1612898Title: Falling into Place
Series: Others of Edenton, #3
Author: Brandy L. Rivers
.
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Druids, Mages
Content: MF, MFM, MMF
Stand Alone: NO
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: Dec 15, 2013
Published by: Brandy L Rivers
Publisher bookstore: LINK
ISBN: 9780990784418
Word count: 98,000
Page count:

amazon-kindle aretwitterav_normalbn-nookswlogo2

.

.
authorbio3
Brandy L Rivers is the author of the Others of Edenton Series. There are more Others of Edenton in the works. She is also working on the Others of Seattle series.

As an avid reader, Brandy has always loved writing. She became serious about it as a stay-at-home-mother. She has a file full of manuscripts she plans to edit and put out there eventually.

She lives in Western Washington with her husband and three kids, where she is already working on future stories in the series.

Website: http://brandylrivers.com

.

synopsis3Robert would have done anything for Liz, even let her go when she claimed she needed to be alone. With his life in shambles, he dove into his work as a Silver Council enforcer.

Liz never fit in, but to protect her first love, she walked away when a wild burst of magic nearly killed him. Tremaine found her, and helped her put her life back together.

The man who tore her world apart awakes from a 21 year slumber with revenge on his mind. Nothing will stop James from tearing the power from Liz’s body.

After learning James is alive, Robert rushes to Liz and bands together with Tremaine to keep her safe. Facing her worst fears Liz realizes she can only fall apart or fall into place.

buythebookhere

myreview5Another story that started fantastic, turned confusing, then redundant and finally was happy to read the epilogue.

I had two major issues with this story.

The transition between the past and the present was not done smoothly. The author decided to introduce previous characters from the series and assumed that all her readers read her first two books which obviously I did not.

Sometimes, having previous characters is not such an issue to understand the plot and where the heroes and heroine come from but here it had no transition. She was living something and next part she was in another place being and living something else. A gap of a couple of years. It was disturbing.

I have an issue about series, stand-alone and trilogies. When I read a story, I assume, unless it is clearly mentioned “trilogy or part 1”, that the story is a stand alone. So what is the definition of a stand alone then?

When sequels are set in either the same universe or one very similar to that of their predecessors yet have very little if any connection to said predecessors, then the work is referred to as a stand-alone sequel. Wikipedia.

It is tricky. What bother me is the  word “little”. Obviously I feel a stand alone should be “if any connection”. I totally dislike to read bits and parts of previous stories, previous relationships, previous plots and drop in a middle of a new story thinking that I missed something important to understand and fully appreciate the story I am reading. That sucks. Big time.

Falling into Place never mentioned it is a stand alone. In fact, it said clearly #3 on the cover. However, the confusion is that many authors add a number after each new release in the same series, not caring to mention if it is a “must read in order” or a “stand-alone”. So how us, readers, can expect to fully enjoy a story if we are not warned beforehand if it is a “true” stand-alone or not. And that is what I do not like. I read many times the “true” before the “stand-alone”. In my perspective, it is or it is not. period.

I was obviously misleaded with Falling into Place and assumed because it is common practice to add numbers when not needed that I could read it alone. But mostly, I thought it was a stand-alone for 100 pages. As soon as part 2 started, it was no longer a stand-alone and I had to struggle to understand who was amethyst and jamie and brodie and nacia and and and. They came out of the blue and all of a sudden the heroine sold books and served coffee. huhsmileyf3

I truly believe that publishers and authors should better consider their readers and add a clear mention, maybe inside or next to the dedication: Although this book can be read as a stand-alone, it would be best enjoyed as a part of the series… A couple or publishers and authors do mention it already and a HUGE thank you for that. It is for me a gesture of respect and I appreciated it very much. (the same way I see more and more re-release or extended version!). I wish this will become a general rule, not only an exception.

Then if the only common point is the time or place and no connection whatsoever is made with previous stories, is is possible to stop the numbers? I mean when I see a series with a number 20 and more, I am like “Heck no, I will take a chance to read this story!”. I will be totally lost in the secondary characters because for sure the author will make references and make them interact with each other. This is THE series of the author’s lifetime so it is just impossible that the author will not make reference or connections.

Anyway. You get my point regarding “false or true” stand-alone…

My second issue I got with the story is the redundancy. It started at the present time up to the epilogue. Let me resume:

character #1: I am sorry
character #2: Please don’t be
character #3: Not your fault
character #1: I am soooooo very sorry
character #2: Please reallllllllllly don’t be
character #3: Not your fault at allllllll
character #1: If I knew and could, I would have done things differently
character #2: I am over it now, what is done is done, I forgive you
character #3: Let live the present and move on

Again and again and again. I mean the title of this book should have been called: THE GUILT.

I got it at first. But then the characters and romance never evolved after this point or hardly. They formed a menage all right but the guilt was there all the time, before and after and in between.

Then sex scenes were not described at all. It was all suggestion within few lines. It was so quickly described and always sanitized as if sex was a shore or a quickie. I went back to read the tags of this book and it is mentioned 18+ adult content. I could not really label the story MF or MFM or MMF. I saw no love lust connection between the males but they end up kissing and somehow “together”. I even laughed out loud when the author could not even write “licked her clitoris” and used “licked the center of her”… So eroticism? zero point. Even the menage scenes were not described and I could hardly picture when they came or not.  However, I think the 18+ ADULT CONTENT has nothing to do with sex but mostly about multiple rapes and incestuous references and flashbacks.

Writing was good and easy to read and characters were lovable even though I did not connect with any of them. I missed the connection between Tremaine and Liz because he was an adult and she was a teen, then along the process she matured in his eyes (guess sixty years does the trick) and became a woman that he could bed with, therefore his love changed to lust-love instead of protector-love. The transition was not done correctly in my opinion to understand the change of mind. For over half of the book it was all about one hero and the heroine for forty years, and then she was mature and single for twenty years and all of a sudden bam menage à trois. No love passion for the second character at all, it was a done deal: “oh by the way, I always loved you” “oh really? me too!” (no quote here, my words). Therefore I did not find much equality in this story. I felt it was a love buddies versus a love lovers, not much passion and the other hero was constantly whining.

What I liked? The choice of plot. I truly enjoyed this druid/mage fantasy world. It was new and fresh for me. I did not understand the difference between druid and mage because it was not truly explained to me (the author assumed I read her previous books) but I truly liked this new fantasy world. If I put aside the guilt, it was definitely a romance story with a strong plot behind it.

I kept reading it up to the end because I wanted to know the epilogue. Overall, it was an okay romance for me but it deserves a 3 stars because the author kept me on my toes up to the end because I wanted to read how the villain will end! And I ended the story somehow satisfied.

.

myratingnew-2



""

rating 3

Comments are closed.