Hers to Command by Patricia A, KnightTitle: Hers to Command
Author: Patricia A. Knight
Genre: futuristic/sci-fi
Content: MMF
Stand Alone: YES
Series: Verdantia #1
Re-issued /Re-edited: NO
Date published: June 4th 2013
Publisher: Troll River Publications
Purchase links:
ISBN13: 9781939564061
Length: novel
Page count: 167 pages

.

synopsisFor some, existence without their mate might seem like the end of their world–for the members of Verdantia’s Tetriarch, it would be.

Love triangles often create disastrous relationships, but the unlikely members of the Tetriarch face worldwide disaster without the successful bonding of their trio.The inhabitants of the sentient planet, Verdantia, are poised on the precipice of extinction following a brutal invasion by an off-world, nomadic horde. Verdantia’s capital, Sylvan Mintoth, must have its failing energy shield restored, or the planet is doomed. The Elders know the shield can draw energy from only one thing—a very arduous and grueling coupling of two specific people who were pre-chosen by the planet Herself and promised by prearranged marriage contract.

Conte Camliel Aristos deTano, Ari, has long spurned the marriage forced upon him. His contractual bride, Princess Fleur Constante, is the beautiful future queen. She was but six years old when the contract was signed. Though young and inexperienced, she is willing to risk everything, including her own sanity, to save her planet.

Verdantia draws strength from the duo, but the sentient planet whispers to Ari that a third is necessary – Ari’s aide de camp, Visconte Doral deLorion, an angelically handsome, skilled assassin who silently surrendered his heart to Ari long ago.

The trio struggles to make this surprising partnership harmonious, pushing through pride, scars of past abuse, fears of inexperience and distrust. To save Verdantia, they must overcome their individual weaknesses and realize their full potential.

Only the tetriarch and their combined synergy, can harness Verdantia’s immense power to shield its citizens from invasion.

.

review2

There is not better feeling to say and share when I write a review when I say: I LOVED IT!

So where to start to explain why and hopefully make you wish to read it?

My first impression was not that good. I thought the introduction was too long, the names were a bit complicated to remember, the world description a bit too much to remember and my first reaction was that Hers to Command was a sequel. But like each book, I do my best to have an open mind and try to put images behind the words… and it worked. But I honestly enjoyed the intro only after I read the first chapter. I, then, understood the intro better and things made better sense to me.

I like sci-fi menage. Those are my first menage loves. Kaitlyn O’Connor is one of the rare author I became totally obsessed with. Funny but it is not her Cyberevolution series that made me a fan, but the Gladiators, the Portal, Chaos. It was short after my first menage Colter’s woman by Maya Banks. I am a big sci-fi movie fan so when a menage combine both my favorite genre and sci-fi, it is kind of special.

Hers to Command was special indeed. I first fell for the the heroine, Fleur and then with the two heroes, Ari and Doral. I am not sure at that point which one I preferred. They were all very different and their struggles touched me. It makes it very credible when the author takes the time to dissect them and add time into it. If a character had a shitty childhood, I want more than a short paragraph to explain it and another to blame it for the way he is later. I need to feel it. I need to live it. Patricia A. Knight definitely brought this extra touch that I wanted, that I can honestly say I need to have in the story in order to connect completely.

Loved the characters, checked.

The plot was really interesting. I liked that the author gave us a little subliminal message in her story: beware of what you do to Earth. If you do not take care of our planet, we will die. It was definitely a Gaia reference too: the planet is alive and we are all connected. It was also intriguing and I may have wished to know a bit more about how she knew they were the tetriarch.

I loved the vengeance with the villain. It was very creative. I cringed and I laughed too. It made me think: where is the chicken’s coming from? 😀

Loved the plot, checked.

This is the kind of story that the more you read, the more you are drowned into it and do not want to let go before the last line of the story. It is one of those book, that you definitely want an Ari and a Doral in your life. I loved the intensity of their love for the heroine and most especially Ari. I love the kind of man that have a hard time to love but once they do, they give you everything they have and more and their possession is no longer caveman act but passionate love. The line is so very thin in romance and kudos to Patricia A. Knight for making it right for me.

The cons of this story would definitely be the long introduction. To read a sci-fi is not always easy. People picture colors, forms, people, planets differently and if an author is using too much information or description, it can become difficult to connect. I understand that an author have it all in her/his mind and it is important to portray the world the way they see it. However, using many names and explaining in many details the connection between the planets, the locals and the villains was a bit too much. I think a couple of readers did not make thru the first chapter and that is a shame, because this story is definitely  great. So my advise would be: an intro, definitely yes but make it simple or with a lexicon.

I am going to do something I never do, mostly because it rarely happens, I would like to thank ~Lei ~ Reading Is An Adventure~, two times this lady recommended me to read two menage romances from different authors and on both occasion it turned out they were fantastic reads. Bring it on Lei, I love your recommendations… and your reviews!!!

Finally, I would like to mention that this book is the prequel of the series and from what I understood, every single one that will follow Hers to Command will be MF. It is possible that the author add some twists and offer some MM but I see only two people in the next stories… and that is definitely a big shame for me but probably be a great thing for the MF lovers 🙂

Loved Hers to Command, checked… and double… err.. triple checked!

MYRATING

Characters:5 ~ Plot:5 ~ Sex Heat:3
Equality Level:5 ~ Credibility:5 ~ Originality:5

5-poly1

//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

One response

  1. […] Review: Hers to Command by Patricia A. Knight (marymenage.wordpress.com) […]

    Like