Title: Deep Water
Series: Olympic Cove , Book 3.0
Author: Nicola Cameron
.
Genre: Fantasy, paranormal
Content: mmf, m/m, f/f  sex scene
Stand Alone: YES, but better read in order
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: Aug 11, 2015
Published by: Evernight Publishing
Publisher bookstore: LINK
ISBN: 9781772334586
Word count: 98.300
Page count:
298 pages

.

.
authorbio3
Nicola Cameron is a married woman of a certain age who really likes writing about sex. When not writing about sex, she likes to knit. And she may be rather fond of absinthe. Well, it’s true!

Okay, okay, the full version: Nicola Cameron has had a healthy interest in sex since puberty, but it wasn’t until 2012 that she decided to write about it. Turns out that the skills picked up during her SF writing career transfer rather nicely to erotic romance and erotica — who knew?

Speaking of erotica, her fantasy erotic romances Storm Season and Breaker Zone (Books One and Two in the Olympic Cove series), Romance on the Go™ novelettes “A Boon by Moonlight” and “Grading the Curve”, coyote shifter paranormal romance Trickster, and fast-paced SF caper romance Two to Tango are are all available from Evernight Publishing. She is currently working on Behind the Iron Cross, a dark MMF erotic romance set in Weimar Republic-era Berlin, and Deep Water, Book Three in the Olympic Cove series. Her To Be Written work queue currently stands at around nineteen books, and thanks to certain enablers in Baltimore she may have added two more to that list. But hey, who needs sleep?

When not working, she’s usually making Stuff™, kissing her husband, or entertaining her cats.

BlogWebsiteTwitter ID  – Goodreads

FacebookSmashwords  – Amazon

.

synopsis3Poseidon, God of the Sea, has spent millennia alone due to a single terrible act. His consort, Amphitrite, has sworn never to forgive him, and he’s forced to live with the knowledge that he drove an innocent girl to her doom.

But when one of the Olympic Cove cottages gains an occupant with an all-too-familiar soul, Poseidon discovers that the Fates have given him a second chance. Now he must try to right the wrongs of the past and win back both his beloved consort and the mate he betrayed.

Assuming, of course, that the Mad Nereid Thetis doesn’t interfere…

.

buythebookhere

myreview5This was a very intriguing menage that caught my attention when I first read the synopsis. I was not sure at first because it is definitely a risky thing to use mythological characters and make them endorse a certain personality.

But I wanted something new and I am always happy to find something out of the box. Not that Nicola Cameron is the first one to do it but she is in this minority of author who dared… which is a bonus for me.

So what was special about this story?

Definitely the characters and the romance. Those definitely stood out and made me curious to turn page after page until the last word of the last line of the last chapter.

I do not like perfect heroes. I like them vulnerable, slightly high maintenance without being whinny. The perfect guy with the perfect mind with the perfect body with the perfect romantic mind with the perfect whatever… how boring! How authors want me to relate to such heroes is a mystery. But I understand that some readers are looking for such fairy tale heroes. It is lovely to be transported to a parallel world for sure. Poseidon was definitely not boring.

I think I stand in the middle. I want to believe that the male heroes I read exist somewhere on this earth even though chances are slim, I still want to think that it is possible. But the perfect heroes from head to toes, inside and out, falling in love at first sight of generally a nice looking but not out of this world gorgeous woman, authors feed me? naaaaaa I am immediately disconnected from the story and I become this very critical and analytic reader that see mostly the inconsistencies instead of being transported to a fantasy world.

So…

I approached Deep Water with care. Could be good or could be bad.

It turned out, it was good. very good. But before it turned very good for me, I had to open all my imagination and keep my mind very open to fantasy. I love history but thank Gawd I am not crazy about mythology. I visited Greece many times but I know very little about Olympus, except names and general and limited knowledge about them. So it was easier to open my mind about the characters. I said easier not easy. Please note the difference.

I have to admit that Poseidon grew on me. And to be frank, this story is mainly his story. I had a hard time at first to conciliate present and millennium deities. That was my main issue at first. Then, I let go of the Olympus and decided to see the heroes like any other paranormal fantasy characters I like.

So why not the 5 stars outstanding rating then?

Because of a couple of things such not giving equal time with the second male hero and focusing on Poseidon. Even the synopsis is all about him. But the cover is about three heroes. So I was not totally satisfied with this choice to introduce the third hero late in the story. The third hero justified the story and romance so I thought he needed more lights than what I found. I liked the heroine but I did fell for her. I think she made her own mistakes and she should have realized that she pushed Poseidon to make the mistake he made. It was, for me a 50/50 and both did not handle the situation correctly. The author decided to put the blame on Poseidon at 99% and for this reason, I could not connect fully with the heroine.

The third character was the reason why they could not be happy. I just wanted to know more about him. I wanted to know more and even if his absence was justified, I wanted to fall for the guy when he showed up in the story and I felt something was missing. He was a lovely character but I felt he was just an accessory in the story, not fully part of the story.

Although the author definitely respected the time frame, I thought it was a bit too stretchy. In over several millenniums, both heroes had many occasions to cross paths and meet but I found this grudge from the heroine a bit too excessive even though I understood she got stuck in a habit of love/hate relationship. But what make it better was the evolution of Poseidon’s personality. The excessive time was a tiny bit too much for me only because when we think about it… several freaking millenniums is a heck of a time to grow up!

The story is about romance but I also find some plot mixed into it which added a little bit more depth into the story.

So yes, I do recommend Deep Water. It is original and a great romance to read. This is the kind of story that I read few months back and still remember it as if I read it yesterday… which is, from my perspective, excellent!

.

myratingnew-2



rating 4

Comments are closed.