16081837Title: The Glass Knot
Series:
Author: Lily Harlem
.
Genre: Contemporary
Content: M/M/F
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: October 8th 2012
Published by: Lily Harlem
Purchase links: LINK
ASIN: B009OR4LDW
Word count:
Page count: 270 pages

.

synopsisWhat’s a girl to do when the guy she falls for is married to another man?

This is exactly what happened to me. Seeing Josh Kendal stroll out of the Mediterranean Sea wearing tight navy swim trunks and looking like a hot new James Bond was a truly delicious moment. Catching sight of his wedding ring was like a kick in the shin and meeting his gorgeous husband, phew, that was enough to make any girl groan at the cruel joke God was playing on her.

But all was not as it seemed, and when Josh needed a woman to sort out a ‘delicate predicament’ I was the one for the job – heck, what did I have to lose? Certainly not as much as him, literally.

Trouble is, emotions always get tangled, loyalties can’t help but be divided and with a night of memories so hot they’d have the devil sweating, there was only one thing for it—it was time to get honest, fight for what I wanted despite society’s constraints and open my heart to the people it needed most.

.

review2I was looking today for an ebook on my android and came across The Glass Knot by Lily Harlem. I planned to read it a while ago and I should trust my impulsive instinct more often: what a nice surprise! I totally enjoyed this story!

If there is two things that I know without a doubt that an author is a British is this: they always talk about tea and flat. Only a Brit can say: I want my tea white, no sugar. This made me smile immediately because of course I remembered my time in GB as an aupair… decades ago! lol

I liked the characters. When I read a story, I always try to see if I can relate with their personalities and their choices. And of course, if the decision taken in the story is one I would have done, the character becomes more lovable to me.

The story was credible and sometimes it was not.

To meet people during our holidays and have flings is common. We are far from our real life, we do not care about consequences most of the time and we just want to have a good time. Sometimes we even fall in love. We all heard the expression: summer love right? At least, when we were young and free and careless! Well, OK. I do. 😛

Reading this story made me remember my summer loves. Yeah yeah, I had a couple. What? I was pretty wild, free and romantic when I was younger if all those can be piled together. lol

So this story was credible: two guys meet a girl and one of them has a one night fling. No big deal so far. But when the two guys are gay, celebrating their 10 years anniversary and during a conversation one of them express his urge to loose his virginity with a woman. I was not convinced. But hey! sometimes we do not pick the place to talk about certain subject. It comes as it comes.

So the guy who had this urge find a girl. And of course, he falls in love with her and at his return to real life, his partner get pissed off about it because he broke the deal of the one-night-only-fling and move on. I believed the part of “I love him and because I love him, I will accept his need to discover sex with a woman”. It was selfishness and I admire someone that is able to do that for his/her partner. I won’t. Heck yeah I will not be able to do that anymore. Sorry. Probably the territory thing. I cannot say I did not. I did try. It did not work, turned out he was more gay than bisexual. Oh, and I have been in the shoes of the heroine once except he did not have a partner, way less complicated I must say. So can I say that I have some experience in the gay area? Yep, I had quite an interesting sex life! 😀

So, yes. I understood the story and the reasons pretty well. I think I have the reverse reaction of most readers who preferred the second part of the story when the third fell in love with the heroine.

It was logical and I cannot say it was badly developed. It was fine but maybe I wanted a bit more conflict and it was then that I found a couple of inconsistencies too.

It was a bit cliché to jump her bones when she was all wet by the rain (although since it is raining probably over 300 days per year in England, the phantasm was quite logical to be included in the story! lol). If a guy needs some lungs exercises because he had a fire accident, how come he can have sex all of a sudden when his partner was worried about his recovering somehow. The “we love you” was too rushed. I did not feel the falling in love between them all. They had sex two times and bam, they were in love.

However, I liked the epilogue. It was sweet. Lily Harlem is definitely an author I enjoy reading (read my review about Shared)

So for many reason, I liked The Glass Knot and I recommend this story.

.

MYRATING

Characters:4 ~ Plot:4 ~ Sex Heat:4 ~ Romance:4
Equality Level:4 ~ Credibility:4 ~ Originality:4

3-poly1

2 responses

  1. Tawania says:

    Another good review, Mary! I’m adding this one to my list.
    Thanks!

    Like