General: 5
Characters: 5
Plot: 5
Sex level: 4
Credibility: 5
Originality: 5

Genre: BDSM, contemporary
Menage:  MF MM MMF
Series: YES.  Identity Crisis , Book 4
Length: 61,229 words / 185 pages
Published By: Rebel Ink Press LLC
Published on: May 03, 2012
ISBN # RIP0001008
Author’s blog/website: BLOG
Twitter: Lila Munro
Goodreads: Lila Munro
Facebook: Lila Munro

Review

I have no idea how I got this lucky this week but I am sure not going to complain! Two BDSM ménage outstanding in a row!

I realized only at the end of it that it would have been good to read book 3, Assumed Identity, since it is the prequel of this story. But to be honest, I did not miss anything. I jumped right into the story and I was right there with the characters. So you have the choice here: read the previous book or not and even read the complete series, although the characters in book 1 and 2 are not part of Assumed Master.

Sometimes some authors start their series with stand alone, then they really fall for their secondary characters and the series need to be read in order after a certain point. I think the point is book 3, Assumed Identity. The coming soon book 5, Assumed Calling, is the story of Allen and this character is definitely very present in book 4, Assumed Master.

This series is not a menage one and in many ways I would say MF and MM sexually but a complete menage in relationship. The Master, Dante, has two distinct relationship with a man, his husband Blake who is a slave and a relationship with a woman, Julie, who is at first a slave, then a pet turning into a slave again. Although slave here have a different meaning since in Lila Munro’s world both do speak their mind. They all live together. They become a family with kids.

I think I never read such BDSM so far and that makes it exceptional in my eyes. It was completely unexpected. In fact I read a long time ago some like that, the Incognito series by Madison Layle and Anna Leigh Keaton. I was so entranced by this series because it was the first books that went deep into the BDSM lifestyle. I will not list all the other BDSM great authors I read after that but if you read the Incognitos series this is the closest you may find compared to this story although Lila Munro sure do have her own style.

This story is mainly a Master story with a submissive who lost her Master and get a new one, him. It his his journey even if the narrator is not only him. The third is present but even if his presence is totally there, this is not his story. Reading this story, made me think that this lifestyle is not a sex game, a power game with Doms and Subs in leather or naked with a collar. It goes way above the physical. If a person is not emotionally ready, then this lifestyle is not possible.

I usually feel upset when I feel that there is not equal love or sex but this book is way above sex and the love between the three were indeed unusual but very real. Of course the sex scenes are there and they are hot but they have a meaning and it is all intricate within the relationship. I love the third character, Blake. I love that the characters were about my age, middle aged ones. This is also probably why I felt so connected to them. Physically and emotionally, I felt them real not models on a book cover.

I never felt as if it was outside my league like some other BDSM stories. Not saying that it is a manual to try it. I am saying that I could have met these people next door.  I never felt as if it was impossible to live their relationship in real life and this is, I think, the best compliment I can give to Lila Munro. I was “there”. I could breath the emotions. I could understand the insecurities.

Lila Munro made me cry at page 4 for Peter’s sake!!! And that is not very often that an author does that!

Assumed Master is special. Maybe it is because it was not the story of a submissive in the center of it. I loved the teens that had their place in it. I loved that the story was developed within months. Every little details that made it credible was there to enjoy the story fully.

I read Lila Munro already: Three for keeps. This story was also an outstanding one that I strongly recommend as well.

Assumed Master is this kind of story that I will remember and when the details will fade with time, I will read it again. Yep. I know that I will just do that!

Now. This said. I will end this with a critique… why o why this author is writing MF as well instead of ménage only? Not fair! I may have to do a voodoo spell on her muse! HA!

Synopsis

We may be born to the lifestyle,

Julie Stevens and Dante Larson always knew their tastes were a bit more eccentric than those of the average person, but acknowledgement of their chosen paths came at different times. While their lives have run parallel for the last twenty years, destiny always came knocking at the wrong time. Julie was a closeted edge player and before Dante could pull her free of her fears, Mason came along and dragged her kicking and screaming from her self-inflicted darkness, leaving Dante wanting. Although Dante’s been in love with Julie since the day he first laid eyes on her, he’s happily married to Blake. But the tides are turning.

But Lady Fate dictates how it should be lived…

Still mourning the death of the only Master she’s ever known, Julie finds herself forced to live with the one man she’s been terrified of for years, Dante. While she has to admit something between them feels right, just as many things feel very, very wrong, starting with the fact he’s married to her gay best friend. Before she even has time to sort out her current predicament, another man catches Julie’s attention. But after losing her mother, her sister, and her husband, can Julie come to grips with the fact that Keegan D’Amate jumps out of perfectly good helicopters for a living, rescue diving for the Coast Guard? And where exactly does that leave Dante, who knows for sure he needs a woman to complete his unconventional marriage? Quite frankly, he’s tired of waiting.

Bio

Lila Munro currently resides on the coast of North Carolina with her husband and their two four-legged kids. She’s a military wife with an empty nest and takes much of her inspiration for her heroes from the marines she’s lived around for the past fifteen years. Coining the term realmantica, she strives to produce quality romance in a realistic setting. Her genre of choice is contemporary romance that spans everything from the sensual to BDSM and ménage. When she’s not writing, she enjoys reading everything she can get her hands on, trips to the museum and aquarium, taking field research trips, and soaking up the sun on the nearby beaches. She’s a member in good standing of RWA and Passionate Ink. Email lilasromance@gmail.com You can find all her works at: Amazon Nook ARe Bookstrand

//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.