Carrie Ann Ryan

 BIO

Carrie Ann Ryan is a bestselling paranormal and contemporary romance author. After spending too much time behind a lab bench, she decided to dive into the romance world and find her werewolf mate – even if it’s just in her books. Happy endings are always near – even if you have to get over the challenges of falling in love first.

Her first book, An Alpha’s Path, is the first in her Redwood Pack series. She’s also an avid reader and lover of romance and fiction novels. She love meeting new authors and new worlds. Any recommendations you have are appreciated. Carrie Ann lives in New England with her husband and two kittens.

Welcome Carrie Ann Ryan is here with us today.

Thanks so much for having me here today!

1. Why did you choose to write ménage? What intrigues you about this particular genre?

Trinity Bound is actually my first crack at ménage, but I really enjoyed it. I love reading the genre. But I started to write it because one of my characters, Reed, really needed two mates. He was the middle child and didn’t have a clear position in the pack. He was an amazing wolf who I thought needed even more family. So I brought him Hannah and Josh.

 I love the genre because when you add another person you add so much more dynamics and conflict to the story. There’s more connection, love, sex, and just everything when you do that.

2. Tell us about your latest ménage release: what’s it all about? Where did you find the inspiration?

 Trinity Bound is the third book in the Redwood Pack series and follows Reed, Hannah, and Josh in their journey to save themselves and their Pack. Its sexy, dirty, a bit dark, and a whole lot of fun. Here’s the blurb.

 

Hannah Lewis, a rare earth witch, is taken from the only life she’s ever known. Held at her will by a sadistic wolf, she almost gives up hope that she’d ever see her real life again. But as her fellow captive, a werewolf named Reed, tries to calm her fears, she begins to feel a spark of something she never thought she’d feel – love. But is Reed, alone, enough to get her out of this dark basement so she can move on with her life?

Reed Jamenson, the artist of a werewolf Pack of Alpha males, knows instinctively that Hannah is his mate. Thus, despite their imprisonment, he will do all to protect her and then worry about their hearts. But is he strong enough to find a way for both of them to escape? And why does he feel as though something else is missing?

Josh Kolb, an ex-military human, stumbles upon Reed and Hannah and finds he must trust this new world of supernatural beings to survive. But that desire will lead the three to a triangle of attraction that will test the boundaries they all possess and its consequences in defeating the enemy. Can they all trust one another to save themselves and life as they know it? Even at the cost of their own hearts?

3. Who is your favorite ménage character(s) and why?

 I love the ménage characters from Lauren Dane. Her Brown Siblings series has an amazing almost true-to-life ménage that surprised me and made me fall in love with the genre.

4. In your opinion, what makes a good ménage novel?

 Connections. I don’t like reading ménage books where two of the three are really close and the third is thrown in without any real reason. I like when all three are together, and then each is paired off so it shows that it’s real and not just played upon.

 Oh and it has to be hot!

5. What do you think of ménage romance in general? Do you think numbers are important in ménage stories? The more the better or maybe not?

 I prefer three. Once I start adding more, I feel that it loses something – unless the author does amazing. I’m not a huge fan of the “gang-bang” philosophy because I like my characters to only have sex with their special someone(s).

 However there are some awesome books out there that do exactly what I don’t write LOL and I still read them because I like the story.

6. What sparks your ménage imagination to the point of writing one? Is there a particular source of inspiration for your ménage stories?

 Not really. It’s more of a character feel. If one of my characters needs or can handle another partner, then sometimes the ménage spark happens.

7. What is your favorite gender combination in ménage? More men than women? No women all men? Why?

 I like m/m/f and m/f/m. I like men. Sorry. I love strong men who can carry their own and can sandwich a soft curved woman between them. Of course my woman still needs some attitude. How else could she handle two men at once? *grins*

8. Do you prefer to use straight, gay or bisexual male character? Why? What influences your choice?

I like them all. Trinity Bound has two bi-sexual males. Reed who has always been bisexual, and Josh who just found out.

 But in my future books I have straight men who share a woman and then straight men who don’t share.

 I haven’t written a gay man yet mostly because I have 15 books on the slate as it is. However I LOVE reading m/m.

9. In your opinion, inside a ménage with more than one man, is the woman character condemned to a passive role? Or can she be portrayed as dominant? Is she just a toy, a doll in the men’s hands, or can she assert herself as a woman and an individual?

 If she’s just a toy, then is an equal relationship? I don’t think so. She can be submissive in the bedroom, but that means she still holds power of her men if it’s done right. But outside the bedroom, she needs a spine in order to wrangle her men.

 What I like about good ménages is that there are three individuals who don’t lose their personalities that can pair off in couples and still be in a threesome. It’s all about connections.

10. In your opinion, can a true ménage work in real life? Why or why not?

 I think it could work if society didn’t condemn it. Inside their household and in the bedroom, yes, it can work. But once you add children, legal matters, and gossipy people with too much time on their hands…I’m afraid it won’t work.

 Just look at the recent Private Practice episode I had to turn off 10 minutes in. They made fun of the threesome with the actual ONLY healthy relationship on the show. Why? Because it wasn’t “normal.”

11. Do you think there is a difference between ménage sex and ménage relationship? Are the two one and the same? Or can one be without the other?

 I think if you don’t want commitment, then sure ménage sex. But I don’t like reading that. I like reading about the relationship. The sex is just a byproduct.

12. What do you think of reviews on ménage books? Do you find they capture the essence of your work? If yes, why? If no, why not?

 I think reviewers who understand ménage are amazing. They totally get the connections and relationships. Some reviewers don’t like ménage, but that’s totally fine. To each their own.

13. Tell us about your future projects. Do you have a new ménage romance coming out soon?

 My next 3 books are m/f. But Her Warriors’ Three Wishes, book two in the Dante’s Circle series is an m/f/m.

 However, my next book is actually called Dust of My Wings and is the first book in the Dante’s Circle series. My next Redwood Pack book is called Enforcer’s Redemption and is Adam’s book.

14. Where can the fans find you and find your books?

An Alpha’s Path

 AmazonBarnes & NobleARe

A Taste for a Mate

Amazon –  Barnes & Noble –  ARe

Trinity Bound

Amazon –  Barnes & Noble

15. Please tell us where readers and fans can find you on the net.

 WebsiteBlogFacebook Author PageFacebook FriendGoodreads – Twitter: @CarrieAnnRyanTumblr

16. Is there anything you wish to share with the readers?

 Just thank you soooooo much for all of your support!

Thank you so much Carrie Ann for this wonderful interview! I wish you the best of success!!

~Mary ~

//
//

Like this interview and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.