20937664Title: Overcome
Series: NA
Author: AnnMarie McKenna
.
Genre: Paranormal, werewoves
Content: MFM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: Mar 06, 2014
Published by: Taliesin Publishing
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 9781629160344
Word count: 43,554
Page count:

.

.
authorbio3Annmarie lives just outside of St. Louis, MO with her husband and five kiddos. Most of her time is spent playing chauffeur to soccer, dance, cheer, softball, horseback riding, bells and choir. She stays home during the day with her toddler while the other four are off at school and generally gets her ear talked off by said almost three year old. If there’s any free time outside of running ragged and writing, you can find her working on one of any open-ended weaving, quilting, sewing, crocheting or photography projects. She also loves hearing from her readers!

Please feel free to contact me via email anytime.

 www.annmariemckenna.com Annmarie’s Facebook page
Annmarie’s Blog – Annmarie’s Twitter page

.

synopsis3Anna Belky happily walked away from her ex, the lying cheating bastard she caught in her own bed with Miss “Candy Apple.” Anna’s supposed to be getting her revenge by being deliriously happy with a new job and a beautiful house on the lake.

Instead she finds herself without financial resources and homeless when someone sabotages her perfect new life. And even weirder, two strangers invite her to live with them, both of them, and be their love. Two sexy and way-too-hot-for-their-own-good strangers.

Marc Newberry and Colton Montross are half-brothers and the ruling alphas of the local shifter pack. Imagine their surprise when they discover the house they just bought belongs to the one woman in the world fated to be their shared mate. Of course, she has her quirks, like chattering on about nothing when she gets nervous, she won’t follow orders worth a damn, and has even dug a hole in their backyard.

Despite these glitches, the trio’s shared bond is hot enough to melt the polar icecap, and their growing love for each other is undeniable. But their mating could only be a fleeting joy. As the bad luck following Anna begins to grow from annoying to downright dangerous, will they survive to meet Fate’s demands?

.

myreview3I know this author for quit a while. In fact I read Blackmailed  back in 2006 when I started to read menage romances. I loved it. Both heroes were dominant and even thought the plot was a bit stretchy with the father selling his daughter to have a male heir and kept his blind son hidden with a protective mother figure sister (even if she was a virgin! lol), this is the kind of story I am vividly remembering and could talk about in details. Not many stories I do remember that clearly and knowing that I read this story years ago, for me, it is a sign that the author is really good.

So here and there, I always looked for this author. And I read The Strength of Three in 2007 and Make Mine Midnight in 2009 witch I also liked very much. All three stories are contemporary.

So when I read Overcome‘s blurb, I was surprised to notice that it was a paranormal genre. Why not. I do not discriminate any genre but yes, my first thought was: shout! another werewolves menage story with alpha and the virgin heroine needed to be saved by the big bad villain.

It was… and it was not.

What made the difference between all the werewolves stories was the characters and mainly the heroine. She was not weak and she was funny. The heroes were alpha but not cavemen. And the villain was not the logical one I expected. Those were the ingredients that made my reading extremely enjoyable.

Indeed the heroine’s personality made all the difference. She was naive, she was sassy, she was funny, she was not falling for them like a desperate virgin at 25… well maybe because she was not a virgin eh?

To be honest, I am not sure the werewolves characters were necessary. It did not bring much extra in the story. It was a different touch but not justified.

The only thing I regret and justify my 4 rating i.o. 5, is the switch between the “bad things happens to me all the time” to “I want to kill you now”. The transition was not smooth. It happened in a snap of the fingers. The epilogue was also a bit too rushed. Somehow, a couple of extra chapters would have make it better IMO.

Still. Overcome is definitely a book I recommend!

.

characters-greatgood-romance
good-credibility

rating 4

2 responses

  1. I loved Blackmailed. I’ve read it several times. Thanks for the heads up on Overcome. I’ve just ordered it for my Kindle.

    Liked by 1 person