Genre: Paranormal, shifters, BDSM elements
Menage: MFM
Series: Pack Wars #1
Stand Alone: yes
Re-issued/Re-edited: no
Length: 163 pages
Published by: self -published
Published on: January 28th 2013

Author’s blog –  GOODREADS

Synopsis

Liz Wharton has one goal—to kill the man who raped her mother. Had she known Harvey Couch was a werewolf, she never would have tried to take him on by herself.

Determined to put an end to the pest bent on revenge, Harvey sends his goons after her. When two wolves attack her, Liz is sure she’s hallucinating. Good thing Trax Field is there to stop them.

Trax and Dante Field, members of the Pack, have devoted their lives to stopping bad shifters like Harvey Couch. Saving Liz would have been just an ordinary day, but when Trax finds her huddled in an alley, bruised and shaken, he’s convinced she’s his mate.

To keep her safe, Trax and Dante hold her captive in their loft apartment. When they aren’t searching for Couch, Trax and his brother spend the night training their future mate in the art of bondage and sensual pleasures. How will they be able to convert her into embracing not only their lifestyle but also their animalistic side?

Review

That was a fun read!

My only concern will be probably that I did not find the story original. But other than that, everything was enjoyable. I am almost tempted to say comfortable. This is the kind of story that you know in advance that you will spend a good time on your coach with a warm blanket and a nice glace of wine next to you. I am sure you know the feeling: cosy.

This remind me the harlequin stories I used to read. I had no surprises with the characters, plot and ending but I kept buying them because I felt happy to read them. They made me smile. That is the kind of story Vella Day offers. The kind of book that is predictable but nobody cares.

Unfortunately I did not fell for the heroes. They were too cavemen for my taste. I found them overall egocentric and selfish. I did not feel their passion for the heroine and a lot of their actions were very selfish in my opinion. I like my heroes a little bit high maintenance but completely dedicated to the heroine. I am not 100% convinced that the BDSM elements was necessary. A Dom is always a great listener, always caring for his sub. In this story, I did not feel that at all. It was more “lessons” rather than “sharing”. It did not feel right.

The heroine was lovable but here again, I wanted her a bit more aggressive. I prefer brat and spitfire heroine versus sweet and passive. I also suggest that the author  double check the typos/grammar. 😉

I liked the intrigue and thought it was nicely developed. Overall, it was a sweet story and I recommend it. 🙂

Overall Review: 3

Characters: 3
Plot: 3
Sex Heat: 3
Equality Level: 5
Credibility: 3
Originality: 2
Editing (poor/fair/good): poor

You can buy Training Their Mate HERE.

//
//

Liked this review?
Get email updates of my blog’s content!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.