Image20Title: Theirs To Cherish
Series: Wicked Lovers, Book 8
Author: Shayla Black
.
Genre: BDSM, Comtemporary
Content: MFM
Stand Alone: yes
Re-issued /Re-edited: no
Date published: March 4, 2014
Published by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 13: 9781101625767
Page count: 315
pages (epub)

.

Buy the eBook: KindleKindle UKNookiBooksKoboAll Romance

Buy the Paperback: AmazonBarnes & NobleIndieBoundBooks-A-MillionOverstock

Buy the Audio Book:Amazon

.
authorbio3
Shayla Black is the USA Today bestselling author of over 30 sizzling contemporary, erotic, paranormal, and historical romances, including Ours to Love, Mine to Hold, Belong to Me, Surrender to Me, Delicious, Decadent, Wicked Ties, Bound and Determined (writing as Shelley Bradley),  and Strip Search (writing as Shelley Bradley). She lives in Texas with her husband, munchkin, and one very spoiled cat. In her “free” time, she enjoys reality TV, reading and listening to an eclectic blend of music.

Have something to say? Contact Shayla or visit her on her Facebook page.

.

synopsis3The perfect place for a woman on the run to disappear…
Accused of a horrific murder she didn’t commit, former heiress Callie Ward has been a fugitive since she was sixteen—until she found the perfect hideout, Club Dominion. The only problem is she’s fallen for the club’s master, Mitchell Thorpe, who keeps her at arm’s length. Little does she know that his reasons for not getting involved have everything to do with his wounded heart…and his consuming desire for her.

To live out her wildest fantasies…
Enter Sean Kirkpatrick, a Dom who’s recently come to Dominion and taken a pointed interest in Callie. Hoping to make Thorpe jealous, she submits to Sean one shuddering sigh at a time. It isn’t long before she realizes she’s falling for him too. But the tender lover who’s seducing her body and slowly earning her trust isn’t who he claims…

And to fall in love.
When emotions collide and truths are exposed, Sean is willing to risk all to keep Callie from slipping through his fingers. But he’s not the only man looking to stake a claim. Now Callie is torn between Sean and Thorpe, and though she’s unsure whom she can trust, she’ll have to surrender her body and soul to both—if she wants to elude a killer…

.

myreview3 Although Theirs to Cherish is book #8 of the Wicked Lovers series, I read it as a stand alone. The reasons are multiple.

For once, the last book I read from this series is the previous one, Ours to Love, published almost a year ago, in june 2013. One year is a long time to remain connected with the characters, especially second characters.

Then, I did not read all the stories of this series. Main reason is that they are not all menage and the first two I read they turned to be a threesome ending HEA MF. I totally dislike this kind of ending. I want all my main heroes to end happily after together in a committed relationship. I would have been okay with one story, but it turned out that I read two in a row with the same HEA MF. So, I turned down the series until Ours to Love. But then I made sure to read the epilogue first to make sure.

So frankly, even if I recognized the name of the series, knew the author and it rang a bell somehow, I totally forgot who was Thorne, Sean and Callie. I vaguely remembered them but no more than that.

This said, a couple of thing attracted me: the author, Shayla Black, of course. I read her and really enjoy her style of writing. Then, Their to Cherish, is a mild BDSM menage story. You all know I have a soft spot for well-written BDSM story. Then it is a very long novel. It is always a treat to read a long novel so I can immerse myself into the plot.

I liked many things in this story except a couple. So lets start with the less and finish with the great.

I enjoyed the story up to the middle, then I found some chapter quite redundant. I was kept on my toes on why Thorne could not commit but when I found out, I found him a bit too whinny and his excuses felt flat. Thorme is a very big bad Dom, the one and only owner of Dominion, a BDSM selective club. He is pretty much a God and protect everyone under his wing. So his persona is definitely the Dom of the Dom in the Domworldland.

Animation1His fear and refusal to commit did not make sense with his personality. To be rejected by a lover/sub when he was a teen, mocked by his father and rejected by his ex-wife because he was too kinky. I understand that a person may have scars but considering the level of understanding he had with all the Doms and subs he had in his community and club, I did not find it a good excuse to refuse to commit to the woman he loved. For four years, he saw the woman in many D/s scenes but yet believe he can be too much for her. He claims he knows her soul, but yet he rejected her two times knowing the aftermaths. So up to the middle of the story, I enjoy Thorne, then after a while I could not wait to go to the epilogue.

I loved Sean and Callie much better. But lets continue with the less…

My second regret is that I was truly expecting the big bad army guys to show up and do something crazy. In fact, they ran away all the time, we heard about the villains but nothing happened. Plus, I did not get much the all of a sudden the bad guys are just behind them. Callie stayed fours years as a member of Dominion’s employee, yet nobody came after her during that time. She was not a prisoner, FBI knew where she was. Obviously the villains too. So why did everyone waiting to make a move after four years? I did not find much logic nor credibility here.

Now the good parts and trust me you will find many.

I am always thrilled when I discover that the heroes are not brotherhood, did not spend their childhood in an orphanage, did not run away together because of abusive family, did not shared the army service together, are not siblings, etc.

Shayla Black gave me a treat here. Both heroes do not like each other. They do not hate each other but they are definitely not in the bro mood together. I loved it! For me it is way closer to reality.

In real life, keys to have a long term relationship is to have respect, communication and the “do not cheat” addendum. Human nature means that we are territorial and a male and a female will be sufficient with each other and both will fulfill the needs in each other. But what if the person we love is not enough, that something is missing and he or she is not able to give? Most people will compromise and accept that there is no perfection. We may think that way during the honeymoon but once real life kicks in, the pedestal gone, we all know that we accept the other one with his/her flaws and deal with them.

But in an ideal world, we would bring the best of each person and mix them to make a one perfect one. mmm not happening. So it happens that we fall in love with people at the same time. The concept to love multiple people is common. We almost all do that. We love, we marry, we divorce and we do it again, minus marriage most of the time but love is still on the line, maybe different, no less or bigger, just different from the previous one(s).

What I loved about Theirs to Cherish was it was not a done deal from the start. Each had to work to make it work. Both heroes were very different. One was a true Dom, when the other one was a dominant in the bedroom. Very different if you know a bit about the BDSM lifestyle. The concept in romance to have two Doms and one sub is for me not believable. Doms are all different. I invite you to read this glossary of BDFSM and come back to me and tell me that it is possible to have such harmony with two Doms and one sub. But we are in the romance world where everything is possible right? (wink)

So yes, I love when the heroes do not like each other, are different and finally compromise. It gives the characters way more depth.

Then, we have the sex scenes. I truly enjoyed them. So much that I gave the highest rate which is rare for me. I am less and less impressed with the sex menage scenes now. I say now, but I’ve always been picky. If I do not end a sex scene thinking that I wished I had one like that, then it is a good sex scenes not an outstanding jealous I-want one sex scene. So yes, those are pretty rare. But I got them in Theirs to Cherish.

From beginning to end, I wanted to know the epilogue and know how both men will compromise. For the fans of this series, they will adore the epilogue. For the occasional readers like me, you will also like it. All those testosterone to help one of them to find happiness was totally endearing.

Do I recommend this story? Definitely yes! Will I read another (menage) one from this series? No doubt!

Image24Now I am just waiting for the next Shayla Black release (co-authoring with Lexi Blake): Theirs virgin secretary (Masters of menage, book #6). I read all of them. I loved some. I disliked some too.

Which is fine because to love one author unconditionally every book she/he writes is rare, unless this author is writing the same series forever and ever. I’ve seen authors that do not want to go out of their comfort zone, that’s fine, boring for me after a while but still fine for fans.

So yes, I am very curious to read this new release coming out April 15, 2014.

..

BDSM-mild-ani

 

rating 4

2 responses

  1. I’m going to Amazon to get this today, based on your review! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person