1324932Title: Colters’ Gift
Series: Colters’ Legacy #5
Author: Maya Banks
.
Genre: Contemporary, Saga
Content: MFM
Stand Alone: Yes / better to read series
Re-issued /Re-edited: No
Date published: November 5, 2013
Published by: Penguin Group US
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 978-0-425-25603-9
Page count: 257 pages (epilogue 38 pages)

.

synopsisLauren Wilder fell for the wrong man, trusted the wrong man, and she paid a very dear price for it. Now broken and wounded, she’s retreated to the bosom of the Colter family and the unshakeable love and support they offer. But the man she once loved and trusted is not without his own power, and he’ll use every bit of his money and resources to make sure he gets Lauren back, no matter whom he destroys doing it.

Liam and Noah were hired by Lauren’s brother to watch over her. But with danger looming, they head to the Colorado mountains—where Lauren has found temporary sanctuary. In her wounded eyes, Liam and Noah see the woman she once was—and could be again. They’re determined to show her everything a man can be—someone who will love her, cherish her, satisfy her, and when the time comes, put their very lives on the line for her.

.

review2I wished I could give a 5 poly stars for the last of the Colter,s series, but I cannot.

It sucks. Colters’ Woman was the first menage I ever read years ago. This story is attached with a lot of memories and is very dear to my heat. With time, I cannot say that it is the best menage I have ever read but like the first kiss you ever received and shared, it is one that I cannot forget and is one I will always have a soft spot.

I have this feeling that the author wanted to bury this series once and for all. The kind of love/hate an author may have toward a series when the author wants to end it but the fans keep begging for more but the author is ready to move on to some other stories and characters. It is sad in a way because the series did not end the way I wanted it to end. It was rushed or something was missing. But I will get to that.

First, the book is split in two parts: Lauren’s story and then the Colter’s epilogue.

Maya Banks privileges the plot in every of her stories. She portrays her heroines at first as victims of big bad villain and make them evolve into deserved spoiled women surrendered by devoted males. The plots are generally about mobs or pimps, murders or rapes.

Colter’s Gift is no exception.

I am not sure why the choice of the title. The heroine, Lauren, was no gift in my opinion, nor the heroes. If gift, it was more the grand-baby that is born at the epilogue but since it is in a different novella/story, I am not sure what the gift refers to.

My main issue with this story was equality. It was Lauren and Liam, Lauren and Liam, Lauren and Liam … and Noah.

Liam had 4 pages of romantic love declaration. Noah had 2 lines. Lauren always turned to Liam for cuddles, approvals when Noah was next to Liam. Noah was always second in everything. They both get hurt, the first one Lauren searches is Liam. She wakes up after a semi-coma, the first face she find is.. Liam.

It became more and more annoying up to the point I was expecting that she would marry Liam in name but no, Maya Banks spared me that: she married both. phew!

That story is exactly what not to do regarding equality. I found none. Since it is a ménage à trois and the heroine is supposed to show her love equally. The author failed miserably in this department.

I understand that we love differently but the equality time must be respected in a romance, sex and love, or it is no longer a ménage à trois but a MF with an extra on the side. Even if both male characters were almost together at all times and even if the heroine claimed to “love them both so much”, it was clear that Liam was the favorite. I never felt as if Noah had his special love time with Lauren, Liam was always in the way. Yes, it ends menage Happy Ever After but somehow, this is definitely not the romance I wanted to read in Colters’ Gift.

Now, regarding the inconsistencies, I found a couple. The heroine explains in details how one sex position reminds her how her villain took her over and over again and how he raped her… yet, the first time she makes love with her two heroes, one is trying to take her in the same position and of course she freaks out… really? duh!

Each and every time they made love, it was always “this time is for you, baby”. I need someone to explain this to me. I would understand if the guys did not cum at all and took care of the heroine orally or with toys, that would be indeed a “this time is for you, baby. But in Colters’ Gift, there is absolutely no difference for me between a “normal” making love and a “for you” making love. Foreplay for me is essential when people are making love. Every time they made love, both heroes came all right. Foreplay is not a “this time is for you” at all. It is part of the loving. I guess it is very romantic and sexy to read heroes saying “this time is for you, baby” since in reality 90% of the female population do complain that men are selfish dicks when they fuck and careless if they do not come. Because yes, that is the difference between making love and fucking. Any man will use foreplay to make sure that his partner enjoy it.If a man tells me “this time is for you, baby”, then I will expect the time of my life, multiple orgasms and the guy putting aside his own needs for hours. But I guess the “this time is for you, baby” goes along with the devoted male characters that Maya Banks is fond with. For me, it felt fake and a line that I could find in any harlequin story.

In Colters’ Gift, in each sex scene, they prepared her quickly and played with her boobs and penetrate her pretty quickly. Again, where is the “this time if for you, baby”? I have no idea! In general, the sex scenes were very boring. Indeed a dual penetration without much preparation and I guess for some authors it is the ultimate kinky menage sex scene they can offer in a menage romance. *le sigh*

Again, another sweet kinda mainstream menage romance. I still like few things though like Holly, the very first heroine of this series who was 35 years older, the first menage heroine in Colters’s woman that I feel for. Holly became with time a mama bear, a matriarch that everyone listened and indulged. It was fun because I do not remind her that way at all. She was a little mouse, scared of her shadow. But that is how Maya Banks likes to make her heroine evolve, no big surprise.

In Lauren’s story, I did not like much her happy ever after. It ends where she agrees to marry them both with the promise that they will build her a house and they will both be happy to have jobs provided by the Colters. I felt that the end was not romantic at all.

The epilogue now, named “the conclusion to the Colters’ Legacy series“.

The epilogue of the series is in the same book. All of a sudden it is Callie that is ready to give birth. So all the Colters and in-laws arrive and the first grand-child is born. Alleluïa! Everyone is happy for 38 pages.

And here is where I cringed… the last lines. The kind of lines that gave me a crystal clear message from Maya Banks: “do not bother me with this series anymore, the Colters are living happy in their mountains and that is that”:

They (Lauren, Liam and Noah) married when the aspens had turned, their incandescent glitter transforming the landscape into a simmering sea of gold. It was the same month that Holly Colter had returned to her husband all those years ago, pregnant with their first child.
Over the years, many children were born to the Wilders, Colters and Sullivan-Prescotts. They grew up secure in the love of the older Colter generation, guided by the gentle hand of Holly Colter and her steadfast husbands, who swore to love her into the next life and beyond.
The children ran wild and free over the mountains where the Colters had lived for decades. They grew up with an unshakable purpose, confident and backed by the love of Colters’ Legacy.

Amen.

And this is a sure thing that we will never see some Colters ever again.

Sadly. Maya Banks failed to give me the happy ending I wished to find in this last story. As a reader and a fan of this series, I would have hoped to find an open door with the kids, the grand-children, that would continue the “unconventional” way to fall in love in a ménage relationship. I think the last two paragraphs broke my happy ending. I sure did not want to know that Holly died and WTH about the “children ran wild and free over the mountains”? Did they live naked in the nature?

Adieu, Colters’ family. I enjoyed knowing you…

.

MYRATING

Characters:4 ~ Plot:5 ~ Sex Heat:2 ~ Romance:4
Equality:2 ~ Credibility:4 ~ Originality:3 ~ Inconsistencies:3
BDSM (NA/light/mild/heavy):NA ~ Cover:5 ~ Humor:NA

3-poly

Comments are closed.