RELEASE: JUNE 2, 2015

Title: Talking Trouble
Author: Barbara Elsborg
.
Genre: Contemporary
Content: MMF
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published:
Published by: Totally Bound
Publisher bookstore: LINK
ISBN: 978-1-78430-572-7
Word count: 96,569
Page count:

.

.
authorbio3
Barbara Elsborg lives in West Yorkshire in the north of England. She always wanted to be a spy, but having confessed that to everyone without them even resorting to torture, she decided it was not for her. Vulcanology scorched her feet. A morbid fear of sharks put paid to marine biology. So instead, she spent several years successfully selling cyanide. After dragging up two rotten, ungrateful children and frustrating her sexy, devoted, wonderful husband (who can now stop twisting her arm) she finally has time to conduct an affair with an electrifying plugged-in male, her laptop.

Her books feature quirky heroines and bad boys, and she hopes they are much fun to read as they were to write.

You can find out more about Barbara and her books at www.barbaraelsborg.com, catch more of her scintillating wit at her blog, and if you want to tell her how much you love her books, please, email her! Don’t forget to follow her on Facebook and Twitter as well!

.

synopsis3Two men are separated by more than the dam between their houses. Can Mollie be the path that unites them?

Flint Klavan appears to have it all. The sought-after British actor is affluent, loved and vocal in his professional life but privately he’s a mess. A devastating breakup leaves him full of self-loathing. He hopes to find the way to turn things around when disaster strikes. He’s left speechless with fear he’ll never get the chance to recover what he’s lost.

Mollie James has the perfect job teaching children, and used to have the perfect boyfriend. Attentive, kind and thoughtful. Only now he’s not. She has to sacrifice everything if she’s any chance to survive, and run as fast and as far as she can.

Lysander Weldon is a wealthy, talented artist who’s hidden himself away following personal tragedies. He shares his house and his body but never his heart. When opportunity to forgive confronts him, he has to choose between giving up his fortress or bracing to watch happiness leave him behind.

Reader Advisory: This book contains scenes of physical abuse and MM content.

.

buythebookhere

.

myreview5Okay. where should I start. I like pink? Well, not really but I will make an exception here. Yes I will make a happy sacrifice for this book!

Barbara Elsborg has always been one of my favorite menage author. Each author has its writing style and Barbara Elsborg has one that just get to me. I already say it in previous reviews but I’ll say it again. What makes her unique is her sense of humor that she brings into her stories but if you read her blog or follow her, you’ll know that what you read is what you get in real life. Barbara Elsborg is living in GB and you will find her British expression here and there. Could be why I love her so much? Probably has a huge part in my liking for sure. Barbara Elsborg is memorable. A lot of authors can write very well but few are memorable. I read a couple of menage from Barbara Elsborg and I am able to talk about them as if I just finish reading them. THAT for me people is talent. 😉

She wrote many books and not only menages but I think she is at her best when she writes long novels. Talking Trouble is no exception.

So yes. Pink. All pink “LOVE IT” rating? This is extremely rare from my part to offer outstanding in all categories. But with this story? Definitely as I loved everything in it from start to finish.

But of course, I still have to add some grain of salt here and there but honestly nothing that could change my mind to change the pink color.

So lets start with the pink-ish and get rid of it asap:

Timeline. At times I thought Flint did not have the right time to recover and the nothing jumped to understanding and more way too quickly in my opinion. I do not want to spoil anything so I have to play with words. But you will understand when you’ll read it. Plus falling in love with somebody in his condition was for me a bit stretchy. Same with the cheating. I found it a bit excessive to be so unhappy after such little time of marriage. Extra time would have solved that and make it more plausible. Then not sure I understood why the heroine needed to be so nice when she was a kid with everyone, I missed some dots so this needed to be clarified.

Done! no more -ish! See? not enough to make a big deal, just a tiny one! haha

The characters were definitely lovable and I could relate with the heroine a 100%. Both males were not princes charming and THAT I totally loved it. This made them way more credible. The heroine was not whining, she was funny, kind and positive and the kind of girl any male would fall for. What made it special is that it was not her body, then her personality they fell for at the end of the story. It was her personality that made all the difference at first sight. How refreshing! Yes we are physically attracted to people but it takes time. Kudos for not using the four letters at the first chapter by any of the heroes!!

Romance was nicely  developed. I never felt as if one loved more than the other. It was romantic and sweet. Which proves that not every author needs to add a spanking in their story eh? I never felt as if the heroine was a third wheel which is always one of my concern in a MMF story. Everyone was equal and it was not forced. I never felt as if the author thought: ok 300 words with X, so now I must have 300 words with Y. See what I mean? Equality is not about the number of words but how an author makes me feel about the romance shared between the heroes.

Talking about sex now.  This the rating I rarely, very very rarely give in my reviews. Good yes but love it? naa. Well, welcome to my exception here! You will not find tons of sex scenes but the ones you will read will make you hot. No, I did not use my best friend (haha), can’t say that. But I sure did read every line and paragraph and this is also rare now. I am generally bored to read the threesome sex scenes as I hardly find them interesting. Thank you Barbara Elsborg. Ok, the scenes were maybe not that original because there were not rehearsing the Kama Sutra but the originality was in the choice of words and description.  I. was. there. It is as simple as that. And this for me made a whole difference!

Plot? Several at the same time and all mixed well together. It was nicely developed and it did not over shadow the romance but added the right touch to explain their personalities. I truly liked it. I love multiple villains 🙂

Epilogue. Definitely the one I wanted to end this story. No marriage. nope. Just the right epilogue for this story. You’ll see.

Cover. Not overly original but lovely. I enjoyed nice models and the simplicity. I always had a soft spot for this publisher, Totally Bound. I am lucky to find menage romances all over the place now, but I have to say that I have a couple of publishers that I, not only respect, but truly enjoy. Totally Bound always offer quality and out of the box stories. Not especially covers which is of course the cherry on top of the cake, but mostly with the edition. It goes also with the authors of course but the mixture together means that they always deliver great stories for their customers/fans. I am one of them.

So no. This is not october to wear pink but I will be very upset if you do not trust me and make an exception!

GO. BUY. THIS. BOOK. NOW!

NB: honest… this is truly an incredible book. physical abuse is nasty but not too painful to read. err – did I mention the sex scenes were hot? I mean really bloody hot? 😛

.

myratingnew-2



rating 5

5 responses

  1. Chalice Bailey says:

    I wanted to ask your opinion of the heroine of this book in terms of her maturity and having her head on straight. I have read several of Ms. Elsborg’s books and while
    I LOVE her writing, truly, I am tired of plucky, wacky klutzes for heroines and nothing else.

    Like

  2. Lauren says:

    Thanks for your review of a favorite author! Time to read this ebook then.

    Like

  3. […] I love your interview! It was so fun to be part of your world and know you better. I read Talking Trouble and reviewed it 5 STARS. I hope everyone will consider reading you. […]

    Like