Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal
Menage:MFM
Series: Spark of Magic #5
Stand alone: YES, but better read the series in order
Re-issued/Re-edited: NO
Length: words / pages
Published by: Loose Id LLC
Published on: February 5th 2013
ISBN # 978-1-62300-199-5

Synopsis

Shapeshifters Dmitry and Dastan decided to leave the protected dimension and their posts as Council Guardians to experience a more normal life in the mortal world. A witch, Sarah was sent along to keep an eye on the shifters as they adapt to human life as ranchers in Montana.

Sarah, who’d known the shifters all her life, suddenly found herself attracted to them. Well, maybe not suddenly, but being around them every day certainly wasn’t helping matters. The physical pull only got harder to ignore. When she couldn’t resist it any longer, the outcome shocked them all. Especially Sarah.

All three have come to love the ranch and their new life, but when bodies start appearing on the land, the sheriff, who already doesn’t trust the shifters, begins to look a little too closely at their tight-knit unit. If they can’t straighten things out, their time in the mortal world, and their newfound happiness, will come to a quick and painful end…

Review

I was a bit hesitant to read this book. #5 of a series, I was not sure if it was a “stand alone”, a “saga” or a “better read the series in order”. I started a discussion on my FaceBook wall about it and I hope many authors will consider to add this precious information (on top of adding a lexicon or a tree for series and a “re-issued” mention if this is the case). :0

I took the chance because I really like Trista Ann Michaels and because I read so many great novels from her, like Shutter or Leave me Breathless but mostly here because I read Lost Without Them (Spark of Magic #4) before this one and I really liked it.

Lost Without Them (Spark of Magic #4)ShutterLeave Me Breathless

Review for Shutter HERE

This is the perfect example about secondary characters that were very well introduced in the previous book and gave me the taste to read their story.

This is not always the case. I generally cringe when an author feels the absolute need to spoil the epilogue of the current heroes and spend the last pages to introduce me with the next ones. I am still with the current heroes dammit! I want a true happy ending not a HEA finishing with an orgasm and bam here are the heroes on my next book. I hate this kind of intro. I want to finish with a smile on my face or why not tears (*coughing* that is rare but it happened). Talking about HEA, some of the most memorable I ever read were Kaitlyn O’Connor aka Madeleine Montague. I am still smiling right about now remembering them.

Trista Ann Michaels introduced me the heroes of Nature of the Beast perfectly. 🙂

I like when heroes do not feel for each other immediately. I like them to work for it. When it is a done deal at first chapter, it is a bit boring. If everything is said at once, why bother to read up to the end?

A couple of things did bother me tho. First I feel for the guys because they were matures. I wanted them to struggle a bit more with the heroine’s age. They did but age was not the factor. Plot was a bit déjà vu: a serial killer seeking for revenge. Credibility was not quite there. A fantasy/paranormal story allows many turns but paranormal people totally at ease to handle a big ranch even if they did long ago, the heroine accepting to be the maid of the mansion without much fight. It was not quite right for me.

Other than that, I really liked it. I think it is a series that need to be read, preferably in order but not completely necessary. I did not read the first 2 books and I was not frustrated about it but I guess being introduced to a new world’s series is always a plus.

I recommend it.

Overall Rating: 4 STARS

Characters: 4
Plot: 4
Sex Heat: 4
Equality Level: 4
Credibility: 3
Originality: 4
Editing (poor/fair/good): good


You can buy HERE.

Bio

Author’s blog Goodreads –  AmazonFacebook

Trista writes for several different publishers; Loose Id, Ellora’s Cave, Liquid Silver Books. She lives in Tn where the weather can change just as fast a woman can change her mind, but that’s okay. It makes life interesting. Trista was first published ten years ago and has been going nonstop ever since. She loves writing and making up stories. Putting them down on paper quiets one voice, but awakens another, so the ideas continue to spill forth like a river busting through a dam. For more information on Trista, her books, and her reader conference, Romfest, check out www.tristaannmichaels.blogspot.com

//
//

Liked this review?
Get email updates of my blog’s content!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.