General: 5
Characters: 5
Plot: 4
Sex level: 5

.
Length: 65,541 words / 241 pages
Genre: Menage MMF,  Contemporary
Series:  No
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Author’s blog:  Kelly Jamieson
Published: Feb 14, 2012
ISBN # 978-1-60928-696-5


Finally! I found an outstanding story that is not a BDSM!

From the first chapter, I knew that I would not be disappointed. I’ve read already Kelly Jamieson (One Wicked Night) and already knew she is a talented author and loved how she develops her characters. So I was expecting the same level of honesty and this story went above my expectations.

Yes. It is indeed “another” best friends one bi one straight story with the woman in the middle but Kelly Jamieson made it work really nicely. The more I turned the pages, the more I was attracted with their relationship. You can be a couple very in love and secure, nothing is a done deal. One decision can change everything. The lust, the doubts, the feelings were credible. Although I need some clarification between “I love you” and “I am falling in love with you”, seems a bit unclear with Kelly Jamieson (wink).

The characters were believable. They were the kind of people that I can meet in real life and this is for me very important when I read a romance. As a middle aged woman, I need substance. I need honesty. I need true emotions. I read so many dumb blonde virgin heroine falling at first nano second in love with the bad man woman-sex addict caveman ultra macho that I am just sick of them.

I will repeat myself but my gosh, how I do appreciate when an author understands what credibility means and Kelly Jamieson sure does.

I cannot say which character I liked the most. I think they all complemented each other. The heroine, Kassidy, was definitely the cement in the relationship. Chris, one of the male, was the kind of man that we cross every day: a man who has no clue what a woman feels, reserved to express verbally his feelings when something bother him but not shy  to say “I love you” to the heroine and show them physically how special she is. Dag, the second male, is not the bi that we read in other stories. In fact it took a long time to know his true feelings and they were developed bit by bit, never too much or too little. I liked them all a lot and the dynamic they all have.

I enjoyed that one of the secondary character was not lovable and the relationship with the heroine was very interesting. I thought again that this secondary character was the kind that we find in a lot of family.

I also have to comment the sex scenes. On One Wicked Night, I was a bit upset. I thought the heat was lacking. I am happy to tell that in Rule of Three Kelly Jamieson found her way to spice the sex scenes. I loved them!

Regarding the plot, I did not give the top rate but only because there is no real villain in the story. It is a love story, a family story. But if you consider this as a plot, then yes she would have get the 5 indeed.

I already mentioned it in One Wicked Night, but I think Kelly Jamieson is a great judge of characters. I was thinking when I ended this book that I would love to meet her in person and have a little chit chat with her. I believe that she is this kind of person that would dissect your personality and feelings in no time. I also have this nagging feeling that she maybe meet her characters in her real life and that is why they are so credible. Maybe not in the ménage relationship, although I would not be surprised, but mostly the personalities she find around her. If I am wrong, which it is highly possible, then she probably missed her psychology degree.

I know another author who has this talent, Tymber Dalton and a couple of others like Lolita Lopez, Jan Graham… I cannot list them all but yes Kelly Jamieson just has it just like them, this honesty and credibility that turn your guts upside down and just cannot put down the story once you started it.

Rule of Three is a long novel. I am this kind of reader that needs development, that needs time to love the characters, that needs to believe the story, that needs to read credible reactions. A long novel rarely disappoints me. It gives me the total satisfaction that I hardly get with a quickie or a short story.

Now. I cannot end my review without talking about the cover. First this cover is the same as Some like it bi  at least 3 models from it. I was 1/ upset that Samhain publishing which is a well known erotic publisher did not pay for exclusivity 2/ the models completely do not looks like the characters described in the story. The cover shows 20ish thin androgynous which is totally not the characters described in the story. It is not a bad cover, it just does not reflect the story at all.

I can honestly say that Kelly Jamieson has become a sure think for me. She wrote 20 erotic romance, mostly MF, some ménage, some BDSM. Since I made my choice to read only ménage a long time ago, I will wait patiently until she’ll publish another one. 😉

Publisher’s description:

If you follow the rules, you miss all the fun…

Kassidy is a good girl who wants to be bad. Dag is a bad boy who is very, very good. And Chris? He likes to watch…

When wicked-sexy Dag returns to Chicago to catch up with his old college buddy Chris and meet The Girlfriend, none of them are anticipating the unexpected turn of events that switches a loving twosome into a scorching hot threesome. As old feelings resurface, and new attractions are explored, a storm of sexual sparks is unleashed that leads them into forbidden areas.

Always the good girl, Kassidy blossoms under the attentions of two loving men, but neither she nor Chris are expecting the ménage to take a quarter turn toward Dag…and his feelings for Chris. When it’s revealed that Dag’s attraction to Chris is one big reason he left town, a tangled mess of old hurts and new feelings might destroy friendship. Love. Might destroy everything.

Warning: This book contains a couple already in love, a couple falling in love and a couple in love who didn’t know it; also multiple scorching sex scenes including girl with boy, girl with two boys, boy with boy and two boys with girl…whew!


//
//

Like this review and my blog?
Subscribe & be updated by email!

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

2 responses

  1. Kelly Jamieson says:

    Mary thank you so much for reading and reviewing my book! I’m so glad you enjoyed it and your comments (as always) are very insightful.

    Like