General: 4
Characters: 3
Plot: 4
Sex level: 4
Credibility: 5
Originality: 4

Genre: Menage MFMM, Cowboys, Western historical
Series:  YES, Bride Train #6
Length:  93,623 words / 264 pages
Publisher: Siren Publishing / Bookstrand
Published: March 2012
ASIN # B0081TB3Z8
eBook given by the author: NO
Author’s blog: Reece Butler
Twitter: NA
Goodreads: Reece Butler


My review of this series: HERE and HERE

Each time I am finishing an outstanding story, I have a hard time to pick another one. This was the same after I finished reading The Lady takes a pride. So I scrolled my e-reader ToBeRead list and decided that I wanted a sure thing and picked this story, Beauty and the Beasts by Reece Butler.

For those who do not know this series, you should read it. I strongly suggest to read them in a row not because you must but because it is a true saga and it is nice to have all those characters fresh in our mind. Although I am going to repeat myself but THANK YOU Mrs Butler for the lexicon at the end of your stories explaining who is who. I love it. This refresh my mind and I think it is a must have when an author write a long saga. It is so much pleasant to remember the characters.

I liked this story a lot. Fact.

However, a couple of things bothered me.

Characters:

I did not read a love story with one of the 3 male character. He was arrogant up to the end. He changed his attitude 10 pages or less before the end of the story. I did not read much effort from the heroine to know him or to try to have any relation. It was cold feet both sides. He had a very quick sex scene at the last chapter and when I finally (!) expected some alone time with the heroine with a building love and sex, and it turned out to be a couple of hours and the other 2 males could not even respect this and intruded the special moment.

So I was upset about this. 264 pages and not even a love story with the third character except a quickie at the epilogue and poorly developed. His education was blamed although he could see the valley full of happy menage and how the men behaved with their wives. His best friend’s parent could show him what a marriage with true love and respext but nope his cold parents were the one to copy. It was like: I see it but I do not understand.

However, it was balanced with the other 2 males. With them, I had plenty of development, of love and passion.

I found the heroine a bit too stubborn and overall not much lovable. I could not connect with her at all.

Plot:

Here, I was expecting some action with the bad guy who sold the heroine. Nothing happened beside a hand hired villain. The series is all about women sold in whorehouses, raped and/or murdered and how justice is given. Unfortunately, nothing really happened in this story besides one scene with a villain. I hope next book will give us more action with the “real” bad guys. 264 of fear of marriage commitment was very very long without much action.

Sex level:

Well described. Same quality level as previous stories but only one menage sex scene. I thought that the author could have use the inexperience of one of the character to make some humor though.

Credibility:

Nothing comes in my mind saying that I had a hard time to trust this or this.

Originality:

It is a series do the originality is the saga itself 🙂

.

I liked the book. I like this series. I am never disappointed with the style of Reece Butler. She is a sure thing that I know that I will spend a good time reading her.

Blurb

[Siren Ménage Everlasting: Erotic Western Ménage a Quatre Romance, M/F/M/M, HEA]

Betrayed by men who said they loved her, Sarah Unsworth is determined to stay single, operate her bakery, and share her life with her cat. Unfortunately, the three men of the Circle C ranch arouse her, causing erotic fantasies and a craving for the orgasms she knows they can provide.

Luke Frost, raised in an emotionless society of wealth and prestige, requires a wife to produce sons as he’s the last of his line. Sarah refuses his proposals though is delighted to take his partners, Oscar Cutler and Gabe Downey, as lovers.

It takes time, but Luke realizes his cold, businesslike behavior is what keeps Sarah away. Not wanting to leave the Circle C, Sarah faces her fears and agrees to marry Luke if he can prove he loves her and will never betray her.

But to do so he must face his deepest fears…

Note: There is no sexual relationship or touching for titillation between or among the men.


//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.