13140Title: Demon’s Fire
Series: Demons, book 3
Author: Emma Holly
.
Genre: Paranormal, Historical
Content: MMF
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published:
Published by: The Pinguin Group
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 1-4362-0320-1
Page count: 269 pages

.

synopsisEscaping a routine life, Beth joins an archaeological dig with her long-time friend Charles. The desert is perfect for adventurers- especially when it comes to exploring forbidden appetites like Charles’s shameful desire for a demon. But as Charles and Beth are about to learn, some demons find humans equally irresistible.

.

review2If I did not know Emma Holly, I am not sure I would have bought this book. Sometimes I come across some blurb that are so long and so detailed that I do not want to buy the book: the whole plot was said! On the other hand, some blurb like here with Demon’s Fire are so short that I wonder if the book is worth it to buy. Since this book is published by The Pinguin Group, I am chocked that they did not put any effort in it…

This said, I took a chance and do not regret it. It was a very original ménage à trois story. I was not sure at first when the story took place and after a while I figured that it was end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th centuries with a paranormal twist. This reminded me a little bit of Agatha Christie stories where archeology was very popular. However, I hesitated between Egypt and India. It does not matter really since Emma Holly added paranormal/fantasy in it so it could have been on another planet or a parallel world, it did not matter really. Yeah yeah, my OCD about details.

My issue is that it is book #3 of the Demons series and the characters were secondary characters in the previous books. It looks like it is a trilogy although I could read it as stand alone, I think I lost some valuable information regarding the world Emma Holly created. I am a bit upset that I did not find any short prologue because it took me a little while to figure it out and jump into the story.

Once I jumped into the romance and the plot, I found the story really enjoyable. It was very original and I fell hard for the yama prince. He was very endearing and lovable. The fact that I could read his POV was definitely a plus for me. I also enjoyed the other two main characters but I wished I could have read their story so I knew who they were. Charles had definitely a difficult past that defined him.

I had the most difficulties with Beth. She changed from the average intelligent to extremely one and although I understood at first how, I was not happy with the ending. It had nothing to do with the plot but with the development that I found short and dry. Somehow I preferred the paranormal version versus the technology version. I did not enjoy much this epilogue. On top of that, I was waiting for a conclusion between her “double”, the queen, and one of her man in her harem. Emma Holly took us to relive memories and I read a long chapter about the queen and the men in her harem and what seemed to be a romance but I never got the epilogue of it and it felt unfinished or forgotten as if the author included half of a story inside another one. I was expecting to read that the queen became the mate of the yama/demon but the author kept me hanging. :/

I was attached to this story only because of one of the main character, Prince Pahndir. From beginning to end, I was into him. I could feel his fears, his hopes, his pain, his desires. He truly was an extraordinary character that supported the entire story. I felt as if the author wrote this story at two different period of time with a gasp in between. Emma Holly started with a plot and almost at the end decided to make a 180° and go to another direction. I would have preferred the first direction, the ending would have been more to my liking. If you read the story, the change of direction appeared when the prince was abducted.

I do not understand the title at all and see no connection with the story either: Demon’s Fire. I tried to find a psychological connection but even there, could not find any. I guess I am missing again the previous books and it confirms that this is a series that should be read in order rather than in stand alone.

..

MYRATING

Characters:5 ~ Plot:3 ~ Sex Heat:3 ~ Romance:4
Equality Level:4 ~ Credibility:4 ~ Originality:4
Consistency:4 ~ Editing:4 ~ Humor:NA

2 responses

  1. Tawania says:

    Hi Mary,
    I have this book, and the others in her Demon series. If you haven’t read any of the other books in this series it can be kind of confusing. I started with a novella in a anthology , then went back and bought the others. They are all quite good, but Demon’s Fire is my favorite. I agree the Prince was my favorite MC too.

    Like

    • I do not mind true trilogy but I mind if there is no mention that it is better to read it in order or just add a small prologue.
      But I was okay after the first chapter. It is mostly the ending that was not quite right for my taste 🙂

      Like