AftertheCrux72lg

Genre: Post-Apocalyptic
Menage: MMF
Series: Crux Survivors, book 1
Length: words / 101 pages
Published By: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Published on: July 3, 2012
ISBN # 978-1-61921-164-3
Author’s blog: Dani Worth
Twitter:  @DaniWorthWrites
Goodreads: Dani Worth

 

Synopsis

In a lonely, plague-devastated world, it is definitely not every man for himself.

Crux Survivors, Book 1

Seventeen years after the Crux Virus wiped out most of the world’s population, Ross is doing what he can to keep his small community safe from raiders in a self-contained artist retreat in the Jemez Mountains of New Mexico. He’s made a habit of collecting survivors and they’ve all become family, but the most important members have always been Jenna and Dorian.

At fourteen, Ross stumbled into the basement where the nine-year-olds were hiding and the three have been together ever since. Years later, Jenna and Dorian became lovers. Now, at thirty, Ross hopes to find a love of his own on supply runs, but he suffers incredible guilt because his heart has long been snagged by his two best friends.

Alone with his tangled emotions, Ross is about to discover that his friends have their own ideas about their relationship…and how it is about to change.

General review: 4
Characters: 5
Plot: 4
Sex level: 3
Equality (love/sex/relationship): 4
Credibility: 5
Originality: 4

Review

Another winner for Dani Worth!

I love post-apocalyptic stories. Beth D. Carter wrote one, Spirals, that I enjoyed very much as well. Both authors have the talent to put you there, to make it believe that it can happen anytime. World is so crazy, would you be surprised if this happened? I won’t.

This pandemic theme is quite common in movies and who did not watch or hear about The war of the Worlds,  Mad Max, I am legend, PLanet of Apes, Doomsday, 28 days after or so many more. TV series such Survivors, Falling Skies… The list of post-apocalyptic moves, tv show, books is endless. But I do not recall many in the erotic romance or maybe I did not look at the right places.

Some authors, like Dani Worth, are gifted to captivate us right at the first pages. I just cannot explain it besides talent.

I loved the characters and most especially Ross. Just an ordinary man, a decent man who decide to regroup other ordinary people and create his own family. If I could have give a 10 stars, I would have. 😉

If you are a returning reader of my blog (HUGE thank you for that!), you’ll notice that I added “equality” in my ratings. Since I am rambling about credibility and equality all the time, I thought it would be nice to have it there too. This equality is general and not only about sex but love and in the relationship.

The author was not very original in the choice of the plot: villains raping and stealing and killing survivors, survivors hiding and in need to recover the trauma and the loneliness. However, there is no doubt that I will remember this story. I was “in there”. I could picture the characters and the scenes. And that is the magic of an author’s talent.

I would have given a 5 stars but what was a bit lacking for me was the sex scenes and as I mentioned a little bit of a déjà vu. I found the sex scenes very sweet but they all waited 5 years before making it? 5 years is a long time when you live exclusively with a very small group of people. I understood however the conflict of being the protector father figure and the struggling need to switch to a physical/emotional level. In that, maybe I would have liked to read the steps. Maybe not. The relationship between the 3 was totally nice and endearing but I wanted a tiny bit more I guess.

It is true that this story is not a long novel. Do not get me wrong here: I did not feel cheated because something was missing but it is hard when I fell in love with the characters to let them go. It is obvious that this is book 1 since the epilogue shows us a new story right after. I hope it will be the same characters. but Dani Worth already posted her works in process that book 2 will be a MF story. I wished the author consider to write a saga and we could find the same characters in each book but with different narrators. This is something that I would enjoy, mostly because when I relate to the characters a lot, like this is with this story, I have a hard time to let them go or let them remained in the background completely.

What I would love is that Dani Worth write a long menage novel. Each time I am starving for more. Yeah Yeah… silly song in my head “I can’t get enough! I can’t get enough!”

So I invite you to read this new series and any books Dani Worth will published. She is not a menage author only, she writes MF too. Does it shoes that I am a fan?

Bio

A writer who loves to explore the boundaries of new worlds, love, desire or anything else that strikes my fancy. Good stories make life fun! I’m currently writing erotic romances set in post-apocalyptic, science fiction and contemporary settings. I like threads of paranormal and urban fantasy. Some of my stories will have pairs and some will have three–Love is Love.

 

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.