General: 5
Characters: 5
Plot: 5
Sex level: 2

Length: 384 pages
Genre: Menage MFM, Fantasy, Contemporary. Elves
Series:  YES. Book #1, Inked Magic World
Publisher: Berkley
Author’s blog: Jory Strong
Published: Feb 7, 2012
ISBN-10 # 0425245373

 

GRRR and WOW.

This book is definitely a HFN (Happy For Now). I was hoping it would be a stand alone HEA (Happy Ever After) but definitely not. It ends when the ménage is starting to evolve. So indeed GRRR because now I am on my toes to read more and I will not be able to do so before months.

The WOW is about everything else minus the sex scenes.

I like Jory Strong. I am a big fan of this author that I discovered a long time ago with her other series The Angelini, Crime tells, Supernatural bonds, etc. It is always a treat to read Jory Strong. When I discovered Inked Magic a few days ago, I was thrilled and thought it had been a long time since I read her. I think the main reason is because she wrote a lot of MF lately so her name did not show up on the places I am looking for.

This first book of this series is for me more a thriller/mystery than an erotic story. In a way, I thought that this book is like the first chapter of a saga. The more I read, the more I was a bit disconcerted that I did not get more details about her childhood and under which circumstances she ran away at 16. Why I did not know more about the elves world.

I was a bit disturbed to read about the characters but not knowing their background.

Jory Strong has a thing for dragons. She wrote a couple of books about them in Supernatural Bonds so when she mentioned that one of the character was both an elf and a changeling and made some clear comment that he was a Lord Dragon, I was waiting to know more. I was dying to know more.It was a long agonizing time to learn who was Eamon and why he and his clan were banned among the humans… And I did not get much. I had pieces here and there but not much. Until I understood that book 1 would turn into a series and book 1 was never about a supernatural world. She brought elements but never developed them. Book 1 is just the beginning of the series : Inked Magic World.

I want to mention that the plot is about multiple rapists. This is very important when you will read this 384 pages story that it is not a memory but the main focus of the plot.

So how I felt after I turned the last page? Frustrated mostly, although with a touch of awe.

I am not fond of HFN. I do not mind them if I can read the next book immediately right after and continue the story without interruption of months in between. If I like a story a lot, I completely immerse myself in it and not knowing what will happen next immediately sucks. Do not get me wrong, I understand this is very common in series. But I do not have to like it right? I do have a couple of series pending because I know that the books ends with HFN. Stupid? Probably. But think how I am in heaven when I can read 5 or more books in a row and have a 2000 pages novel? uh?

The characters were very interesting. I liked that they all refused to have a permanent relationship and the more adamant to not have one was the heroine. A true bad-ass heroine. No compromise with her. It was fun to read how the males had to ply their ego if they did not want to loose her.  I loved to learn about the ink artists world.

I have to say that I loved Derrick. I will not say more than that. Unfortunately, he did not have much spotlights but the little he had, I loved it! I just hope to see him more later in the series.

So next book will be about the relationship between the three main characters but all the secondary as well. It will be about how she will learn her origins and how she can control her powers. It will be about villains that wish to kill her, of course. It will be about male egos who need to compromise again. I am hoping that I will learn more about her childhood in the human world.

And what about sex? okay. Not much sex scenes in this book, very few MF intercourse’s except one ménage which was very vanilla IMO. Not much description, quickly described. Guess this is not the book where you will use your dildos or your hand (hey! lets not forget that men read erotic romance too!!!). Sex scenes were pretty tame.

This said, the review is 5. Why? Because, I just could not put the book aside once I started to read it. I was captivated and completely into the story from beginning to end. I am a reader that enjoy variety. Sometimes sex is not always equal with characters, relationship and plot and I am fine with that. However the first question I am always asking myself at the last word of the last page is: how do I feel about this story?

The general rate gives you the answer and this book was definitely outstanding and deserved my top pick mention.

Publisher’s description:

Skin didn’t lie to her. It was her gift, sometimes her curse. To feel what others felt. To see the things held in their memories…

With the touch of her palms to the skin of a crime victim, San Francisco tattoo artist Etaín can see the faces of the guilty and draw them. Changeling elf but unaware of it, at odds with her police captain father and FBI brother, magic and gift have put her on the path of two compelling men.

Cathal Dunne, the son of an Irish mob boss, needs Etaín’s help finding the rapists who left his cousin for dead. Eamon, a powerful elf lord, is determined to make her his consort-wife.

Her gift once made permanence impossible when it came to a lover. Now as she approaches the transition to fully Elven, her survival depends on keeping two. One of the men is willing to share her. The other isn’t—until the search for a sexual predator turns deadly—and only by paying magic’s price will there be any future at all.

//
//

Like this blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.