1306279Title: Theirs to Keep
Series: Tangled Hearts Trilogy , Book 1/3
Author: Maya Banks
.
Genre: Contemporary
Content: MFM
Stand Alone: Triloly, must read in order
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: Oct 22, 2013
Published by: TMG Distribution Services
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 9781475602616
Word count: 78,051 words
Page count: 226 pages

.

synopsisWhen Cade Winslow and Merrick Sullivan find Elle hiding in the cabinet of a gun store, they know they can’t just walk away from the fragile woman with no memory of who she is or who tried to kill her. Merrick is training for the title shot in the heavyweight division as a mixed martial artist and can’t afford distractions, but neither can he turn his back on the woman who tugs at his heartstrings.

Elle feels safe with her two protectors, and the longer she spends with them, the more she realizes that she has no desire to remember her past. Not when it could compromise her future with Cade and Merrick.

Cade has his own set of issues when it comes to Elle, and it quickly becomes clear to the two men that for the first time in their friendship, a woman is coming between them. But what if they just kept her there? Between them. Where she belongs..

.

review2I am a bit confused with this story. I would like to say it is a great story, yet I cannot really say that… yet.

I love Maya Banks. She is my first menage author I ever read years ago and of course I have a soft spot for her. Maya Banks and a few other authors like Kaitlyn O’Connor (and her hundred of other pen names) are those that I do not question myself: once released, I buy them and devour them like candies.

Theirs is not my favorite.

I think the main reason is that I felt as her chapters were redundant. I was waiting for action but I got bored. Not only nothing happened with the plot but nothing really happened between the characters.

Do not get me wrong. It was sweet. It was sweet but not spicy. The heroine lost her memory and did not want to commit while the heroes fell for her immediately and spent the entire time to convince her to commit… for 226 pages.

I think the only thing that really saved the story were the heroes. I liked them. I also thought that picking a martial art hero was very interesting. This reminded me one of my favorite menage One-Two Punch by Katie Allen. Not that I am a WWE smackdown fan but I thought it was very original.

The writing is still very easy and the romance is definitely the main focus of the story.

Another thing that trouble me is that this is definitely a true trilogy and this book #1 ends HFN. I read the synopsis of book #2 and obviously it should turn into a MFMM if I read between the lines although nothing was confirmed by the author at this present point. Since, book #2 is the quest to find her memory back, I would hope that we will find more action.

So if I resume… book #1 is MFM, book #2 should be MFMM and book #3 should be the death of the villain.

Again… I am all assuming here. But I would find some logic in it.

WARNING that could be considered as SPOILER: (select the line to read it):

START ► I would like to give a warning here because it may disturb some readers: you will find some Violence and Rape flashback. ◄ END

I guess this is one of those time to remind me that I really do not like trilogy unless I have all books in hands to read them in a row. I will then probably re-read this one, once I have the other two in hands in the future… which means in many months from now. It can be a good thing because I will get the full picture of the story and include some action that was missing in book #1.

This all said. I did not find any wrong in this story. I did not find any great either. It was a good book. I would call it a comfort romantic menage book 🙂

ps: a short note to say that the cover is really ugly and if it was not Maya Banks, I am not sure I would ever read the synopsis at all.

.

MYRATING

Characters:5 ~ Plot:4 ~ Sex Heat:3 ~ Romance:4
Equality Level:4 ~ Credibility:4 ~ Originality:5
BDSM level:NA ~ Cover:1 ~ Humor:1

Comments are closed.