Genre: Paranormal, shifters, faes
Menage: MFMM, straight
Series: Paranormal Protection Unit
Length: 66,295 words / 185 pages
Published By: Siren Publishing
Published on: december 2012
ISBN #  978-1-62241-959-3

You can buy Their Unexpected Mate by Honor James HERE.

Synopsis

[Ménage Amour: Erotic Paranormal Ménage a Quatre Romance, M/F/M/M, shape-shifters, HEA]

After the devastating loss of her father, Katherine Douglas picks up her entire life and moves to the wilds of Montana. She sets about making a home only to find the unexpected—three larger-than-life men that send her perfectly planned future into a dizzying tailspin.

In the middle of a sting, Treasach “Scythe” Campbell, Quinlan “Mac” McAllister, and Sullivan “Sully” McAllister, Alpha Team for the Paranormal Protection Unit, were more worried about getting out in one piece than what the future might hold. But then in she walked—their mate. Like a punch to the gut, instincts older than time kick in, and the three men know nothing but the driving need to be with her.

They’re not human, not by a long shot, but they will love her with a fierceness no other could. Will she run from what they are and what they are asking her for, or can they convince her to heed the primal call from within?

Note: There is no sexual relationship or touching for titillation between or among siblings.

Review

First reaction? I wonder who is the other author Siren pen name because I am pretty sure I read her already!

But lets talk about the story where I found great points turning unfortunately into bad points in the end.

Fist chapters:

At first, I liked the heroine. I thought she was funny and I enjoyed her bad ass yet naive attitude. I found her endearing. Then I fell for the heroes. There always a je-ne-sais-quoi when the heroes are in special forces that cracks me up every single time. I also enjoyed that they were different shifters. They were all part of a shifter unit composed with different animals and I liked that very much. The plot at the beginning of the story was nicely developed and I thought “yes! I’m going to enjoy my time very much!” and I could not wait to read the story.

Then I discovered that she was a virgin (Oooo what a surprised!) but thank god she had no maiden because in order to mate her 3 males, she must have 2 in her vagina and one in her ass because the mouth is not considered as part of the deal. And here and there, the author lost me. Credibility was lost. How possible to be a virgin and the first time she has HUGE dicks in her vagina and in her ass at the same time. Oh I hear you loud and clear: it is a romance! Sorry, it does not work that way with me.

Middle of the story:

Then, the plot became less and less credible. New characters showed up all the time and I felt as if the author was introducing me to her next stories of the series (seems to be more and more a consensus within Siren authors as I cannot read any book now without it). So I had to keep track who was who. Yep, I can tell you that I already know that one of the next ménage à trois will be a magician informatics geek with a possible third dragon shifter (ETA: no menage for the geek magician, it is a MF story) and another MF with the dragon king shifter with an incredible woman that will put him down on his knees because she is totally exceptional (in what? yet to see). mmm I am not sure that I like that. In fact. no. I don’t. I do not care to be introduced with future characters all the time in previous stories. I want to know the one in the story I read NOW and if I like the story I like NOW, THEN I will buy the next ones. Make sense? 😛

Then, the plot got a bit over the top when Gaïa, mother of earth, came alive, explained us the complicated origins of earth  and the creatures she created and told us that she was the godmother of the heroine who had no clue before that she was a royal fae. At this point, I was out of the story. Everything became way over the top, way too much people, way too much information, just too much. The romance became secondary.

Last part of the story

Then the author, Honor James, decided that the heroine was some kind of dominatrix with her men. Not really the dominatrix in BDSM mind you, you will not find any here but the kind of women that I imagine were our grandmothers: queen of their house, admiral of their house, empress of all being in their house… The heroine forbade her men and everyone to curse… and everyone complied. Guess her men were scared to death to sleep on the sofa. I wonder what was the reason for the other male secondary characters… Sorry, but what was cute and funny at the beginning of the story, became tiring at the end.

Regarding the sex scenes, I had to read one again and again as I was trying to find the funny or cute side of it: at the end of a hot sex scene, while her mate’s dick is STILL inside her, she says to her mate:

As soon as you are able to be out of me, I will leave you to get the plates together while I go and clean up and then we will finish cooking.

Then, it was also okay to show who was the goddess in the kitchen. After their cute attempt of breakfast, she ordered them to clean and never cook evarrrrrrrrr again because they were so inadequate to make some toast or omelet or simple basic cooking. I felt as if the author had some issues with the men in general. She ridiculed them completely and I thought “hey Lady, we are no longer in the 70s, men today can cook, if not super stars meal, at least simple ones”. I am not sure where was the sexiness in this. She loved them enough to cook for them? ok. fair enough.

Sorry. The cute and funny heroine at the first chapters became a bitch at the end. The little blond siren at the beginning became a prude kitchen mama with a spatula in her hand ordering her big ass men to please her or dare the consequences..

Conclusion

A lot of inconsistencies and poor edits:

Chapter 5

In fact, I (mate #1) think we should do this Saturday (movies)

We (mate #2 and #3) will be there around 3:00pm…

Chapter 6

She had been all but walking on air in the two weeks following as she spent time with Trey (mate #1)

One page it is hours, next it is days and in the end weeks. Big issue with the timeline that was confusing.

At the end of the story, I felt as if the author went all over the place but without success… for me anyway.

I sound very harsh here and I am probably. I first wanted to rate this review, then I thought again and considering that I am not giving much positive, I changed my mind. I remind you that this review is one opinion, mine. And it does not mean that I hold the truth. That is how I felt.

Sorry but I will conclude by saying that I do prefer to relate in my erotic romances to a Nyotaimori heroine (sushi female body presentation) instead of a Chef Gordon Ramsay in skirts (Hell’s Kitchen) 😛

And since I really hate to end a review with a negative note, I will give kudos to the cover artist, Viola Estrella, who did a great job to portray perfectly the characters… and also say that I DID fell for the male heroes and I WILL miss them!


//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.