General: 5
Characters: 5
Plot: 5
Sex level: 5
Credibility: 4
Originality: 5

Genre: Menage MFMMMM, paranormal, shifters
Series: book 1, The Shifters of Catamount, Texas
Length: 123,127 words / 342 pages
Publisher: Siren Publishing
Published: May 2, 2012
ASIN # B007ZRXSTQ
eBook given by the author: no
Author’s blog: NA
Twitter: NA
Goodreads: NA

That’s what I am talking about!!!

For some of you who follow my reviews (and thank you so very much for that), you know that when I love a story I go on and on about it. Here I am almost out of world. I am in awe. Excessive you think? Lets talk about it  together once you finish this story!

I am not sure if it is because it was a dual collaboration or if it is Ashley Shay and Josie Hunter specifically together that made this story an outstanding story but I do not care.

So many things that I loved…

The characters:

Yes! Yes! Yes! (did I say yes?). It is very possible that because it is a plus novel, I could learn each and every main and secondary character well. Each males had a distinct personality which is often the case in ménage with more than 2 males but what makes this story out of the lot is that I can describe who is who, personality and all. And not only the males, but each character. The switch between the narrator was also really appreciated. It was really fun to know them well.

The alpha was not a caveman at all, the twins did not read each others mind… They were all credible. I believed in them, in their choice and action.

The plot:

Very mysterious up to the end. Of course there is a nasty villain or should I say villains. The choice of shape-shifters was very original not only for the main characters but for the secondary ones. What I enjoyed very much is that I do not know what would be the plot in book 2. Yes, there is an open door and we know the big lines but there is no certainty and I just love it. Knowing who and what already at the epilogue of the previous story is boooooring.

The sex scenes:

Hot! Almost perfection! lol… yeah yeah, I know I am never satisfied in this area but I gave a 5 stars anyway because the scenes were very well described. I am not sure where the heroine lived when she said that she knew nothing about BDSM but I will give her the benefice of the doubt and think that in this world there are women who have no idea what is the lifestyle… although with 50 shades of grey, a lot will be educated… in a good or bad way since critics are pretty shared on this topic… BUT even badly written, women will know about safe word, spanking, St-Andrew crux, D/s, etc. So there I was a bit baffled that the heroine knew nothing at all. In my mind, you do not need to practice something to know the topic, but that is my opinion.

Credibility:

I gave a 4 stars for 3 reasons:

1/ I am not sure I understood the difference in mating and fucking. The alpha had to have sex with the mate in order to acknowledge her as the mate of all but nothing special happened when they had sex. I think this part was not enough developed for me to understand the difference between a normal fucking and a mating

2/ The love came with the mating immediately. I found that a bit too quick and weird. As soon as they mated, bam they adored her. It could have been explained a bit better in my opinion. Plus nobody exchanged a “I love you” which in a romance is always expected except at the very end between the alpha and the heroine… what about the others? It was not a big deal, but I noticed it. Always rooting for equality.

3/ How come they did not know about the heroine? I will not say more but this is a question I asked myself at the end of the story.

Originality:

Already mentioned but I enjoyed to see many different shape-shifters. The story gave room for other plots like a secret organization government/shifters. Some nasty shifters against good shifters.

I also enjoyed the epilogue as I was totally not expecting it!

Cover:

Unfortunately, it is a bit of dejà-vu.

Conclusion:

Both authors published 1 book only on Siren Publishing. I tried to find both of them on twitter, goodreads and find their blog but they must both have different pen names. I, personally would love to know them.

Now. I really hope that  you will get a chance to read this story. I, of course, recommend it 200% and cannot wait to read book 2. This is definitely a must read and a must have in print!

note to myself: I knew there was a reason why I keep reading Siren Publishing… because once in a while I find a jewel like this! 😉

Blurb

[Siren LoveXtreme Forever: Erotic Paranormal Cowboy Ménage Romance, M/F/M/M/M/M, shape-shifters, light consensual BDSM, flogging, spanking, HEA]

Carla Barnhart finds a murder-for-hire plot in her boss’s e-mail and thinks it’s a joke, but when he turns up dead, she knows she’s in trouble. Taken into protective custody with a new identity as Carly Barnes, she is stashed away in Catamount, Texas, with alpha Tyler Lucas and his pride of cougars. Most of the pride knows the shy schoolteacher is meant to be their mate, but youngest brother, Cougar, has doubts this human woman will understand his need to dominate and discipline.

Loving her new life and the men of the pride, Carly earns final acceptance by visiting Cougar’s BDSM club and showing the Dom she’s willing to learn. She thrives under the passionate attention of the shifters, but their happiness is short-lived. Trouble comes in the form of a serpent assassin determined to kill Carly, just as he killed the pride’s first mate.

Note: There is no sexual relationship or touching for titillation between or among the men.

//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

4 responses

  1. Emily says:

    You sold me, added to my cart on Siren. This sounds like a really good one, some of their books I tend to skip over because the cover or the synopsis (which is often incorrect or misleading). Can’t wait to read, in my cart for this week.

    Like

    • marynaughtywhispers says:

      yep. I was happily surprised with this story 🙂
      please let me know what you think once you read it!

      Like

  2. Josie Hunter says:

    Ashley and I thank you for the lovely review. 🙂

    Like