17860347Title: Lick Is A Four-Letter Word
Author: Erin M. Leaf
Genre:  Contemporary, Interracial
Content: MMF
Stand Alone: yes
Series: Four-Letter Word #3
Re-issued /Re-edited: no
Date published: May 08, 2013
Publisher: Evernight Publishing
Purchase links: HERE
ISBN: 9781771303941
Page count: 123 pages – 42,170 words

.

..

synopsisJosh and Troy aren’t looking for a girlfriend, but a lost bet sends them into a small room with a broken lock. When a beautiful blonde limps in from the connecting bathroom, they end up on their knees trying to make her feel better.

Felicity isn’t looking for love, but she keeps falling into Josh and Troy’s arms. The men can’t control their desire to take care of her. She can’t resist their humor.

Even so, Felicity isn’t sure she wants to date two guys at once, especially when she’s white and they’re not. Josh and Troy aren’t sure their attraction for her and each other is worth the risk.

Will a secret from Felicity’s past push them away before they come together? Will Josh and Troy be able to convince her they’re serious, and that their love is hers for the taking?

.

review2Turning the last page, I was like yay and then nay. I enjoyed a lot of things but ultimately something bothered me.  Finally, I know why: my main issue is that I did not fall for the heroine.

I loved both heroes and this totally balanced my liking. I found both male characters extremely lovable. I loved that they were metis. This is the kind of friendship that I expect between two guys that tease and love each other. Is it very credible that they evolve to lovers after years. I do not know. Everybody can have fantasy but does it mean that it will become reality. Maybe, maybe not. The right time, the right place and the opportunity. Why not?

What I liked is that the family knew and expected and accepted the relationship way before the guys. I guess if you meet two people that spend 24/7 for years and hardly date, questions would be raised by the family if they are a couple or not. I am sure that a couple of bi-sexual are out there and never got out of their closet in fear of loosing their friendship.  That, I have no problem to believe. People are so judgmental when they should only care about their own freaking business.

However, in Lick Is A Four-Letter Word, discovering all of a sudden that they lusted each other when they since like forever. I did not find that believable. But Erin M. Leaf decided to use the clumsy heroine to push the boundaries. I do not think this will ever happen in real life but that was fun to read but you know the “never say never” right?

Anyway. I liked the tease and friendship between the males. They were funny and at times I totally got the racial issues that happens every day. Because a person is different from shape, form or color, this person is ostracized by the authorities just because they are different or just because the plain ugly stupid ridiculous racism. That is a reality unfortunately: people are still judging people on the color of their skin. We can yell and scream, the same way we do about homophobia. Racism is still a reality and I liked that the author kept this reality even in her romance.

Lots of humor in this book. Erin M. Leaf decided to portray her heroine as clumsy. I love humor in a romance. This is something that often is lacking in almost all menage romance I read. I guess it must be difficult to play between intensity and humor. Since I always try to relate with the heroine, either I get it, either I don’t. In Lick Is A Four-Letter Word, I liked the bad luck that seems to attach the heroine. Bad luck that turned good luck obviously.

Overall, I had a good time. It was a quick fun read. 🙂

.

MYRATING

Characters:4 ~ Plot:3 ~ Sex Heat:3 ~ Romance:3
Equality Level:5 ~ Credibility:3 ~ Originality:4

3-poly

//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.