1399419Title: Friends with Benefits
Series: The Vault 1.0
Author: Anne Lange
.
Genre: Contemporary
Content: MFM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: Jan 17, 2014
Published by: Etopia Press
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 9781940223834
Word count: 73,260
Page count:

.

.
authorbio3Who is Anne?

Well, I’m a wife and a mom. I grew up the oldest of four in Southern Ontario and now live in Eastern Ontario. I work full-time and I write in my spare time…or rather, I make the time, otherwise I’d probably choose to curl up in a corner on my sofa with a good book. I’m lazy.

Books and shoes are my passion.  It’s a toss-up as to which addiction is worse, but I think it’s the books.  I rarely leave my house without one.  Reading is my escape, my form of relaxation.  I love to step into the shoes of the heroine I’m spending my time with, and dream about getting lucky with the sexy hero! I read most genres of fiction, but my favourites are romantic suspense and erotic romance, with a few historical thrown in for good measure every so often.

I started writing in late 2009, realized I needed to figure out what in the world I was doing, and began my trek of workshops and networking, and writing. I finally got my break in October 2012, when Etopia Press asked if they could publish my novella, Worth the Risk.

So what am I doing now? Well, I’m still working the day job and I write during the evenings and on weekends, but I always make time for my husband, kids, other family members and friends.  I’d love for you to join me as I take this trip down the path of romantic fiction, and along the way I’ll  introduce you to some wonderful people with fabulous stories to share.

.

synopsis3Can sexual exploration lead to three times the bliss?

Tyler had no idea his wife Angela’s desires so closely matched his own. But when some unguarded pillow talk reveals her fantasy of two men at once, Tyler jumps at the chance to make her happy. Enlisting the help of his best friend Connor, who’d shared some threesome adventures with him in the past, Tyler secretly hopes exploring Angela’s fantasies will lead to his own personal desire—a permanent threesome with the two people he loves most in the world.

Connor can’t believe it when his best friend asks him to seduce his wife. Then he meets Angela, and all the women in his past fade away. With Tyler’s blessing, Connor sets out to melt Angela’s reserve, and when Tyler joins the party, the three of them set the sheets on fire.

Angela is floored when her husband suggests they explore some of her fantasies—things she’d only read about but never in a million years thought she’d actually do. Sandwiched between Tyler and Connor, she’s never felt so treasured, so protected, so loved. But the reality proves much more complicated than the fantasy. She loves her husband, but she finds herself falling for his best friend too. That’s not normal, is it? What will people think?.

.

myreview3What a nice menage romance! A dream came true…

Think about it. You are in a couple, very much in love with your husband and your husband loves you back. Seven years passes. You know the ugly seven years leave it or break it couple kinda seven years. Then after seven years of very vanilla sex, your husband is pushing you to reveal your sex dreams fantasy.

Nice. Very nice.

But then, I wonder. How come the husband waited seven freaking years to ask his wife her fantasies? I guess the ugly boring seven years came along with its tentacles whispering “boooooooooooooooring”. Okay, Okay. Maybe I do not have the same kind of relationship here. But I am this kind of woman that would never wait seven years to come out of my closet and be shy to share my fantasies. I do not mean putting them in real motion here, but sharing them with the person I love. Plus seven years to meet the in-laws too? That was a bit stretchy for me in this story.

This said, it would be totally nice if in real life a husband would stage what one of the hero did for his wife. Truth is, the author, described the perfect setting with the perfect actors. Once the second hero came along, it felt natural and I all but forgot the seven nasty years when a couple goes through it or not.

All three main characters were lovable. It was not about falling in love after the first orgasm with the third character and I am so thankful to the author about that. It was progressive. Up to a certain point, I even expected a MM love story but no. Did I relate to the heroine? Not completely. Some tiny little thing was missing for me to fall for her. Do not get me wrong, she was a very lovely sassy character. I fell for the guys though. Perfect physically, perfect mentally, perfect sexually, perfect lovers.

Was the story original? Not really. Contemporary stories have always tons in common. Both heroes knows each other either from childhood or army. They both shared women and enjoyed it. Sometimes one married and divorced. Worse boring scenario? Both heroes are living under the same roof for years and searching for THE perfect woman fucking like rabbits the whole town. This last one bores me to death on top of having the same boring personalities that usually goes along. If you add the virgin slut then you have the cherry on top of the yucky cake.

Friends with benefits avoided the above. Phew. The romance was nicely developed. The author did not avoid the jealous ex though and I thought it was not really necessary but it permitted to build some tension to the relationship and pushed to the epilogue so it was okay. One essential element was added that increased the credibility lost with the seven years: the time factor. I felt the relationship evolving day after day. It was not a matter of hours and few orgasms.

Then I did not see the cheating either which always makes me cringe. It could have been but the author avoided it.

I also enjoyed the sex scenes. They were kinky and well described. I read so many of threesome sex scenes that it is hard for me to be truly interested to be honest. But I liked those in Friend with Benefits.

This book is the first of this series. I think the author was smart to open a door to many possiblities with the Sex Club named The Vault. I have a strong feeling that book 2.0 will be a heavy BDSM ménage à quatre and I am quite curious to read this author, Anne Lange, and see if she will pass the BDSM writting test 😉

Overall, it is a very nice contemporary ménage à trois romance and I definitely recommand it.

..

Characters : ~ Sex Heat: ~ Romance:
Plot:~Equality:~Credibility:~ Originality:

rating 4

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

2 responses

  1. Anne Lange says:

    Thank you for your review, Mary. You made my day 🙂

    Like