Title: The Queen’s Consorts
Author: Kele Moon
Genre: Fantasy
Content: MMF, MM
Stand Alone: YES
Re-issued / Re-edited: NO
Date published: Apr 23, 2013
Publisher: Loose Id LLC
Purchase Links: DIRECT LINK
ISBN: 978-1-62300-330-2
Length: Novel Plus
Page count: 95,258 words /205 pages

.

The Queen’s Consorts. Just laying eyes on one is a death sentence. So when Sari, who spent most of her life on the streets, ends up entangled in a steamy relationship with the two most forbidden men on the planet, she knows it can’t end well.

After a brutal attack, Sari’s taken to the Sacred City, exposing her to the secret lives of the Rayians who rule in the long lost queen’s absence. It’s in this darkly sexual world where she first meets the legendary consorts.

Too handsome and talented for their own good, Calder and Taryen have learned to trust only each other in order to survive. Bred to be feared warriors and exclusive companions to a queen, instead they’re slaves to other Rayians desires for them.

Their brutal lives make the two consorts hesitant to care for Sari when she’s unexpectedly dumped in their laps, but they soon discover she’s different from the cruel women they’re used to serving. Drawn to Sari on a soul deep level, Calder and Taryen can’t seem to stop themselves from going back for one more taste of the beautiful outsider…even when it puts the fate of the entire world in jeopardy.

Sometimes a book is imprinted in our mind by its characters or story or theme or whatever that made you connect with it. One of my top ten menage books is Beyond Eden by Kele Moon. So of course when I saw The Queen’s Consorts, I jumped on it. I can honestly say that I hardly read the blurb before buying it as I was 100% confident that I will enjoy the story from this author. If someone asks me a menage recommendation, Beyond Eden is always on my top list. it is a special story on many levels. I know that this review is not about Beyond Eden but I could not mention Kele Moon without it.

The Queen’s Consorts is a complete different genre. I loved Beyond Eden for the intensity of the BDSM that I never found since then in any other menage romances I read. Here, no BDSM. I was expecting it but found none. I should not have been that surprised since there is no mention at all in the tags or blurb, but still, I was.

It was an interesting fantasy world. Kele Moon was obviously inspired by Gaia, mother of earth.

I liked the characters very much. I got to know them individually and for me separating both males and gave them a distinct personality is the best way for me to fall for them. Each ménage à trois romance is not only a kinky story with dual penetration sex possibilities. A ménage à trois must be justified somehow. A ménage à trois for me is 3 pieces of puzzle that without each other are incomplete.

Most of the time the ménage à trois I read are not justified. Authors take the easy way of the brothers path and the heroes are mirrors to each other. No conflict, no high maintenance, generally boring personalities. That was not the case in The Queen’s Consorts.

I am not generally fond of existing MM relationship. It is very often that I find an equality issue. The heroine is sometimes left out and I feel as she is a sex toy or like the child that some couple want in order to solve their couple problems. Kele Moon wrote with the puzzle pieces in mind and I found the balance and equality in the relationship.

I think it was tiny borderline that Kele Moon pictured one of her male character as a Dom, the second as a sub and the heroine as a switch. I felt it, the author played a bit with the idea and somehow decided otherwise. It was intriguing. Of course I was influenced by Beyond Eden. In the end, the masochism I found in Beyond Eden regarding the blood fetish was transformed into sadism in The Queen’s Consorts but did not find any real dominance & submission nor the bondage & discipline. The author played with the idea but it was not developed plainly.

It is a long novel and again the length allowed me to know and love the characters and the story.

I could not give a 5 rating for sex heat and credibility. Sex scenes were good but not original. Credibility was a little bit missing because I felt as if I was lacking the justification of the presence of the heroine in the city. I am trying to figure it out why I feel that way and strangely nothing comes in my mind right now but I have this nagging feeling that it was a bit too obvious. The only character who was surprised to be who she was was her and it did not feel right to me.

You will of course understand that I recommend this story. Mrs Moon, it was worthy to wait for this menage… hum…. when are you planning the next one already?

Characters:5 ~ Plot:5
Sex Heat:4 ~ Equality Level:5
Credibility:4
~ Originality:5

/

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.