My review is never one note only. I always tried to explain in words how I felt in my reviews but I think a short recap is also nice and visual.

I’ve always been a visual and a multiple choice person. So it it quite logical that my reviews are not one note only…

~~~~

My rating scale will start with faces for the categories such “characters”, “sex heat”, “romance”, “plot”, “credibility”, “originality” and use the little buddies on top here. Instead of 12345, I will use faces. Love it! will still be 5, Great will be 4 and so on. But I thought it shows better the emotion versus numbers.

FACES2

Characters: how I relate, connect, understand and love them
Plot: no need of villain especially, just how the story is easy to follow and also keep me on my toes. This also include: humor, intensity, etc
Sex Heat: originality, description, hot
Romance: how the mutually react to each other, romantic, sweet
Equality: in sex scenes but also in the relationship
Credibility: if I can relate to the characters and the story. If the story and characters are believable
Originality: if the story is not another copycat of what I read already
BDSM: level of BDSM. What is labeled and what I find are sometimes very different (*)
Humor: it does not be a comedy but if I smiles or even laughs, that needs to be mentioned – optional if I find some
Editing (poor): I will add this only if I find too many typos that bothered me – optional if it is really bad
Cover: I will add this only if I find some inconsistencies between character’s physical description or if it is plain ugly – optional if it is beautiful or ugly

Overall Review: it is of course my general opinion… this will get a 1-5 poly star. The reason is because people are used to this kind of rating.

.

I also decided to add some button to rate the BDSM level:

BDSM-no1BDSM-soft2BDSM-mild-aniBDSM-heavy1

I could not resist the little spanking animation even if D/s will have some spankings, I consider mild because a spanking is associated with disciplinary and pain (leading or not to an orgasm). As you can notice, for me there is no “light” BDSM but D/s. Again, I made a concession because my meaning is more Top/Bottom (see under). But readers are more familiar with D/s so I will go with it.

Here is how I will rate the BDSM level:

  • No BDSM: Vanilla sex. Sex toys and a spanking, a butt plug and a “you will not come unless I tell you”, do not justify a BDSM or D/s label. Vanilla includes DP, kinky situations and of course threesome etc.
  • Light D/s: Heroes have a dominant attitude in the bedroom but are not Doms. Little plays such spanking. No Dom/sub relationship. It would be more a Top/Bottom relationship but because most readers are familiar with the label D/s, I will keep it.
  • Mild: Heroes are Doms but will not play sex scenes in a BDSM club, no exhibitionism, no fetish. D/s relationship. Punishments are generally private. D/s is generally in the bedroom and Doms accept a bratty attitude.
  • Heavy: Heroes are Doms 24/7 and extremely dominant inside and outside the bedroom. D/s relationship as pet/slave. Lifestyle contract, safeword, Exhibitionism. Punishment. Fetishism. etc.

NOTE: I do not care if the tags mention BDSM or if the publishers mention BDSM or if the author is totally convinced that her story is BDSM. I will rate the BDSM level from my perspective. You have the details above.

.

However, everyone is familiar with the 1-5 scale rating. I will keep it. It is still a general note and will just give you the way I felt at the end of the story.

MaryMenageWhispers-color-1 MaryMenageWhispers-color-2

MaryMenageWhispers-color-3 MaryMenageWhispers-color-4

MaryMenageWhispers-color-5 MaryMenageWhispers-color-norating

So here is my rating scale 🙂

~Mary

Mary-plumme

2 responses

  1. Lori Meehan says:

    Very cite way to rate them.

    Like

  2. I like the change alot, especially the BDSM levels

    Like