1338053Title: Bee Stung
Series:
Author: Theolyn Boese
.
Genre: Fantasy, faes, shifters
Content: MMF MF MM MFMMM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: Nov 05, 2013
Published by: Loose Id LLC
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 9781623005306
Word count: 61,627
Page count:

.

authorbio3The name Theolyn Boese is a pen name with a bit of history behind it. Theolyn, pronounced Thay-o-lyn, is my great grandmothers middle name on my mothers side of the family. The closest we’ve come to finding a definition is “divine lightning” or “power/ruler of the lake/pool/waterfall.” It is Old English, but mom’s family is from Norway. Boese, pronounced Bay-zee, is my grandmothers maiden name on my fathers side. Dad’s family is a tad more colorful. They are from Germany and his grandfather told him that one of the definitions is ‘bad’. *grin* From the stories I’ve heard over the years it is very fitting.

I live in Oregon in the Columbia River Gorge. I started writing when I was in the fourth grade. I was taking special education courses to help me with my dyslexia when my primary teacher decided to have a talented and gifted class for poetry. My S.E. teacher thought it would be good for me and stuck me in it as well. It surprised everyone, including myself, when I took off with it. I’ve been writing ever since.

I have a Border Collie named Fuzzbutt, two cats, Goblyn and Wisp and assorted freshwater snails and guppies.

.

synopsis3Trying to build a new life for herself, Rienne moves to Oracle Island to be closer to her cousin Cass. But the island isn’t anything like she thought it would be; the residents are suspicious and Rienne is drawing more attention from the local bachelors than she knows what to do with. Just healing from a bad relationship, she isn’t sure she wants to date anyone at all, let alone all four men who all seem to be vying for her attention. Even more confusing is that two of them seem more interested in each other than in her!

Foxglove is drawn to the sad-eyed woman the moment he sees her. With so much competition he worries he doesn’t have a chance. But a few shy smiles and stolen dances convince him that, perhaps, this time he won’t just fade into the background.

Lonely after generations of guarding his people, Shiloh finds a sense of home and comfort in Rienne. The more time he spends with her the more he wants her. Now if he can just convince her being with him doesn’t mean giving up Foxglove.

.

myreview3Totally original.

I did not know what to expect and thank you for that, the blurb did not say much. I really dislike blurbs that pretty much resume the story itself. Each time, I read a blurb that says too much, I loose complete interest. The blurb must keep the mystery.

I like very much Loose-id publisher. So far, I have never been upset about the quality of stories they publish. Covers are beautiful, edits really good and the stories are definitely good too. Bee Stung is no exception.

I had this story pending on my to-read pile. I saw great reviews ratings about it too. But as usual, I did not read the reviews before I started to read it. I always read the reviews after. I do not want to be spoiled and unfortunately most reviewer cannot stop themselves to spoil the punch. Sometimes, I feel I am doing it myself  so I know how difficult it is to not do it. I will do my best not doing it with Bee Stung.

I never read a fantasy like this one. It included faes and shifters and magic. That I can at least give away. The dynamic between the characters were different. I expected a ménage with multiple guys, at least more than two and I did but in the end it was a different kind of menage, more polyamory although the heroine got her menage all right.

The heroine was sweet, maybe a little bit too sweet for my taste. But the author kept the mystery around her for a long time and I liked it. It was fun to discover her true self.

The males were all different and very lovable. At times, I thought it was more a MF story and equality with the third was not always there. I missed the complete connexion with this third. It was a 75% when the other one was 200%.

I also enjoyed the family. The aunt was a riot and when I read the author’s explanation, it was really funny. All secondary characters were really nicely mixed in the plot. Sometimes fantasy can be very tricky because some authors have a complicated plot and it is not always easy to jump in. Bee Stung was easy and fun.

I can hardly talk about inconsistencies because fantasy allow a lot of tolerance. Yes, I did find sometimes it was a bit stretchy but it was not an issue. I just let it go because it was a fantasy world.

So why not a better rating then? Equality, sex heat and I did not fell for the characters. Somehow, I did not relate to the heroine, probably too sweet. Equality as previously explained was not respected in my opinion and sex heat, besides one group sex was just okay.

I am still recommending it because it is a very original fantasy menage and they are rare. At this time of Christmas, I did not want to read a naughty santa and bad elves story again.

Something that has nothing to do with this story now… I am completely surprised that the author does not develop her social medias more. I went on goodreads of course after I read this story and this author has a huge fan base but when I checked her site or facebook or twitter or any social medias, it was as if she was hardly there. Considering the high ratings she has with all her stories, that means definitely talent. So many authors are struggling to be noticed out there. Once she understands the benefits of the social medias, I predict she will be definitely a force to be recognized with in this industry. Her originality will make her stand out, no question about it.

.

myrating3

Characters:4 ~ Plot:4 ~ Sex Heat:3 ~Romance:4
Equality:3 ~ Credibility:4 ~ Originality:5 ~Inconsistencies:NA
BDSM:NA ~ Cover:5 ~ Humor:NA

rating 3

Comments are closed.