BREAKFASTSEA

Title: Breakfast by the sea
Author: Destiny Blaine
Genre: Contemporary,
Content: MFMMMM, may/december
Stand Alone: yes
Series: book 1
Re-issued / Re-edited: no
Date published: November 2010
Publisher: Siren Publishing
Purchase Links: LINK
ISBN: 1-61034-052-3
Page count: 276 pages (long novel)

.

.

synopsis

A beautiful woman with a checkered past runs a legitimate bed and breakfast on Jekyll Island. Several young men posing as cowboys move in Breakfast by the Sea and things become chaotic right from the start when the oceanfront B&B turns into a command center for a very determined group of special Super-Op Forces.

Pursuing a man known as the King of Hearts, five tough operatives fall fast for a woman they’re supposed to eliminate. When the team discovers Paige Lambert is in fact the Queen of Hearts, they can’t ignore their handler’s orders. Is the bed and breakfast owner destined to die for her past crimes or will she end up under the protective custody of the men hired to kill her?

Note: There is no sexual relationship or touching for titillation between or among the men.

.

review2I am not sure why I never read this story. This exactly the kind of story I adore. Not love, mind you, adore. And I do not use this word lightly.

This book has been published in 2010 and looking at the ratings, I am very surprised that the number of rating was not 5 for everyone. I read many of the same genre and sometimes I wonder how come one is more popular than another because it is very obvious to me that it deserves it more. I happy for the other author but yet do not understand the reader’s choices. Is it because the author is not slaving herself in the social medias to promote 24/7 months at a time? It is possible. It takes a hell of motivation and endurance to promote a book these days.

I honestly believe that this story was incredible in so many ways.

Anyway. It is no secret that I like Destiny Blaine very much. Her forte is in my opinion the way she develops her characters. It is in my opinion flawless. Each and every time I am drowned to them. This author does it every time. The funny part is at first I am disgusted by the caveman acts. They are crude and disrespectful towards the heroine and I only want to slap them in the face. But at one point, the caveman turns into a man deeply in love and all of a sudden I find myself falling for him. It is a weird thing because I honestly dislike cavemen crude heroes.

The heroine is always complex. She is a bad ass yet went thru hell and back. She is so high maintenance that only dominant guys can handle her. She is never perfect but she matches the heroes that are ex-seals, mercenaries or whatever bad asses guys and of course few of them are Doms. What I really like is the heroine is not a young girl. She had a past. I can relate to this kind of heroine because I have a past myself.

The relationship is always difficult. Men are all ages and their personalities and pasts make the relationship painful at time but also passionate. Five men in a ménage romance is always a treat for me. Of course, the ending is not always of my taste but the complexity to include six people in a relationship is always a high praise for me because it is indeed difficult to find equality and credibility.

The plot is always strong. The sex is definitely hot. The story credible and I am glued up to the epilogue. Never fails.

Since a book is never really completely perfect, here are my critiques.

  • I did not like that one hero was in love and not her. I understood the number at the end except one. I cringe about the decision because I did not think it was justified. It was impossible that he was still in love with his ex.
  • I also thought that I missed some explanation about how she escaped. Something was just too easy. I missed the how.
  • I understand the hurt to loose an unborn child but I also missed the drama because she did not mention it to her men when she decided to come clean.

That’s about it. Besides those points, I totally enjoyed this long novel. It seems that Destiny Blaine is publishing book 2 soon and I cannot wait to read it!

You have to give a chance to this story. I do not care if it was published in 2010. I find really silly to put a story aside because it is not a new release. This story was powerful, full of emotion and definitely the kind that you do not want to end.

.

MYRATING

Characters:5 ~ Plot:5 ~ Sex Heat:5
Equality:4 ~ Credibility:5 ~ Originality:4

5-poly1

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.