9781603947978Title: Mark of the Wolf
Series: Hell’s Breed
Author: Madelaine Montague
.
Genre: Paranormal
Content: MFMMM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: September 27, 2013
Published by: NCP Publishing
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 978-1-60394-797-8
Page count: 172 pages

.

.

synopsisLucien, Damian, Kane, and Basil were genetically engineered to fight a battle on a distant world. They were from Earth, but not the one they found themselves on and they had no idea how to get home again or if it was even possible.

They thought Laurie might just have the answers they were looking for, however.

Unfortunately for Laurie, she wasn’t the woman they thought she was.

.

review2It’s been years since I waited for Madelaine Montague to write another wolfen of hers! I could not believe that it was out yesterday, finally!

I had issue to get it though and you may have some too. Paypal and their site did not connect so I had to contact NCP Publishing customer service to help me out. And they did. What a nice surprise! The response was quick and during evening hours. I know it is a family business but still, I was pleasantly surprised. I remember that it was certainly not the case a couple years ago, far from it. So, brownies point to them today for that!

Madelaine Montague has always been one of my warm blanket menages that I read and re-read many times along the years when I did not have any inspiration with the current releases or when I needed to put a smile on my face. Her Wolfen series hold a special place in my heart and on my shelf.

This menage author is different from many of the others. I am not saying she is better, but different. She writes pretty much the same kind of romance each time with the same number of characters: 4 males and 1 woman. Two males are generally alpha/beta and the last two are generally there for the ride even if romance is involved. I wished this author gave equality romance with all her characters but I guess after publishing so many stories, it is probably impossible for her to change her style.

Do I care? Not overly too much with this author. I know exactly what I am going to find and I am happy with it. Although with Mark of the Wolf, I was not 100% sure as it has been a couple of years since this author published anything unfortunately. NCP Publishing tried lately to change the covers to refresh the stories but nothing new.

Mark of the Wolf is a new series but very similar with the Wolfen series. The exception is that the squad will be different: wolves, angels, dragons, griffons, big cats, eagles etc. It sure opens to many interesting possibilities even if the personalities will remain pretty much the same. And that is the weakness of this author: she cannot find different personalities with her heroes.  But again, since they are extremely lovable, I accept it as part of the deal.

One thing that I enjoy very much with this author (as well with Kaitlyn O’Connor since it is one of her many other pen names) is her humor. Her epilogues are always fun to read as well as some of the heroine’s reactions.

Now, is Mark of the Wolf an outstanding story. no. I did find inconsistencies here and there, I missed again the equality between all characters and sex scenes were just okay for me. But again, each time I read one of Madelaine Montague’ story, it is a real treat for me.

When I said that Madelaine Montague writes always the same, I am not saying the whole truth. I was happily surprised to find that she used her heroes POV and that for me made a big difference: I loved it!

The second difference I noticed is that she introduced a real threesome sex scene and that is definitely out of Madelaine Montague comfort zone. She writes always multiple MF polyamory sex scenes: all heroes committed to the heroine but taking turns in sex. Not the case with Mark of the Wolf. However, I hardly consider this story as erotic since you will find very little sex in it.

Plot as usual is great. It is fast speed but not too much that the romance is nicely mixed in it. I always love her plots.

Sadly, NCP Publishing decided to recycle the design from another Madelaine Montague Wolfen series. I am not particularly fond of this one and do not find the men very attractive. :/

No need to say that I recommend you Mark of the Wolf and rediscover this great author that was truly missed.

..

MYRATING

Characters:5 ~ Plot:5 ~ Sex Heat:3 ~ Romance:4
Equality Level:4 ~ Credibility:4 ~ Originality:4
Consistency:4 ~ Editing:4 ~ Humor:3

3-poly1

2 responses

  1. Sounds like a good one!

    Like