Genre: Menage MFM, Contemporary, BDSM
Series: YES, Texas Siren #7
Stand alone: YES
Length:  109,695 words / pages
Publisher: Siren Publishing / Bookstrand
Published: Ocotober 2012
ISBN# 978-1-62241-984-5
Author’s blog: Sophie Oak
Author’s website: Sophie Oak
Twitter: @AuthorSophieOak
Goodreads: Sophie Oak

Synopsis

Twin detectives Ben and Chase Dawson have been sent to investigate an unusual murder at a resort owned by Julian Lodge. Julian wants them to protect the prime suspect, a young submissive who was the last person to see the victim alive. The job seems simple until Ben and Chase discover that the beautiful submissive they both desire has a dark past.

Natalie Buchanan came to the Willow Fork Tranquility Spa seeking sanctuary after escaping the clutches of a twisted sadist. Working as a massage therapist at the resort has given her a chance to heal as well as access to the spa’s secret dungeon. But when one of her regular clients ends up dead on her table, Natalie fears that the monster she once escaped has come back to claim her.

As Natalie rediscovers the beauty of BDSM with her twin Masters, all three will be forced to confront her past.

Review

Reading Sophie Oak is always a pleasure.

I discovered Sophie Oak a while ago with her Bliss series, then I turned to her Siren’s. Now she is mixing some of the characters within both series, like Logan who was part of Bliss and is now a full character in Siren. Sometimes it can be very confusing to read a #7 without reading the #1-6 before. This is not the case here. Mainly because previous characters are nicely mixed in the story but do not take a major place in it and therefore we can read each book as stand alone.

If you ask me the difference between Bliss series and Siren series. I would say that Bliss offers a little bit more action/plot versus Siren that offers a bit more D/s. Bliss is definitely less BDSM.

I was intrigued to read Siren unleashed. I read a couple of FB friends saying that it was the best of Sophie Oak. So lets see if I believe it is or not 🙂

The story is about a broken submissive, Natalie. I think Sophie Oak went deep inside the head of a submissive this time. It was totally interesting to follow the healing of her heroine. In real life, a lot of submissive are broken because they are not with a real Dom but a guy who pretend to be one.

So what is the difference? I am far from expert but in my opinion if the submissive is unhappy and feels that her safe word (if she even has one) is not respected. If the orgasms are systematically denied. Then there is a problem. But of course, it is impossible to put a color on anything because what does not work for one, will for the others.

In Siren unleashed, we follow the path of an abused submissive who was put into forced slavery. The word is important: forced. BDSM must be consensual. If it is not, then it is abuse and rape. plain and simple.

Although I liked Natalie a lot, I could not totally loved her. I did not cry or laugh like some readers said, but I really liked her.

The twins masters were interesting. I totally enjoyed the love/hate relationship. Hate would be a big word here. Lets say the wish to exist without the other one. However, I did not get the Master side in Ben. I got it clear and loud with Chase, but not really with Ben. I would have described Ben as a top but not really a Dom. Chase on the other hand was perfectly described as a tormented Dom.

The plot added the level of tension in the relationship.

The sex was a bit upsetting. Good but mostly light D/s with a spanking. Nothing over the top, very smooth and sweet. No voyeurism, no Andrew Crux, no bondage (bondage and domination are not the same, bondage means ropes or cuffs).

I am very okay with that, do not get me wrong. But when a publisher says: Consensual BDSM Ménage a Trois Romance, then I expect a bit more. As soon as it is mentioned BDSM, then my expectations are a bit higher than a sweet domination in the bedroom.

Credibility and originality were there and overall it was a great story.

I think there is one character I completely fall for… it was Josh. I hope that little Josh exists in Sophie Oak’s life! He totally cracked me up!

Do I recommend this story and the series? Of course! No hesitation. I like Sophie Oak tons… but I love Lexi Blake better, which is the other pen name of Sophie Oak 🙂

Characters: 4
Plot: 5
Sex Heat: 4
Equality Level: 5
Credibility: 5
Originality: 4
Editing (poor/fair/good): Good

Overall Rating: 4

You can buy Siren Unleashed HERE.

Bio

Prior to becoming a novelist, Sophie worked in theater and comic books. She lives in Fort Worth, Texas with her husband and three precocious children, who wonder when mom is going to write a book they will be allowed to read. Her answer: probably never. Sophie believes in happy endings for everyone, no matter how extreme the story. Her stories may feature some of the fringe elements of sexuality, but at heart they are always about love. Sophie loves to hear from readers. Please feel free to contact her at www.sophieoak.com.

.

//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

One response

  1. Amber Lin says:

    Hey, this sounds really good! I have read one Sophie Oak in the past and loved it. I see that this is book seven… do I have to read the whole series or can I start here? Seven books is a big commitment, LOL. Oh, and I didn’t know Lexi Blake was her pen name. Cool!

    Like