General: 4
Characters: 3
Plot: 4
Sex level: 3
Credibility: 4

Originality: 4

Length: 39,274 words / 136 pages
Genre: Menage MFM, Futuristic, Shifters, timetravel
Series:  Yes. Huntress Chronicles One
eBook given by the author: Yes
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Author’s blog: Ali Atwood
Twitter: @AliAtwood1
Goodreads: Ali Atwood
Published: March 2012
ISBN # 978-1-77111-110-2

The story started really great, lost a bit of the humph in the middle and went back to good at the end.

I have a hard time to really pinpoint my feelings about this book. Some parts were really really good and some parts left me a big cold.

First of all, I enjoyed the heroine. I liked that she was down to earth, average looking, strong personality but not too much over the top bad-ass. The kind of woman I can relate.

However, I did not like the men. One was not really involved in the relationship and he willingly took the third wheel position in the relationship and sex scenes. The other took almost the full book to admit that it was MAYBE more than an attraction. Absolutely no love declaration in this book from all of them. The story ends with a  hope that the relationship will work out. I felt as if the story was more a MF with benefits rather than a committed menage.

So I did not find my romance much.

Now all the other good parts.

I thought that the story was original. I do not read much time travel and the one I have in my pending collection are more time travel in the past not the future. I recall only reading recently Warrior’s Woman by Evanne Lorraine. And this is why I gave a nice rating in the originality because I do not read it again and again until I get sick of it.

The plot was not completely developed in my opinion. I would have loved to know a bit more about the clones. I would have loved to know more about the relationship between the two males main characters. I was waiting to see the gladiator’s dome. I was kept on my toes and something was missing there. But I liked the concept. I read it already in Spirals by Beth D Carther and Feral Fallout by Skhye Moncrief  but again the kind of plot that is not found on each romance I read and therefore it was because of its rarity very enjoyable.

The credibility factor was there. I did not like much the lack of love declaration but I found the relationship totally credible. In real life, we meet people, fall for them but some are so completely not the physical type that we would fall for initially. So yes, it was credible because very possible.

Some sex scenes were original and hot. But overall, it was not a scorching erotic romance.

Overall, I recommend this book because of its originality. It is a well written story. Book 2 should be interesting because I see either a MF or another MFM (or MMF). Unless the author will offer us a twin sisters , Brig and Lex, with 3 guys story? Somehow, I do not think so. I hope to be surprised tho. 😉

Publisher’s description

What’s better than a gorgeous, time traveling supercop? Two of them.

Private Investigator, Kat Monroe, is a woman to be reckoned with, an inborn huntress with predatory speed and lightning fast reflexes. Now a sadistic killer has her in his sights. Aiming to take her forward in time, where she’ll be forced to fight in a gladiatorial arena.

Enter Max and Brett Jericho, time traveling supercops on assignment to bring the killer to justice. Even as her world becomes deadlier, Kat is blown away by the gorgeous, future cops. When they all end up in bed together, each man fulfills Kat’s long, suppressed desires.

Determined to beat the killer at his own game, Kat opts to travel to the future and set herself up as bait. With her shifter supercops watching her back, what could possibly go wrong?

//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

2 responses

  1. Ali Atwood says:

    Hi Mary,
    I really appreciate the time you spent reading and reviewing Huntress For Hire. .
    All the best
    Ali

    Like

  2. marynaughtywhispers says:

    Thank you Ali.
    I look forward to read book 2 and potentially book 3 🙂
    Wish you the best!

    Like