Title: Build a Love
Series:
Author: Suzy Shearer
.
Genre: Contemporary
Content: MMF
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published:
Published by: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher bookstore: LINK
ISBN:
Word count: 54,859
Page count:

.

.
authorbio3
All alone and fancy free; Suzy lives in Sydney Australia’s Western Suburbs with one very spoiled dog and two equally spoiled cats to keep her company. She is still looking for that once in a lifetime love – the kind that makes your toes curl.

When she is not writing, she is painting. An accomplished Artist, her passion is watercolours and her subject matter ranges from portraits and animals to nudes and seascapes.

Suzy loves to hear from readers so stop by her website or send her an email.

Oh yes … she also has a penchant for crazy coloured hair – pinks, purples and even rainbowed – and for tattoos!

Visit her website – Find her on Facebook

http://suzyshearer.wix.com/suzy http://suzyshearer.blogspot.com.au/
https://www.tsu.co/SuzyShearerhttps://plus.google.com/+SuzyShearerParkes
https://twitter.com/SuzyShearer
http://www.bookstrand.com/suzy-shearer
https://www.goodreads.com/SuzyShearer http://www.pinterest.com/sooziiis
http://www.linkedin.com/in/suzyshearer http://www.manicreaders.com/SuzyShearer
.

synopsis3Harriet Kempton has spent the last twelve years of her life being an Ice Queen to protect her heart. Stabbed, raped, and left for dead, she can no longer trust any man. She is shocked when she meets two handsome builders, Bryan Garrett and Marco Campione. Harry feels an instant attraction to them both and wonders if it’s time to take a chance on love again. But can she get over her past and move on? Even more important—can she accept a relationship with not one but two men? Two men who have a loving sexual relationship with each other but want Harry to complete them. Harry has a demon to fight if she has any chance of future happiness. Will these men stand alongside her and help her or will her past be too much for them to handle?

Note: This book is written in first-person point of view.

.

buythebookhere.

myreview5Good menage romance. That is my conclusion and overall, I thought it was a sweet romance but needed a little bit of that, a little less of this and a double dose of that.

So let’s start with a bit of that…

Suzy Shearer is among 99% of the menage romances authors who do not offer a distinct love relationship between each hero and the heroine in order to make me believe she fell in love with both as individuals and not one person in two bodies. Three people means three different minds, body and soul. However, authors always choose to attach both heroes by the hip. They are always together, think the same, be at the same place, fell in lust together, want the same future, express their feelings at the same time etc. I understand equality but this is not what I am talking about. I am talking being a distinct unique character with hopes, love, personality. And what I read in 99% of the time is one hero with two bodies. So it is not the author’s fault here. Most authors never experienced a long term menage relationship in real life and their perception is distorted from reality, definitely fairy tale alike in my opinion.

So Build a Love was no different. Very nice lovable heroes but I did not know why they decided to share a woman except that she had a vagina. Bisexuality for me is a bit more than a penis and a vagina. Bisexuality is to do not make a difference between a man and a woman and the attraction is identical, body and mind. You meet a person, and you know this person is right for you, genre is not important.

But again, I liked the heroes in Build a Love. One thing I totally liked was their age. Thank you Mrs Shearer for thinking that not all readers are less than 30-35 years old!! This is so annoying to read only 25ish virgins and 30ish successful men. I was very happy when I read the heroes were 42 and 45! I would have liked to know what happened before they met but just being older than the majority of the heroes I read in the menages I read, was a big plus!

The heroine was also mature but not too prime. I liked that the author gave enough time to deal with her past and it was not resolved in a matter of weeks or months. Big brownie points here too!

I read it from beginning to end but I have to admit I skipped few sex scenes. Not that they were bad written, but because it was a bit dejà vu.

Lets continue with a little less of that now…

The plot was very predictable. I knew before I read half the book where the plot was going. I knew the villain would come back in force. I was just waiting when. I am not sure how the author could have done it differently though. But I was not kept on my toes and this is for me the difference between good and outstanding. I love to be surprised. I love to guess. I love to relate. Build a Love is nicely written and all but missing is the element of surprise.

I also have some issues with love at first sight. The heroes never spoke with the heroine, saw her in their building and already envisioned a future with her? Here again, I read that way too often. The heroes see the heroine, have no idea if she is a bitch or what and bam, they decide she is the one. Of course, they do not say they love her immediately but everything else is already there. I felt disconnected.

The heroine is definitely high maintenance but not whinny which was good. She spent 12 years alone, with nightmares and panic attacks. They show up at her door and without even knowing her, they are offering support and long term commitment? It does not make sense. It was a bit over the top for me to make it credible.

Now regarding a double dose of that…

I enjoyed the romance between the characters. I also enjoyed the secondary characters a lot. The friendship she had with her gay friends and the loving Italian family balanced the credibility part, as well as the 12 years time line. Same with the plot. Even though it was very predictable, it was well developed. Suzy Shearer gave enough of drama in her story that I am sure you will have a little bit of water in your eyes. You will also have a couple of awe moments when the heroes will demonstrate their love to the heroine too.

The book is written first-person point of view but switch between the three characters which is nice because when it is only one character, I always miss the intimate connection I have with them.

So, my conclusion is that Build a Love is a nice romance indeed 🙂

.

myratingnew-2



rating 3

Comments are closed.