical to grow if she could use the lube then?
  • The heroine is almost scared of her shadow at the beginning of the book. She was traumatized and beaten. Then, she meet Tren and everything change and become very confident. Once she absorbs the chemical without her knowledge (for me it is very close to forced/rape to a certain extend), the only thing that change in her personality is her lack of confidence, nothing more, just that.
  • The bondmates is 3 people forming one entity. They all share their souls and love and everything. But at one point, both males could speak to each other by mind and she just witness it from the outside, not part of it, just as a third wheel. It did not make sense.
  • Both males were very close and each started the ‘madness’ without their knowledge (?). At one time, once the madness starts it is irreversible and on the other side both heroes had the first signs but could held it at bay. It did not make sense or was not explained enough for me to accept it.
  • The fact that Rell came second, after Paige and Tren already had great sex. He came as a big dominant (Thank you Mrs Mayburn for not calling him ‘Dom’) and that too was not logical somehow. A dominant would have make sure to bond asap or fight more.
  • There is a part where the heroine, Paige, is debriefed by the previous heroines, Jax and Casey. It was wayyyyyyy over the top. Jax gave the heroine a speedy lesson about bondmates and sex and culture. I did not like that part. I felt it was Tren’s responsibility to explain and share. I did not like Jax. They just met. Same thing with Casey, although they were friends for a long time, Casey was totally out of line and intrusive. I would have understood this conversation months or years later but I did not feel they were there to help. I wanted to slap Jax and Casey! hahaha
  • Their word is matriarchal which means that women have authority. I am not sure which authority because everything was decided by men. The hero, Tren, is the general commander of billions of aliens. No sign of a woman here. I saw no matriarchal decision whatsoever. They could be head of their house but by name only. It was mention of a high council but not developed.
  • I did not find the sex scenes that great. The hymen conveniently removed while in the clinic to grow. I thought it was a nice story with a solid plot rather than an erotic story.

(end of spoilers)

Truth is, I truly enjoy the 2/3 of the book but the last third was for me rushed and over the top. If I would have given easily a 4 stars, possibly a 5 stars half the book; I changed my mind for a 3 stars because the inconsistencies were too many to enjoy the fluidity of the story I felt at the beginning.

Do not get me wrong. I still recommend this book. It is a good book. I honestly think if you like sci-fi and MMF menage, you should give it a go. The writing is easy, the plot very nice and the romance definitely great! 🙂

.

myratingnew-2

ok-sexheat2

rating 3

Comments are closed.