Genre: paranormal, werewolf
Menage: MMMF
Series: NO
Length: 74,855 words / 186 pages
Published By: Siren Publishing
Published on: August 13, 2012
ISBN 978-1-62241-163-4
Author’s blogTwitterGoodreadsFacebook

Synopsis

[Ménage Amour: Erotic Paranormal Ménage a Quatre Romance, M/M/F/M, with M/M, shape-shifters, HEA]

Devlin Mikhail and Chase Tanner have been searching for eleven years for their other mate. When disaster strikes the same day Chase finds their human mate, he knows they found her at the perfect time to complete their family.

Amalya McKinnon is a human who had her heart broken five years ago when the love of her life, Gavin, left without contacting her again. When she meets Chase and Devlin, she is thrown into a world she never knew existed. She is drawn to the two wolf shifters but has a hard time trusting them.

Devlin and Chase earn her trust and start to heal her heart, but her happiness doesn’t last. Gavin returns to claim her as his mate, and a threat from the past she never knew existed has come back for her.

Can the three men put their differences aside and make her happy, or will they all lose her?

Review

Did I mention that I love alpha heroine? Yep. I sure do.

Just returned from my vacation where I was starving for werewolves stories and read 4 in a row. I will start reviewing this one because it is still fresh in my mind 🙂

I did not read this author prior Hidden Alpha so I had no idea if I would enjoy the style and the story. I did.

The story starts MMF and evolves to MMMF. I do not spoil anything here since the cover book shows 3 guys and 1 woman. I liked that the third guy, Gavin,  did not join the relationship right away. It was like two stories in one. But I have also to admit that sometimes I felt that the heroine was not loving him equally. I understood her reasons and hurts but I felt she was a bit too harsh on him. I would have liked more forgiveness and love or sex with him after a certain while. It is no real love if you keep hurting the one you love and not truly forgive and move on.

The story is all about the heroine first even in sex scenes. This is not what I prefer in a romance. I like equal love and sex all around. But since the majority readers are women, I am sure it will not bother. On top of it, the author picked the title “hidden Alpha” in singular so the story was meant to be centered on the heroine all along.

The plot was original. Hybrid werewolf theme is still rare to be appreciated as it should. The only critic I will find here would be that I wished the author developed more the heroine’s abilities. I was hoping more explanation here.

The character I liked the most was Chase. We always relate more with one and Chase was the one. However, I could relate to each character, male and female, and that made the story credible.

Sex scenes were well written but not overly original. Bathroom and kitchen table seems to be the only kinky places in author’s imagination. I wished they could find other places! lol

The couple of improvement I would suggest would be to find a better balance in the equality in the relationship.

I was not impressed with the editing. I found some grammar typos here and there that could have been easily rectified.

So overall, I enjoyed this story very much. The story flowed from beginning to end.

I am now enough curious to read No Escape for Destiny (MMF) 😉

Characters: 5
Plot: 4
Sex Heat: 4
Equality Level (relationship): 4
Credibility: 4
Originality (plot/sex): 4
Editing (poor/fair/good): fair

Overall Rating: 4

You can buy Hidden Alpha HERE.

BIO

I was born and raised in Northern New York where I still live with my husband, two sons, one daughter, step-son, and several pets that somedays I really want to get rid of.

I work a full time job twelve hours a day that is very stressful. I enjoy losing myself in books so much that I decided it was time the characters in my head needed to have their stories told.

My favorite books involve lots of romance and a happily ever after. Don’t tell my characters that though, some of them are mad at me for not writing their stories yet. While I love romance between a man and a woman there is just something to be drooled overabout hot and sexy men loving on each other.

I would love to hear from my readers at KaseyDean@live.com

//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.