1482853Title: The Alpha’s Onyx & Fire
Series: New Hope Valley
Author: Jess Buffett
.
Genre: Paranormal, shifters, wizards/seers
Content: MMF
Stand Alone: Yes
(but better read series in order)
Re-issued /Re-edited:
Date published: Apr 22, 2014
Published by: JK Publishing
Publisher bookstore: LINK
ISBN: 9781311432513
Word count: 35,260
Page count:
100 pages

 amazon-kindle  aretwitterav_normal bn-nookswlogo2

.
authorbio3Jess Buffett was born and raised in New South Wales, Australia. She is a mum of two, married to her high school sweetheart.

Jess is a hopeless romantic who is a huge fan of M/M and M/F romance with a happy ending—anything with hunky men in all their glory, whether they be Shifters, Vampires, Cowboys, or the boy next door.

A caffeine addict who shamefully can’t make a decent cup of coffee to save her life, Jess believes in soul mates, happily ever afters, and in love at first sight, but that sometimes people need a second or a third for the brain to catch up.

.

synopsis3In book two of New Hope Valley: Tessa Cardwell’s life changed overnight when she was left to raise her five siblings. When a friend suggested moving to the small town of New Hope, she packed up her family and set out with not a clue of what waited for them there. Used to doing everything on her own, she finds herself in the middle of a life changing experience—that is if she can let go of her inhibition and hold onto the two men fate placed in front of her.

Leontis Harper searched for the woman who turned his life upside down a few months earlier. Determined to find her lands him in New Hope Valley and places him in a situation he has come quite used to rejection. He had dealt with it his whole life, but he finds rejection hurts more when it comes from the two who were supposed to accept him without question.

Sage Ashcroft is the last White Tiger Alpha. What the Alpha wants he gets, well until now. He finds himself in a situation which could enhance his life or destroy it, if he doesn’t learn to compromise. The wrong choice, and he could be the one on the outside looking in on a life that was destined for him.

With the prophesy hanging over their heads, secrets being revealed, and enemies banding together, the New Hope Valley Pride faces many changes. Join in as the Pride gains strength it never knew was possible until the Alpha, the onyx, and the fire combine.

.

myreview3I truly enjoyed this story… so much that I read book #1, Claiming her Mate, a MF story, after book #2!

Many reasons for that.

First, because I really liked The Alpha’s Onyx & Fire. Although a short novel (94 pages), I did not feel I missed the connection I usually do when I read short novel. The story flew easily and I read it one shot until I discover it was already the epilogue.  Since I did not want it to end that quick, I went straight to book #1 and read the story in order to make sure I did not miss anything. And I did not miss anything. It just added my pleasure to read this series. 😉

I really like JK Publishing but they are known to offer long series that need to be read in order and those series are not really stand alone as authors still referring to events in previous books, which is annoying. JK Publishing is not the only one, mind you. I wish publishers in general would add a mention. Some do already like Siren Publishing. I really like JK’s authors but knowing I need to read several books before the one I want to read, discourage me.

Back to The Alpha’s Onyx & Fire. As I said many reasons why I liked this story. Another one is one of the guy is black and the other one is white. Interracial menage are fun to read when one of the guy is different. I want the men different, either personalities or physically. Got my wish here.

Then the characters were lovable. I loved the heroine that seemed real. I loved the alpha that was strong yet tender and I love the beta that was sweet. Jess Buffet got it right with the heroine: she was lovely, sweet, strong, spunky, sassy and she was not whinny or too submissive. The author gave the right amount of time between lust and love. It was definitely a sweet romance and after the last page, I thought: “what an adorable story”.

Sex? really nice! And more brownie points here because it made the difference between a YA and erotic romance! Was it totally hot and steamy? Not completely for me, but here I am very (very) picky. But I really liked the sex scenes in The Alpha’s Onyx & Fire.

I was a bit afraid though. Jess Buffet is a MM author and generally it is hard for a MM author to give equal love and sex to all characters, especially the woman. It looks like MM author have this tendency to keep it MM and use the woman as an extra not fully committed. I was happy to say that Jess Buffet did not do that.

Next story should be a MM. No surprise here since the characters were introduced in The Alpha’s Onyx & Fire. I really recommend this book and this series. I enjoy the fluidity of style, the sweetness of characters, the plot and the sex. What else to ask?

Another last comment… Jess Buffet is also known to design all the covers at JK Publishing, including this book. She also won the 2014 best cover artist prize. I am not surprised. I truly LOVE her work. Her covers are always clean, hot models, story related and a pleasure for the eyes. I wished I had her talent… and not only about covers!

Jess Buffet gave me few hours of true pleasure and now I will bother her regularly to offer me another menage not too far away!

.


 

rating 4

.

Comments are closed.