Genre: BDSM, contemporary
Menage: MFM
Series: Masters and Mercenaries , Book 2
Length: 115,676 words / 203 pages
Published By: DLZ Entertainment LLC
Published on: May 27, 2012
ISBN # 9781937608057
Author’s blog/website: Lexi Blake
Twitter: Lexi Blake
Goodreads: Lexi Blake

Facebook: Lexi Blake

.

.

.

authorbio3Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband and three kids. She began writing at a young age concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn’t until she started writing romance that she found success. Lexi believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome or foursome may seem.

.

synopsis3A woman in danger…

Serena Brooks is a bestselling author of erotic fiction. She knows how to write a happy ending but hasn’t managed to find one of her own. Divorced and alone, she has no one to turn to when a stalker begins to threaten her life. The cops don’t believe her. Her ex-husband thinks she’s making the whole story up. She has no one left to turn to except a pair of hired bodyguards. They promise to guard her body, but no one can protect her heart.

Two men in search of love…

Adam Miles and Jacob Dean are halves of a whole. They’ve spent their entire adult lives searching for the one woman who can handle them both. Adam is the playful, indulgent lover, while Jacob is the possessive, loving Dom. When Serena comes into their lives, Adam is certain that she’s the one. But Jacob’s past comes back to haunt them all. He is suspicious of Serena’s story, and his concerns are driving a wedge between him and Adam. But when the stalker strikes, they will have to come together or lose each other forever…

.

.

myreview5What is the best compliment an author can receive?

The first I have in mind is that I was so captivated by the story that I did not read the ending… which sounds silly to mention it but I do that 99.99% of the time. Here, I totally refused to be spoiled. I can also say that Lexi Blake is now on my top 10 favorites authors. I will buy each of her menage book totally blinded and I know without a single doubt that her story will be incredible. I will also buy this story in paperback just because I do it with all my 5 stars. Last, Lexi Blake is this kind of author that I will not only read once but multiple times.

Now… do you really want to read my review? lol

I read her series “Masters of Menage“, Their virgin captive and Their virgin’s secret, written in collaboration with another favorite author of mine, Shayla Black. I reviewed both 5 stars. However “Masters and Mercenaries” series is about multiple genre MF and ménage. I did not read book 1, The Dom who loved me but I could not resist this one. Best decision I ever made to buy, just sorry I did not read it earlier. I shall not do the same mistake with her next menage release: I will put it on my top priority list! ha!

Writing a 5 stars review is not easy. You wish to find the right words to share how this outstanding story touched you, how it put you into another dimension, how you just wanted to have a non stop reading without life interruption and most of all how upset you felt when you read the last page hoping you could read another 200 after that one.

I read hundred of menage. I am not trying to show off here, it is the truth. Nothing special since I started reading this genre only since 2006. I can tell you which author gave me goosebumps and this special punch in my stomach with the wow factor. Lexi Blake is one of them. Plain and simple.

I loved the complexity of her characters. Her men are always extremely alpha (duh they are Doms so of course they are) but also very vulnerable. This vulnerability mixed with this confidence and intensity is the IT factor that I love the most. The heroines are always right. I relate to them. They are not top model but they are gorgeous inside and out, the way real people are in real life, never perfect, full of flaws but of insecurities, emotional and so looking to be loved the way they are.

Something that I have noticed and maybe reading this story confirmed it: I am addicted to BDSM menage romance. There is a je-ne-sais-quoi that speak to me loud and clear. The large majority of  BDSM authors totally get the credibility I am so looking for in each story I read. Is it because they are living the lifestyle so they know what they are writing about? Maybe. It is also possible that this is a world that cannot be “wrong” in specifics descriptions or emotions. Maybe it is only me reading it differently. But something is just there for me.

I loved the plot. Again, it is totally out of my character to not read the last pages and know for sure if I will get my happy menage ending. I knew I would have it and (shaking my head right now) it is completely weird for me to think that I did not want to be spoiled and it was the best decision ever… I may do it again! lol

What I definitely loved was how this trio made it. How they failed and succeeded. How they messed up and how they moved on. This is for me what credibility in a romance means for me. I love of course to be transported outside my boring life and reading menage romance do it for me but I also put above all else in a romance the fact that I can relate and understand the characters and assimilate them with my own experience or life somehow. I am not sure how to explain this right.

I did not gave the 5 stars for the sex level. They were all great and hot, do not get me wrong! But I felt as I read those sex scenes already. I did not have this wow in me when I read them. Again, I am hard to please in this area so this is only how I feel. But I must say that this is a medium bondage and submission story, nothing extreme, and this is the kind of BDSM I can relate and understand. Being a complete outsider of this lifestyle, I know however the level of emotions that a heavy BDSM raise in me. My taste and understanding remains to medium (if this term ever exists) bondage and submission.

What I call heavy BDSM is when the heroine is a slave 24/7. I call it medium BDSM when the heroine is a pet and experience BDSM tools, when the Dom controls the orgams. I call it light BDSM when it is bondage and submission in the bedroom only, generally only spanking and a little voyeurism. I know perfectly this is not the way to say it. This is just my own way to make a difference in my reviews.

Now I need also to mention that I giggled a couple of times. When I say that this author has it all, I am not kidding!

“”how long had it been?”
“A couple of years, if you don’t count vibrators.” (…) “I kind of do. I named mine. Though I admit that some nights I took Sam out and then got caught up in a TV show, and we just watched. So I might suck at sex since I couldn’t even interest my vibrator.””

I thought that the title was clever and resumed pretty well the story. I loved the symbolism in it: golden cuffs.  At least, I think I understood it.

Now… are you ready to run an buy this book? Trust  me, you’re gonna love it! Next story in this serie is a MF story, book 3 A Dom is forever. I have so many menage story to read so I generally do not read MF, but I will probably make an exception. I have no shame to say  that I am addicted to Lexi Blake and heck no! I do not want to be cured! ha!

note to self: I so look like a crazy fan… mmm… you know what? I do not care!

.

Characters: 5 – Plot: 5
Sex level: 4 – Credibility: 5 – Originality: 5

MaryMenageWhispers-color-5

This review was already published on my blog in 2012

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.