Genre: Contemporary
Menage:  MFM
Series: book 1
Length: 51,036 words / 117 pages
Published By: Ellora’s
Published on: Jun 16, 2010
ISBN # 9781419929045
Author’s blog/website: WEBSITE BLOG
Twitter: @lily_harlem

Goodreads: Lily Harlem
Facebook: Lily Harlem

Synopsis

Struggling artist Ariane Arlington flees the Welsh valleys after exposing her corrupt boss. But when the sun rises she finds herself jobless and homeless in Cardiff city with barely a penny to her name.

She responds to an advert in the local paper—Room to let, wanted, girl to share. What she doesn’t realize is that the two insanely gorgeous guys who live in the penthouse apartment really do want a girl to share, in every sense of the word. Fortunately for Ariane, rent is the last thing on their minds.

She discovers the men are bound together by a turbulent past. Liam, a computer whiz, keeps a painful secret hidden beneath his buff exterior, whilst Quinn, a pioneering neurosurgeon, wonders if he’ll ever meet a woman who can live with his controlling ways. They admit the one thing missing from their lives is a woman just like Ariane, who can handle them both in and out of the bedroom and who, together, they can keep satisfied, loved and most of all, safe.

Characters: 5
Plot: 4
Sex level: 4
Credibility: 3
Originality: 3

GENERAL REVIEW: 5

Review

How refreshing to read an English author. The differences are extremely thin but when an author describe her heroine with curls or use flatmates, it put a smile on my face. Lily Harlem never tried to disguise that the story stood in England but it is just funny to notice some differences in the languages. I lived 1 year in England and visited quit a few times. Lovely people, great sense of humor, I even loved their holy tea there… but such a bloody weather!!!

I enjoyed Shared. I liked the characters very much. I could not connect completely with the heroine but both males were totally loveable. Liam was definitely my favorite. His vulnerability called to me. I liked Quinn too but even tho I understood his passion for his job and his life dedication to it, I found it a bit selfish. But I worked in an hospital and I know that a surgeon is on call 24/7 unless the hospital is staffed enough which is never the case.

I had a little bit of hard time to find it credible the way she entered their life and jumped into their bed within a day. I found that it was a bit too desperate from the male characters. They also had no sex for a year for one and years for the others when they are both gorgeous and bachelor? A bit stretchy. Sometimes, I did not find it very credible.

I would have loved to know how the villain entered the apartment but overall the drama was nicely mixed with the story.

The sex scenes were nicely described but the I found the introduction to the lifestyle a bit too much. I enjoyed Quinn’s dominant personality but in my eyes he was never a Dom. Spanking and cuffs and safe word does not resume a lifestyle in my opinion. But I found the sex in the bathroom really hot and I enjoyed the “shaving”!

So yes, here and there, I found little inconsistencies but it was a very enjoyable story. I particularly loved the HEA family after. That was totally endearing 🙂

This is not a new release but if you did not have the chance to read it yet, you will spent a good time reading it. There is a sequel of this story, Shared too and it is a FMFM ménage with FF sex scenes.

Bio

Lily Harlem is a multi-published, award winning author of contemporary erotic romance. She lives in the UK and writes for several publishing houses including Ellora’s Cave, Xcite and Total-E-Bound. She also features in numerous UK and US anthologies, one of which all proceeds go to charity.

Her books are a mixture of full length novels and short stories, some are one offs, some are sequels or part of a series (all can be enjoyed as stand alone reads). What they all have in common are colourful characters travelling on everyone’s favourite journey — falling in love. If the story isn’t deliciously romantic and down and dirty sexy, it won’t be written, at least not by this author. So with the bedroom door left well and truly open you are warned to hang on for a steamy, sensual ride – or rides as the case might be!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.