Title: Make me whole
Author: R.C. Matthews
.
Genre: Contemporary
Content: MFM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: June 1, 2015
Published by: Loose-id
Publisher bookstore: LINK
ISBN: 978-1-62300-929-8
Word count:
Page count:
204 pages

.

.
authorbio3
R.C. Matthews’ debut book entitled Little White Lies, was conceived in 1997 while living in Cologne, Germany. However, marriage, children and a day job that paid the bills put writing the book on the back burner until 2012 when she discovered the folder with her research in the basement while reorganizing! Determined to finally realize her life-long dream of writing a book, R.C. Matthews spent 15 months writing on weekends to complete the manuscript. Now she has 7 books under her belt.

R.C. Matthews was raised in the Metro-Detroit area by deaf parents along with four siblings. She graduated from a liberal arts college with a B.A. in Accounting and German and continues to work as a certified public accountant. She enjoys traveling with her loving husband and children, reading, down-hill skiing, and playing board games. Talisman and LIFE are high on the list of favorites at her home.

Facebook Twitter Website

.

synopsis3For Jake Hanson, it was the perfect solution to a deep darkness. The accident took more than the use of his legs; it took everything that made him feel like a man. He needs their ménage. It puts him on the path to healing. With Jessie and Chad, he can conquer anything…he thinks.

Jessica Hanson did it all for her husband, to make him feel whole again. She didn’t want a threesome. At least, that’s what she believed in the beginning. But when she realizes that she can’t imagine life without both her husband and his best friend by her side, she’ll question everything she thought completed her.

FBI agent Chad Wilson, couldn’t believe he agreed to his best friend’s proposal. There were too many things beyond his control that could go wrong. But when things go right, he is forced to admit to the best months of his life. Yet on the heels of his greatest joy comes his greatest fear. He’s endangered them all, and the clock is ticking.

They’ll push the boundaries and blur the lines, coming face to face with one of life’s hardest truths: Sometimes to become whole, you have to break.

.

buythebookhere

.

myreview5Great story, original, easy writing but somehow I cannot give a 5 stars. And here are my reasons.

It started really really great. One hero in a chair, a devoted wife and a best friend.

The story made totally sense to me. Some relationship are based on friendship, some other on sex, some on family etc. Here the glue was sex. I understand it although for me this would not be enough to keep the relationship long term but I understand that some couple focus only on themselves with no child. I met some. It is their choice. Most wish to be free to sport, to travel, to do whatever they want. It sounds selfish but if they have the honesty to say that they would not be good parents, then I agree with their choice of living.

So the story start after the accident. It sure changed everything in the relationship and since sex was their #1, I understood that either the couple would fall apart or, like in this story, an alternative was found.

R.C. Matthews described very well the struggles, the depression, the hopes and fears of the handicapped hero, Jake. However, I was less convinced with the wife, Jessie. I understood the second hero and his path, Chad.

So in order to spice the couple and made him feel better, Jake asks his best friend to fuck his wife while he plays the voyeur. All the story will be around this idea and how feelings will be developed for each characters short and long term.

So I struggled with the wife. She is a devoted wife, loved her husband, accepted to take care of himself, accepted to have a “boring sex life” due to circumstances. I mean she is the perfect wife. And when her husband tell her that he wants a threesome, she has very little reserves and accepts pretty quickly, not only the idea but the sex. She thought she could not make love with another person besides her husband because sex and love came in a package but yet, she had no issue to accept and have sex with this friend that she was never attracted before. I felt she was a puppet: do this! yes dear. Do not fall in love! Never, dear. I do not like oui oui heroines…

Something was not right. I had issues with the heroine. Either she is a good little wife with no spine and born and raised to please her husband no matter what or the author failed to show me that she made her choice with open eyes, or maybe the author wanted her that way? Whatever the reasons, I could not relate with the heroine.

I liked better both heroes. Jake lost his manhood somehow when he lost the use of his legs. I understand that. When a person is out of his/her normal element, I get it that alternatives pop up and some totally unorthodox. It was totally credible that he did not count on the fact that his best friend was in love with his wife or would fall in love deeper. Sometimes it is easy to forget important details that can messes some plans.

Chad was the perfect third but of course if love was not involved. He was a player, a bachelor, kind a jerk who left the room after the party. So it was interesting to see how he rejected the idea to love because of his work and per respect of his best friend and the uncontrollable feelings he always had for Jessie.

So it was overall a great set up of characters and plot. I liked it.

But in the middle of the story, I started to detach myself because nothing really happened. It took a long time to see some evolution in the threesome and the author lost me a bit.

This is a brand new author for me and of course I went on her site to know more about this author. I was very surprised of two things.

First, she made sure to explain that this story is not erotica.

Make Me Whole is my seventh romance novel, but my first to venture into erotic romance. Trust me….this is not erotica, despite the fact that the story line involves a ménage. This is a tale of three adults with a deep respect and love for one another. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry and you’ll probably want to smack each of the characters at one point or another. Never read a ménage before? Why not give it a try?

Second, she explained that her husband was not happy with the epilogue so she wrote another one and share it on her site. I will not share it but I was really surprised that in order to please a publisher she changed the ending.

I am not sure I like this change of mind. Obviously this author wants to make sure that she is mainstream first. I feel as if she just played writing an erotic menage romance and is totally not comfortable about it or scare to loose her fans or credibility or what? If an author is not 100% into the erotic part of the romance and has issues about the HEA menage, then in my opinion, this author should remain mainstream maybe?

Somehow I have a bitter taste on my mouth about this.

But… the story is still good and I am sure many will like it a lot. It definitely has many great and good elements in it for me to recommend it.

.

myratingnew-2



rating 4

Comments are closed.