Tina Christopher

Bio

Tina Christopher spent her early years flitting across the Channel between Germany and England. After touring the world extensively, she finally laid down roots in Toronto. And while Canada’s winters may be frigid, Tina’s characters are anything but!

Like most writers, Tina often hears voices in her head, but it took the encouragement of an editor friend before she actually put fingers to keyboard. While those first stories will never see the light of day, she’s subsequently honed her craft and learned to build not just worlds, but entire galaxies. Her first book from Ellora’s Cave features a galaxy filled with Vampires, Humans and angel-like aliens called Naema.

When not imagining far away worlds and scorching hot encounters, Tina can be found on her sofa working through her never-ending TBR pile or venturing into the real world—whether to a nearby café or a passport-required destination. She’s a member of the RWA’s Toronto chapter. Her two degrees in environmental conservation, majoring in large animal studies, come in handy when wrestling with supernatural beasties.

I am very happy to welcome author, Tina Christopher, here with us today.

1. Why did you choose to write ménage? What intrigues you about this particular genre?

I love the idea of a woman being the centre of the world for two or more men on an emotional and sexual level. Yes, having to balance that many personalities can be a lot of work, but the rewards make up for that…at least in my mind. 😉

 2. Tell us about your latest ménage release: what is it all about? Where did you find the inspiration?

For inspiration I asked my favourite question: What If. What happens if you put a Vampire into space? What happens if you make an alien resembling an angel his lover? What happens if a human they believe evil is their third? Brooke, Galen and Nikolai pretty much took it from there.

 

Here is the blurb for Tangled Shadows:

After losing not only her ship but also three days of her memory in a freak explosion, Space Captain Brooke Deverell wants only to forget her troubles for one amazing night and fulfill her wildest fantasy.

 She gets that and more from Vampire Nikolai and ArchNaema Galen. The men have long been lovers and welcome her into their world of extraordinary sensuality. For one blissful night, Brooke believes she’s found her soul mates—but her happiness is short lived when she realizes she’s actually been kidnapped. The men hunted her down under the assumption she sold her crew and human cargo to Feral Vampires as blood slaves.

 After realizing her amnesia is real and of a paranormal nature, they find themselves at an impasse. To prevent a galaxy-wide war they must work together. The three discover their sensual partnership can heal her mind. But for a complete and successful union, Brooke has to decide if she can forgive the initial deception and open her heart to the two men who stir her blood and her heart.

 3. Who is your favorite ménage character(s) and why?

Hm, that’s a tough one. I love Nikolai’s take-charge attitude and Brooke is not a woman to be messed with, but there is something about Galen that draws me. He is quieter, but will stand for those he loves, no matter what. The fact that his family told him to choose between love and status makes my heart clench.

 4. In your opinion, what makes a good ménage novel?

 Well-written characters, a story that involves more than just sex, and emotion that makes me feel for the heroes and heroine. The characters need to have a goal, something that drives them, and the story needs to have enough conflict to keep me interested. And the sex has to be hot and driven by more than just lust.

 5. What do you think of ménage romance in general? Do you think numbers are important in ménage stories? The more the better or maybe not?

 I love ménage stories. As long as they fulfil the characteristics I mentioned in the previous question. J If the author makes each character distinct enough for me to tell them apart, I’m not that fussed about numbers. However, I think having more than 4 men with one woman can get a little overwhelming—especially when trying to keep track of who all the parts belong to. 😉

 6. What sparks your ménage imagination to the point of writing one? Is there a particular source of inspiration for your ménage stories?

 My characters tell me. My stories tend to start with a character and go from there. Right now I am working on the outline for my third book. I know I have a dark and damaged character called the Spaniard and a woman who has been badly hurt by somebody she trusted. I thought it would be just the two of them when suddenly this funny and charming (at least on the surface) soldier appeared on the scene (think Captain Jack from Dr Who). I couldn’t think of anything more interesting than throwing him into the mix and seeing how the Spaniard and he would get on.

 7. What is your favorite gender combination in ménage? More men than women? No women all men? Why?

 I prefer more men than women. I have only read a couple of m/m stories and enjoyed them, but I prefer a woman in the mix. It goes back to one woman being the centre of two or more men’s worlds.

 8. Do you prefer to use straight, gay or bisexual male character? Why? What influences your choice?

Any and all mix is good. J I read stories with straight guys and with bisexual guys and enjoyed both combinations. I find the idea of two men together very hot, especially with the woman watching, but having two men totally and utterly focused on one woman can also be fabulous. It comes down to characters and writing. They have to fit.

 9. In your opinion, do ménage stories work better with straight, gay or bisexual characters? Please elaborate.

 The story and the characters drive the relationships. I don’t think the sexual orientation is important.

 10. In your opinion, inside a ménage with more than one man, is the woman character condemned to a passive role? Or can she be portrayed as dominant? Is she just a toy, a doll in the men’s hands, or can she assert herself as a woman and an individual?

 I believe the woman is an integral part of the relationship in whatever role she wants to play. She can be as dominant or as submissive as she wants to be. No matter how many people are involved in this ménage, they all have to have as much input as the other members of the group, even if it’s only setting the ground rules for a dominant/submissive relationship. Otherwise I don’t think of it as a true ménage.

 11. In your opinion, can a true ménage work in real life? Why or why not?

 I am not familiar with anybody living in a true ménage situation. As a writer it’s easy to imagine such a relationship because I only take my characters to the HEA. We don’t see the minutiae of their daily lives nor the difficulties of combining this many personalities. I hope we have evolved enough as a society to make it possible for those who love more than one person and more than one gender to do so freely.

 12. Do you think there is a difference between ménage sex and a ménage relationship? Are the two one and the same? Or can one be without the other?

 I definitely think there’s a difference. Having a third join just for a night or a holiday is very different from three or more people living together and trying to make it work. I can see the appeal of fulfilling a fantasy, but I have to admit they are not my favourite stories. I always feel a little sorry for the third, left standing in the rain.

 13. What do you think of reviews on ménage books? Do you find they capture the essence of your work? If yes, why? If no, why not?

 I love your reviews. I found you on Twitter and worked my way through your reviews before making my credit card cry. 😉 I was so very excited that you chose Tangled Shadows as one of your Top Picks I couldn’t stop talking about it.

awwwwe Thank you so much for your kind words! and trust me if I say that my credit card understand you very well! lol

To read my review of Tangled Shadows, click HERE

 14. Tell us about your future projects. Do you have a new ménage romance coming out soon?

 I have just sold the next story in my Celestial Surrender series, Tangled Hunger, to Ellora’s Cave. It is a m/f story, but I am working on the third book I mentioned. I am aiming for a ménage, but I have to see if a certain character will fall in line and agree. 😉

 15. Where can the fans find you and find your books?

You can find my book on the Ellora’s Cave website ; on amazon  ; on kobobooks  and other online retailers.

 16. Please tell us where readers and fans can find you on the net.

You can follow me on twitter  – Like me on facebook  – or check my website

 17. Is there anything you wish to share with the readers?

 I would like to send a big thank you to readers for taking a chance on my book. Feel free to email me, I love to hear from readers. And a big thank you to Mary for taking the time to interview me.

Thank you so much for stopping by and share with us a little bit about yourself! And thank you for choosing ME to review your story. It happens that I have a “crush” on a new menage author but rarely on the first novel! You are not only extremely talented my dear but also a very sweet and humble human being. I know that Tangled Hunger will also be a great success!

Thank you again Tina for sharing your talent and I look forward to follow (and read) you in the years to come!

Mary

Do not miss this Giveaway prize!

Now… FABULOUS news for you guys! Tina Christopher will give away ONE Tangled Shadows if you leave a comment under this blog with your email.

She will randomly pick thru a number generator. The giveaway will stop APRIL 28 midnight (Central standard US/Canada)

So are you ready to read a great story and take the chance to win a free ebook?

//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

18 responses

  1. Karla Doyle says:

    What a great interview and review! I’ve had Tangled Shadows on my TBR list for awhile now…I’m going to have to bump it up the list! 🙂

    Like

  2. Riley Murphy says:

    Great Interview Mary and Tina,

    Tina, I love how you say, the story and characters drive the relationship, not sexual orientation. I’m a firm believer that we’re all here on the same journey (life) we just choose different paths to get what we need to make the ride interesting. Your book sounds awesome! Congrats!
    Riley

    Like

    • Tina Christopher says:

      Thanks so much, Riley. More than once my characters have surprised me and taken me on a very different path. If I contained them and kept them where they were supposed to be the story would have suffered.

      Like

  3. Jessica Lee says:

    Great interview! Vampires in space. Yay! Yes, two men are pretty hot. lol I enjoy a well-done m/m/f. Going to have to put Tangled Shadows on TBR as well.

    Like

  4. Mandy Harbin says:

    Great job, Tina! LOL, and it looks like Jessica had the same reaction I did because as soon as I read your comment about two guys, I knew right away that I was going to comment about that. 😛 It’s totally hot!

    Like

    • Tina Christopher says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Mandy. And indeed, there’s just something about two guys….*pulls her imagination back*

      Like

  5. Cristal Ryder says:

    Congrats on your first interview Tina. Book sounds yummy 😉

    Like

  6. April Vine says:

    Hey Tina 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! I love your what if scenarios – Tangled Shadows sounds HOT! And I love the title too.

    Like

  7. Lynne Silver says:

    You had me at space and menage.. Can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  8. Tibby Armstrong says:

    Congratulations on your book release, Tina! The concept and characters are original and intriguing!

    Wishing you much success,
    ~Tibby Armstrong

    Like

  9. Savannah Chase says:

    Wonderful interview. I want to say congrats on everything. you are such a great author.

    Like