Genre: Fantasy, Faes, Wizards
Menage: MFM
Series: YES. Saga with same main characters
Stand Alone: YES if read in order
Re-issued/Re-edited: NO
Length: words / pages
Published by: SIREN PUBLISHING

Where to find Heather Long:
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Paranormal Romantics | Newsletter

Synopsis

Cassandra’s Dilemma (Forbidden Legacy #1)

225 pages

Published February 15th 2012

A woman on the edge.
Cassandra Belle is about to break the story of the century. But one well-placed bomb devastates her plans and leaves her on the run and in a fight for her life and her heart. Caught between wild allure and primal need, Cassie is torn by the desire to submit to both of them.
Two enemies on a mission.
The sexy Fae lord Helcyon wants to protect her, but his pleasure leaves her quaking at the loss of control. The dangerous Wizard Jacob wants to save her, but his war with the Fae frightens her even as he captivates her with passion.
With her enemies closing in, Jacob and Helcyon must challenge everything they’ve ever known to work together or risk losing her.

Jacob’s Trial (Forbidden Legacy #2)

225 pages

Published June 1st 2012

New alliances are threatened…Wizard Jacob, Fae Helcyon, and their paramour Cassandra have set up a household together. Jacob and Helcyon have accepted the other in Cassie’s life, but they must work to realize that they need each other too in order to become a true trio. Dark pacts are revealed…The Fae are trending worldwide, but the arrival of many dangerous beings, old foes, and new friends bring about charges of treason for Jacob and a new danger for Cassie. Intrigue closes in on all sides as factions jockey for power on the divided Wizard Council. One legacy may unite them…Helcyon and Jacob are determined to keep the woman they love safe, but danger lurks at every turn and the old ways threaten their futur

Hels’s Gauntlet (Forbidden Legacy #3)

203 pages

Published August 19th 2012

After facing down the Wizarding Council and defeating their enemies, Helcyon, Cassandra, and Jacob have begun to find a balance in their triad. Cassie stunned her partners with news of her pregnancy, and the stakes are raised as the men must consider what potential her child will have. Government pressure increases, bombings disrupt Wizard and Fae business around the world, and splinter groups among the Fae make themselves known.
With the Danae on the hunt to bring Cassandra back to her side, Helcyon must block her every maneuver to shield his mate and best friend from a promise that dates back a thousand years. The shifting of oaths leads to the awakening of ancient powers, but history is unforgiving, and the arrival of Hels’s brother adds a new complication that could destroy their futures before they even begin. When a dangerous gambit forces Jacob and Helcyon to make hard choices, Cassie must trust that her lovers will survive the gauntlet.

Review

I rarely review a saga series but since I read these three books in a row, since it is a true saga with same main characters in each book, I wish to review them as a story.

I do not read a saga unless I have all the books in hand. I don’t do HFN (happy for now). Each time it is frustrating to wait months before I get the continuing story going on. Plus I forget about all the details. Shoot me, authors! I read tons of stories in between and yes I do not remember your heroes. It gets forever before I jump back into the story and remember who is who etc. I tried a couple of time and nope, HFN is not for me.

I discovered Heather Long a few ago, I reviewed No regret, No surrender and looking at her work, I remember that I planned reading Cassandra’s Dilemma. I was also in the mood to read some fantasy novel. Well, I got it: 650 pages that I read in a week-end. I did not know it was a saga, but once I read the names of the heroes, then book #2 and #3 were on the menu.

So lets talk about this saga.

My first impression is that it is not that much of an erotic story although I found some hot sex scenes but I thing the intrigue took the main place and even probably in front of the romance.

Is it a bad thing? I am not sure. I thought it was different and I love difference. In fact, I know I got addicted to the story because of it.

I do not read much fantasy with faes and wizards. It seems that the market is saturated with werewolves and Doms. Again, nothing wrong if the stories are well written but it is refreshing.

I liked the heroes, Jacob and Helcyon. They were interesting characters. They complemented each other very well. I liked that they were not friends when the story started. The evolution from compromising to respect to friendship to brotherhood was really nicely developed.

The heroine, Cassandra, was interesting. I did not relate because I thought she tolerated a bit too much from the guys. She was not weak, far from it but somehow I wanted to kick her butt to react more! 😛

I liked the secondary characters like the Glashtyn and the brownie, Leitha. Even the villains were interesting.

I have a few critiques tho. First, I thought that the heroine was not introduced enough regarding her gifts. One day, she was human and the next something else. The changeling family did not make much sense somehow and I wished I knew a bit more about them. Second, as I mentioned on top of this review, I thought sex were a bit lacking, not in intensity but in numbers. I was also a bit disconcerted that the love yous where only one way for a long time. I guess acts worth better than words but in a romance it was a bit strange. I also missed the part where Cassandra released Billy. In the end I did not connect the points between her being so emotionally involved with Billy the ghost and all of a sudden, he was remplaced by another ghost.

Before writing a review, I always try to know more about the author and the series. It seems that there is no book #4 in process. And in my mind, the story does not end at book #3. Funny because it is not really a frustration of mine but I truly believe that there is opening for the intrigue to go a bit further with a villain with a potential to turn into a final battle. I hope Heather Long will consider this option 🙂

Guess, you know already that I recommend this series. You’ll spend a great time and get quickly addicted, just like me 🙂

NOTE: May I say that I regret deeply that SIREN PUBLISHING did not take into consideration to pick the SAME MODELS on each covers since the main characters are the same in each books (except one but methinks it is only because we do not find much models with long hair but what happened to the tattoo? Thanks the Heaven, she did not turn blonde in one of therm!). The author has no choice unfortunately. I just wished publishers would communicate a bit more with the authors so this kind of mistake would be avoided.

Overall Review: 4 STARS

Characters: 4
Plot: 5
Sex Heat: 3
Equality Level: 5
Credibility: 4
Originality: 5
Editing (poor/fair/good): good

You can buy this series HERE.


//
//

Liked this review?
Get email updates of my blog’s content!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.