1228182Title: Finders Keepers
Series: New Reality , Book 5
Author: Lacey Thorn
.
Genre: Post apocalyptic, futurist
Content: MFMMMM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: July 3, 2013
Published by: Resplendence Publishing, LLC
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 9781607356691
Word count: 21,000
Page count: 68 pages

.

synopsisTomorrow the auctions will take place. Some women become brides, and some become nothing more than belongings who must do as they are told. Winter will have none of it. Taking the first chance of her life, she risks it all to escape, running into the desert and hoping to find something better.

When Roar, Scar, Gate, Shadow and Blade find Winter, they only plan to take her back to the safety of the settlement. But Winter isn’t going back. One way or another she will convince them there is no other option than to keep her.

.

review2Never say never. 😉

I was scrolling the new releases on allromanceebooks and the cover attracted me, then the blurb and something I rarely do I read the excerpt. I thought: “hey, that looks really good”. I looked at the word count but did not realized that it was a very short novella. Do not get me wrong! I have nothing against novellas. It is just that from the time I immerse myself in the story, it is already the epilogue or I usually find everything a bit too rushed for me. I generally do not have time to fall for the characters and sex gets in the way a bit too quickly for my liking.

Well. Finders Keepers is definitely worth reading.

I totally enjoyed the plot. It got me from the start. I truly liked this story. I read it from beginning to end and I was happy with the epilogue. I am very okay if there is no sequel and I am not frustrated about the ending. The L word was not mentioned but all the actions and behaviors from each characters said it clearly so again no frustration here from my part.

I got what I am looking for in a story: plot, characters and sex. Love was there but the romance was definitely not missing so again I was okay and in fact thinking about it would have been over the top considering the short time the heroine knew the heroes. In fact it made all the difference in my mind and earned a 4-stars instead of a 3-stars. I loved the characters. They were extremely lovable, most especially the males.

This said. I did find a couple of inconsistencies that did not stop me to read the story but more like nagging in my mind.

First, it is a post apocalyptic story, women are rare and used. They are sold into auctions and used as prostitute after their owner get bored with them. I can picture this. In a world with few women, either their would be goddesses or sex slaves. In Finders Keepers, they were sex slaves, marriage or no marriage. Now, I am going to say something that I would never thought I would say in a review because you all know my feelings about it……………….. how did this heroine lost her virginity?

When they come on age, they are sold in auctions”. If they are free to have sex before that, what is the point of the auction? That was my #1 inconsistencies.

Next was more a question. The kind of question that bother me: if the women are very rare, how straight men get this sex knowledge in a world with no computers, no books, no women around for years if any since they live in a desert and they live only among men. That was my #2 inconsistencies.

I am okay to stretch my imagination but those two questions bothered me all along. I would have understood if the heroine was a virgin (did I really wrote this? OMG!!!) and if the guys visited the “dome” and prostitutes. But there, they were completely naive about life in the dome and no women for years. Nope. I did not buy it, sorry Mrs Thorm.

Since it is book #5 of this New Reality series, I thought that I probably missed something important in the first four stories. I checked. I was very surprised to discover that this series is a multiple authors series and the only thing in common is the post apocalyptic world. Each story show a different world: one with scientists, one with computers, one with an emperor. Each book is definitely not set in the same world at all. I am not sure why it was decided to put them together and make them a series though. I think it would have been in order to add a prequel on each story explaining the post apocalyptic event. I dunno. I did not get it because the blurbs show truly different kind of world and characters.

So in the end, I believe that I did not need to read the previous books at all, which is always good to know and if we put aside the inconsistencies, Finders Keepers is a very enjoyable story. I definitely recommend it 🙂

.

MYRATING

Characters:4 ~ Plot:4 ~ Sex Heat:4 ~ Romance:4
Equality Level:5 ~ Credibility:3 ~ Originality:4

4ploystars-mary-small-2

One response

  1. […] I also reviewed two stories in this New Reality series written by different authors: What remains; Untainted by Kris Norris and Finder Keepers by Lacey Thorn.  […]

    Like