18164587Title: Trifecta
Series:
Author: Kim Carmichael
.
Genre: Contemporary
Content: M/F/M
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: July 16th, 2013
Published by: Hot Ink Press
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN-13: 978-1490548548
Word count: 100K
Page count: 330 pages

.

synopsisTwo men. One woman. It could ruin a friendship, or bring a satisfying twist to their lives. Artist, Jason Morgan, is used to making magic on the canvas. Now he hopes to do it in the bedroom.

After a failed gallery showing, Jason decides the best way to cure his 
creative block is to act on his own personal fantasy, and enter into a sexual 
relationship with his two best friends.

From the time they were in 
elementary school, Russell Sinclair has been a willing participant in Jason’s adventures, but this one goes to a new level. He’s intrigued by the idea of sharing one woman, but is challenged by how to fit this three-sided 
relationship into his traditional life.

Lauren Redmond is no stranger to fantasy. As the aesthetic sales rep to the 
top Beverly Hills dermatologists, she is responsible for the majority of 
puffed lips and filled wrinkles in the greater Los Angeles area. She detours from her steady, secure path when she is offered the opportunity to live the
 dream with the two men who have occupied her heart since college. The fantasy fast becomes a powerful reality, and Lauren must decide if she is
 willing to give up everything she has worked for to have a bit of temporary decadence.

.
.

review2And here is the outstanding fun menage I was talking about on my facebook page!!!

This book is like one of my favorite desert. Once I start the first taste, I cannot stop until the last and lick every bit of pieces left on the plate.

Last week, I read a couple of extraordinary stories and it generally takes a couple of days, sometimes weeks before I come across another one. Lucky me. Lucky lucky me. Trifecta crossed my path. I did not planed to read this story so soon but I am in the mood to read contemporary right now and I cannot resist long novels and 330 pages is sure one.

So what did make this story exceptional to my eyes?

I think it was the step by step menage relationship. It was three friends that were too stuck in their friendship that did not dare to move on. Males did not want to loose their mutual friendship but knew that the heroine was the love of their life. Woman did not want to chose between them but realized that things had to change one way or the other. It came to the point where it was do or don’t for everyone. And the heroine took matters in her own hands and made a choice that was the trigger to move on to a menage relationship.

I loved it. Each characters had their struggles and fears and expressed them with their own personalities. One wanted to show thru his art, one was scared to show it at all and the third just wanted insurance that was not a fling.

Trifecta is about three people that are showing, expressing and battling their insecurities to move from friends to friends with benefits to lovers to long term relationship. I totally fell for them. I was not convinced about the friends turning more because somehow I find very difficult to jump the friend zone to lover zone. But it happens that because you love so much a friend, we do not want to destroy what we have and loose this friendship and all of a sudden it becomes foreign territory when sex and love is added in the relation. What you thought knowing from this person turns into unsure knowledge and you come to the point that you do not know this person anymore, not this new person that you see under the sexual and love light. Jealousy who was not part of the friendship becomes very real. I experienced it myself and lost a friendship because we were not ready. So reading this story, I was more reserved on the outcome and how Kim Carmichael would make the relationship credible.

And it was! 100%.

Another thing I liked in this story is the pharmacologist representative job in L.A. I totally pictured it. I worked in the medical research myself and it was here again 100% dead on.

I totally loved something that I rarely find in romance : humor. I can honestly count on one hand the authors that make me laugh or just even add some humor in their stories. For some reasons, intense romance does not rhythm with humor. Humor does not mean comedy! It means that some funny comments are drop here and there and makes you laugh and smile. Big difference. I am so very greedy on this. I want it all and if humor is added in the story, it really put the cherry on the cake!

Kim Carmichael wrote a sensational menage story. And I believe that what made it so great is because she was smart to write about what she knows in real life. She is a pharmacologist rep. Her husband is an IT geek. She lives in Los Angeles. Now… I will have this always question in my mind: does she also has a third paint friend in real life? I so hope so? Thinking about it… a tattoo artist friend would be hot too 😉

Kim Carmichael began writing eight years ago when her need for happy endings inspired her to create her own. She has a weakness for bad boys and techno geeks, and married her own computer whiz after he proved he could keep her all her gadgets running. When not writing, she can usually be found slathered in sunscreen trolling Los Angeles and helping top doctors build their practices

Now this will remain a little mystery that I am sure she will not share but of course her bio was intriguing enough to ask myself : does she has a C in the equation A+B 😉

I definitely love the cover book, Mrs Carmichael… a lot! 😀

I can insure you that Trifecta is definitely the story to read. I loved the characters. They were real. They were not perfect and that is probably why I liked them so much. At the end, I was a bit annoyed about the constant insecurities of the heroine as soon as one of her lover did not do something she was expecting. I wanted her to give one of the hero maybe the benefice of the doubt before jumping into conclusions but overall I enjoyed tons her character and her obsession about handbags (which is funny because I have the same one and just bought 5 brands on ebay within a month! LOL). However, I think it was everything put all together that made the story great. Remember my analogy of three pieces of puzzle making the perfect piece? You have it here, no doubt.

I gave only a 3-stars for the sex heat because I did not feel they were hot enough. The main reason is because the story was focused on the relationship and sex was part of it but not the focal point. For me, this is a clue that either Kim Carmichael was personally invested with this story or she is one of the author that is still a bit shy to write sex scenes. I kindly remind you that for me a 3-stars is “good”. Good means good in my vocabulary and there is no hidden “okay” “soso” or else in it! Just making sure you know.

It is nice to know that Kim Carmichael has a mentor, Sascha Illyvich, the bad boy of the romance. There is nothing better than to have a man’s opinion. I personally Love (please notice the L capital letter) to read a man romance author. There is a je-ne-sais-quoi that feels different and more credible in my eyes. Sadly, not much in the erotic romance market. J.V. Altharas is one of them. I enjoyed The Lady of the Drake and rated it 5-stars. Kris Cook is another one. I enjoyed but never reviewed Perfection but I would have rated it 5-stars no doubt because of its originality and because even after many years later after reading it, I am still remembering it (unfortunately the other 2 stories part of this trilogy were not that good). Now, I think I may investigate each of these three men authors and see if I can dig a menage or three! 😛

So no doubt I will recommend Trifecta. Kim Carmichael will take you to an incredible journey of love.

If you are curious to know more about Kim Carmichael, you may listen a BlogTalkRadio HERE. I am not sure I liked the interviewer that promoted herself a bit too much for my taste but I certainly enjoyed listening Kim Carmichael… hoping she would tell me along the way that her next book is another menage, but nope. And that truly sucks because this is another author that I am dying to read again.

Thank you Kim Carmichael. Thank you for the journey and all those laughs and smiles I had during my reading.

ETA December 27, 2013:  Trifecta is finally on EBOOK format on AMAZON!

.

MYRATING

Characters:5 ~ Plot:5 ~ Sex Heat:3 ~ Romance:5
Equality Level:5 ~ Credibility:5 ~ Originality:5 ~ Humor: 5

5-poly1

2 responses

  1. […] You can view Mary’s wonderful site and the review in its entirety here: https://marymenage.wordpress.com/2013/07/25/review-trifecta-by-kim-carmichael-3/ […]

    Like

  2. I am very thankful to Kim Carmichael for acknowledging my review!
    Bless her, my ego thanks her a lot! 😀
    ~Mary

    Like