Genre: Post-apocalyptic
Menage: MFM, twins
Series:  no. but has potential to be one.
Length:   219 pages
Publisher: Etopia Press
Published: August 1, 2012
ASIN: B008RQQ8KK
Author’s blog: Alyssa Turner
Twitter: no
Goodreads: Alyssa Turner

Synopsis

Same face, same mission, same woman. One big risk…

In post apocalyptic New York, Shannon Morris has one job to do: find the secrets everyone wants to hide from the all-powerful Eaglecorp. From her appointed perch high above the underclass, she would never have guessed she’d become a rebel sympathizer, or fall for two men at the same time–twins.

Ex-military resistance fighters Tristan and Pryor Davies also have a mission: to take down Eaglecorp by any means necessary. And Shannon is their key. But loving Shannon was never part of that plan. It’s a complication no amount of training could have prepared them for. They know instinctively how to rule her pleasure, and the sex between the three of them is explosive. But when the twins are forced to choose between their mission and Shannon, they struggle to find a solution they can live with. Because living without Shannon isn’t an option.

Awakened to Eaglecorp’s oppressive stranglehold on the people, Shannon begins to discover just what she’s capable of. There’s no turning back from the mission–or from the searing heat of twin lovers. Shannon is the key to defeating Eaglecorp, but only if she can unlock the truth before everything falls apart. In the end, the biggest secret she’ll uncover might be her own…

Review

After 3 weeks away from reviewing and my blog, I am happy to be back! I enjoyed my time reading the complete series of JR Ward but I am equally happy to be back reading my favorite sub-genre. A little break is always beneficial for me 🙂

I put on hold a couple of great menage romance and decided Double Take would be the first on my list. And what a great choice! I knew I would like reading Alyssa Turner since I read her already and although I enjoyed By Surprise, I must say that Double Take is the cherry on the cake.

I cannot stop thinking that one of the reason I liked it so much is because it is a novel plus romance. 219 pages. That gives a lot of time to learn who are the characters and fall for them. It gives also a lot of time to develop the plot and not rush to the sex scenes.

This story reminded me a little bit of The Fifth Element movie even tho the plot was completely different and it remained on earth. I thought it was very original.

My critic would be the prologue and the first pages probably. I would have preferred not reading the prologue and know the relationship immediately.  It took me a few pages to jump into the post-apocalyptic world and picture it in my head. This disappeared after 5-6 pages. In fact the more I read, the more I was into the story. It got better and better, chapter after chapter.

I totally loved the sex scenes. One will particularly remain in my mind and not wanting to say to much to spoil it, lets say that when she turned the chairs to them was really hot and original! But that was not the only one to remember like the gun practice and a couple of others. Sex was present in this story but nicely mixed and at the right time during the plot. This may explain the prologue since this story has a strong plot behind the sex scenes.

I have to say that this was a great surprise. I am very picky with the sex scenes. I find that, in general, the authors lack of originality and in the end I ofter find myself skipping paragraphs which is annoying. I have to really give kudos to Alyssa Turner here because she really wrote hot scenes and… give me few ideas to experiment! lol

The relationship was centered to the heroine but both men got equal love and sex. I could relate to the characters but I did not fall for the heroine, Shannon, completely. Maybe a tiny bit more drama about her father would have make me love her more. I liked her, do not get me wrong, but the characters that I will remember are the twins, Tristan and Pryor.

This story is a complete stand alone but has a potential to become a series. If any, I believe next one could be a MM story or a MMF.

As you can noticed I gave a 5 stars and it is sure deserved! You have to read this story and this author in general. She is very talented and will allow you to forget your surroundings once you start reading her!

Characters: 4

Plot: 4
Sex Heat: 5
Equality Level: 5
Credibility: 5
Originality: 5
Editing (poor/fair/good): good

Overall Rating: 5

You can buy Double Take by Alyssa Turner HERE.

Bio

Alyssa Turner is every woman and like no other. The one who stares into space while standing in sensible shoes at the supermarket, and you wonder what she might be thinking.

She’s new to the erotic fiction scene, but looking forward to what the future holds. Like any other writer, she adore feedback, any kind. So be sure to comment if you like.

Few things make her smile like the rush of creativity, she’s addicted. When she isn’t  writing, she’s cooking dinner or washing the clothes … or dreaming up her next delicious scene.

She writes for Xcite Books and Etopia Press, with two full-length epublications currently available. Her debut publication was a short in Best Women’s Erotica 2011, edited by Violet Blue. More shorts selected for print anthologies in 2011 from Xcite Books and Cleis Press, with the illustrious editors, Miranda Forbes and Rachel Kramer Bussel.

Alyssa Turner present Double Take: HERE

.

//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.