Title: Mad Delights
Series:
Author: Beth D. Carter
.
Genre: Contemporary, Thriller
Content: MFM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: August 4, 2015
Published by: Totally Bound
Publisher bookstore: LINK
ISBN:  978-1-78430-654-0
Word count: 52,891
Page count:

.

Two Are Better Than One….

(Technically, the term of three or more people in a relationship is polyamorous but somehow the term ménage stuck. So, for the sake of this article, I’m sticking with it.)

My mother raised both eyebrows at me the first time I told her I wanted to write a ménage love story. Why? She asked me. Because it’s hard to write and I love a challenge. She gave me one of those yeah, right looks.

Most would-be erotic romance nay-sayers probably would snicker at that because, after all, how hard could it be to write three people getting it on? But they’d be ignoring the most important word of that statement…romance. Now romance between three people has to be believable, at least for me it does. I do admit that I have a ménage or two out there that I wrote early in my career that seems a little too insta-love, but as I began to read more, learn more, I came to love the complexity of having two alpha males vying for one female.

Male testosterone can be a bitch, so when you times that by two, there’s going to be uncertainty, jealousy, pounding on the chest, and pissing on legs. Issues have to be dealt with for that happy ever after. When I dreamed up the Red Wolves MC, and its companion novels Mad Delights and Madness Ends, I gravitated to the idea of exploring a ménage relationship within the confines of a motorcycle club.

Often, to make the ménage work, the author will have the two men either be best friends or related, establishing that back story right out of the gate. I’ve done this a lot myself. But recently I decided to push the concept a little. In my book When Dove Cries, Book 3 of the Red Wolves MC, the two males do not trust each other at all. One thinks the other killed his cousin. But they come together for the safety of the heroine, so finding a middle ground on such a slippery slope made writing it a challenge. You can’t have hero #1 threatening hero #2 and then the next scene willing to share a girl in bed. Above all, there has to be believability.

Occasionally I step outside my comfort zone in an effort to keep my writing fresh. I was drawn to the idea of having a heroine that wasn’t quite so…sane. After all, who hasn’t had their own moments of insanity? Or had a friend that defied logic? We’ve all been there at some point or another. I had this vision of a badass chick walking at the end of a gun battle, saving the heroes, and one of them seeing her and declaring himself in love. In my mind, it was hilarious. So from that image, I came up with Chloe. In Mad Delights, she’s got some issues, and tried to write her messed up but loveable at the same time. Of course, both heroes fall for her.

In any good ménage book, you have to answer the question: why are they willing to share? Because ménage should be complicated, heartfelt and downright sexy. If you add those three, you’ll have a winning combination!

Beth D. Carter

.

Enter Totally Bound’s August blog tour competition
for the chance to win an eBook of your choice, not including boxsets or anthologies.

Direct link ► https://www.totallybound.com/competition/tb-august-blog-tour-competition

.


This review is part of a book tour organized by Total Bound

..


authorbio3
I like writing about the very ordinary girl thrust into extraordinary circumstances, so my heroines will probably never be lawyers, doctors or corporate high rollers. I try to write characters who aren’t cookie cutters and push myself to write complicated situations that I have no idea how to resolve, forcing me to think outside the box. I love writing characters who are real, complex and full of flaws, heroes and heroines who find redemption through love.

I’ve been pretty fortunate in life to experience some amazing things. I’ve lived in France, traveled throughout Europe, Australia and New Zealand. I am a mom to an amazing little boy. I’m surrounded by friends and family. And although I love holding a book in my hand, I absolutely adore my ereader, which I’ve named Ruby. I love to hear from readers so I’ve made it really easy to find me on the web.

.

synopsis3When violence sweeps through their town, the Men of Hell must figure out who’s after their club.

Someone is watching Romeo Barrigan’s every move. Chloe Matsumoto’s favorite pastime is studying the Men of Hell Motorcycle Club’s president. Ever since he helped rescue her deaf cousin from the hands of a human-trafficking ring, Chloe has become fascinated with him and now wonders how she can repay him.

Daxton Squire is the enforcer of the Men of Hell. He’s filled with self-loathing after failing to recognize the threat from the former club president. When he spots someone tailing Romeo, he vows to protect him at any cost. Only Dax didn’t expect to be so attracted to the little stalker.

Violence sweeps through Bair, Nebraska, threatening the town and the club. Romeo has a lot on his plate. Not only does he have to figure out who’s after his club, he also has to determine how the hell he ended up in a ménage relationship—and keep those he loves safe from the menace.

Reader Advisory: This book contains scenes of ménage and anal sex, scenes of violence, physical abuse, murder, prostitution, and hints of drug use. There is a scene of dubious consent and some racist language.  

Publisher’s Note: This book is the prequel to Madness Ends and is best read in sequence.

Publisher’s Note: This book is linked to the Red Wolves Motorcycle Club series and both books are linked to the Red Wolves Motorcycle Club series.

.

buythebookhere.

myreview5Another outstanding menage romance from Beth D. Carter! Yay!

Some authors are for me a sure thing. Beth D. Carter is one of them. I read Spirals years ago and for me this is till memorable and one of my favorite.

This time around, Beth D. Carter decided to continue her Motorcycle Club saga with Mad Delights but with another bad boy motorcycle club. Since this is #1 of this new series, I was happy to jump into it as a stand alone. Since I did not read yet the Red Wolves Motorcycle Club series, I did not know if I would miss some details from previous books but after one or two details explained at first pages, I was right into the plot.

And the plot is definitely one of the two highlights of this story! But the major one was the choice of characters mixed with it.

Chloe was the glue of everything in this book. She was no angel, she was probably the anti-heroine. She was “crazy”, had tons of issues but definitely not the whinny kind of issues. I loved her.

Heroes were not bad either but they only complemented the heroine character. I liked that the males were not over the top macho and it was refreshing considering that gangs are not hearts and flowers.

And this is something I have to ponder. For the last year or so, motorcycle bad boys books rained on the book market. We had vampires, werewolves and now we have motorcycles club (MC) bad boys. Vampires have eternal life with their soul mates, werewolves have their genetic mates. Motorcycles bad boys have their bad ass old ladies. It is quite funny and weird how authors do avoid the really bad aspect of the MC such drugs, whoring/pimping, killing which turns all around violence in their story. I wonder if the fact that in a lot of states in the US, people can carry (a gun) to protect themselves is now so common that our literature is reflecting this somehow. Would an European author write about MC, would a Brit or an Aussie or a Canadian would? Canadian, probably. We are neighbor after all.

As a french Canadian, I am seeing this evolution to accept more and more violence in our romances as if our world is so fucked up that people are still finding love among it. Interesting that so many authors find MC world source of inspiration. For me Hell Angels is far from romantic, so indeed interesting how I like reading MC novels. This said, it also exists many biker groups (I hesitate to say gang since I always associate this word with violence) that are just like everyone and the only difference is their love for their bike. But those are generally not the type of characters the authors pick. They prefer bad ass nasty dangerous bikers but since it is a romance voluntary remove all the bloody aspect to keep it romantic. And this is when sometimes I have a hard time to believe the plot.

What I find interesting in Mad Delights is the interracial characters. I already had a taste with Spirals with this author and I am glad that she kept this line in her stories. Not many do. A lot of one white, one black but rarely asian with white or native with white or black with asian etc. I like it. I think it brings something fresh in the stories. Beth D. Carter definitely mastered this interracial without using it as a tool for sex only. She not only mix the race but also the culture and this is truly a plus for me.

Mad Delights is a story that I could hardly put down. I was hooked as I said with the heroine, Chloe. She brought on the table something new, unexpected. I like to be surprised and kept on my toes.

So what are the little things I did not like in this story? Although did not like is a a bit excessive.

The way the heroine was free to go from a very powerful man with bodyguards, the easy way she got the money. That was a bit over the top for me. I understand the convenience but it was a bit over the top.

I worked in a hospital and let me tell you that hierarchy is huge. The way the heroine step on nurses status was not credible for me. Hospital is like the army. Professors, doctors, nurses and everybody else after. Chloe, even specialized entered in the everybody else category, so the way she acted after only few days was not credible at all. But this blended in the story so it was not a major issue overall.

I liked also that it was not love at first sight but lust at first sight. That is definitely how I understand MC stories.

Mad Delights is definitely a must read. Beth D. Carter introduced the next heroes in the story in Madness Ends and I am very curious to read it. They are again unusual characters and she made me very curious to know more!

I definitely recommend this story without hesitation.

..

myratingnew-2



rating 5

2 responses

  1. Thank you so much for reading my story!

    Liked by 1 person