Their Virgin HostageTitle: Their Virgin Hostage
Series: Masters of Menage, Book 5
Author: Shayla Black & Lexi Blake
.
Genre: Contemporary
Content: MFMM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: Jun 25, 2013
Published by: Virgin Series
Purchase links: LINK
ISBN: 9781939673039
Word count: 95,729
Page count: 282 pages

.

synopsisOne Hostage Bride

Kinley Kohl agrees to marry wealthy Greg Jansen to save her family. Her wedding day should be the happiest of her life…except that she doesn’t love him. And she can’t help but wonder if she’s making a mistake. Even so, she refuses to let her loved ones down. Then moments before her nuptials, she’s kidnapped—and her whole life changes.

Three Determined Mercenaries

Dominic Anthony has waited years to avenge his sister’s murder. He knows Greg Jansen is dirty, but he needs a witness to help prove his case. Jansen’s new bride is the perfect hostage. Kinley Kohl will tell him everything…or else. But his two business partners aren’t so sure. Law and Riley Anders worry that Kinley isn’t as guilty as she seems. And Law suspects she might be the one woman who can handle them all.

From Target to Treasure

In the wilds of Alaska, the three men try to pry Kinley open, only to discover she’s both stronger and more innocent than they imagined. Her sweet beauty melts their suspicion and steals their hearts. Together, they awaken her passion and brand her as their own. When danger strikes, the men realize they must save Kinley or lose the love of their lives forever.

review2Of course, I could not miss to read this new release of Masters of Menage series. There are some series that I get addicted to and this one is one of them.

However, sadly I am not sure that I will continue to read this one anymore. I fell less and less intensity each time I am reading a new story. I feel as if each story is very much alike from the previous one and I am thinking that I am now tired with the sweet naive 25ish virgin and the three pseudo Doms. It was okay for a while but now I think I am done.

I am still giving a 3-stars rating because it is well written: characters, plot and romance are there. I cannot fault a well routine collaboration between Shayla Black and Lexi Blake.

However, for me, it is now getting old. And I am a bit sad because I truly loved book 1, Their Virgin Captive and even more book 2, Their Virgin’s secret.

The main issue I have now is this:

  • same heroine’s profile
  • same heroes’ profiles
  • Credibility
  • Originality

I am tired of the Cinderella heroine freaking syndrome. I understand that the whole series is about “virgins” but the totally pure, innocent, perfect, knowing absolutely nothing about sex, never masturbated…yet miracle o miracle ready to be triple fucked within a few days. No ass preparation besides an ass plug for what 10 minutes? Becoming a deep throat blow  expert the first time and be totally okay to be fucked multiple times once they deflowered her?

Really?

I am tired of the pseudo Doms that become cavemen all of a sudden. Although I have to say that in Their Virgin Hostage, it was not that bad (Their Virgin Concubine was definitely the worse of the series) and that is why this book got its 3-stars. I kind hesitated because I fell for only one male here, Law. I was okay with Dominic but completely disliked Riley.

So what, Law decide to choose her (good for him) and when Dominic sees that Law is going to deflowered her, it takes less than an hour to change his mind, decide that she is innocent after all, that if he does not join them he is going to loose his friend (who cares about her right?). So Dominic has to make his peace with himself within an hour to justify that he wants to fuck her. Everything becomes clear as crystal and like an invisible magic hand, he understands how wrong he was to treat her like trash since he met her. She gives Dominic a BJ and all of a sudden, he is falling for her? Lets not forget that less than 2 hours prior that he treated her like a piece of shit, insulted her, blaming her, calling her a whore.

The sad part is that since in each books, the next foursome is introduced, I was expecting Dominic to be a true big bad Dom. I saw him as a giant with hard core Dom tastes. Sadly, I found none of this. Three sex scenes within 282 pages. The first one pretty vanilla even tho they were two and the second one a BJ, the third a spanking and all holes filled, almost no preparation and definitely no after care which is after all normal since she never reached the subspace eh? Sorry, but that was definitely boring and déjà vu so many times.

And what about Riley who thought that all women are nasty creatures with one purpose on earth: find an healthy man to take his money For more than half of the story, Riley was mean and treated her like shit… and that is a long time considering that the book has 282 pages. And yet she understands. She sees thru him, she forgives him and even falls in love with him when he vomits all his insults to her over and over again. But wait! It was only to make sure that she will see behind his asshole behavior that he was hurt. It was nothing personal, right?

Really?

Crediblity. *sigh* *head on table* *double sigh* *rolling eyes* *triple sigh* … mmm guess you see the picture eh?

OK. I get it, it is a romance. But when are we going to stop labeling a story BDSM when there is only a spanking in the whole story and a “small” ass plug involved?

The series is named “Masters of Ménage”. The heroes are either Doms or Sirs. All I see are heroes that are dominant and know how to give orders and spank heroines. No more, no less. So if they are Doms, I guess 90% of the male population are Doms.

uh? what? I probably missed the memo on this one. 😛

Originality. none.

I read this kind of story many times:

The nice guys kidnap the virgin innocent girl, they find her guilty even tho everything shows the contrary, they seduce her, she fall for them, the nasty villain wants her back, he attacks, she is hurt, they are scared they lost her and declare their love. The end.

This reminds me so very much my “harlequin” stories I read when I was a teen/young adult (do not get me wrong I loved them… when I was 14-20!), except now it is labelled “erotic” and there is more than one male hero, an ass plug and a spanking. Do I still want to read this kind of story few decades after? nope.

I looked, as usual, the other reviews and this book is a hit. I am not saying it is a bad story. It is not. It is well written and some readers will adore this story. The fan base is huge for both this talented authors. Because they are talented. I read both of them and they are capable to deliver some outstanding stories.

Unfortunately, Their Virgin Hostage did not do for me. But I’ll let you choose for yourself. It seems that I am in the big minority here 🙂

.

MYRATING

Characters:3 ~ Plot:3 ~ Sex Heat:3 ~ Romance:3
Equality Level:3 ~ Credibility:2 ~ Originality:2

3ploystars-mary-small-2

2 responses

  1. I totally agree !!! and I am glad someone put it into words.
    I hope you don’t mind but I placed a link to your blog on my Facebook wall.
    Personally, I won’t even consider buying a “Virgin” book, and why???
    Because… well you already stated the reasons.

    Like