General: 5
Characters: 5
Plot: 5
Sex level: 5

Length: 159,477 words / 406 pages
Genre: Menage MFM,  brothers, contemporary, BDSM
Series: Possibly. Wylde Shore
Publisher: Siren Publishing
Author’s site: Jan Graham
Author’s blog: Jan Graham
Published: november 2011

ASIN: B006QXC9X6

I could just review this story with 2 words: MUST READ.

This week, I decided to read a plus novel. I had this story aside for a little while, but sometimes I need a break between two BDSM stories and reading a plus novel is a commitment; I need to be fully into the story and almost read it without much break so I can keep alive in my mind the story, the characters, etc. I picked last weekend to read Finding Angel by Jan Graham. An oh boy how I am glad I did!

This author put all her soul into this story. I mean there is no doubt in my mind that she poured all her guts. You know by now that I prefer BDSM vs the other menage genre such as contemporary, paranormal… not because it is a BDSM, but because I noticed  it is very rare that I dislike a BDSM story. There is a je-ne-sais-quoi that I find very honest and this is extremely appealing to me. I can only assume that the authors which decide to write this genre are living the lifestyle themselves, and they know what they are talking about. The sex scenes are just right. The emotional connections between the characters are also credible. And when I read: “more, again, harder, faster” even if I am annoyed a bit to read them repeatedly in every erotic romance, in a BDSM story, they do not bother me that much.

So where to begin?

First, I would like to say that this is an emotional story all along. Some parts may be disturbing for certain readers because there are mentioned of rapes and violence against the heroine. None of the scenes are explained in details, but some readers may be upset about this anyway. I think that Siren Publishing should have added a warning mention somehow. All the violence happened in the past,  so yes you will be upset but do know that from first chapter, there is a happy ever now and after.

This said, I thought it was one of the most incredible BDSM stories I read. It left me in awe. Everything is perfect: the characters, the relationship, the plot, the sex scenes. It is rare that I give a 5 all over, but this story deserves it.

Now, I wonder what words I shall use to make sure after this review you run to buy this story?

First, I will say that pretty much all the reviews made by others, reviewers or readers who did not leave any comment/review, rated this story in the must-read category. Some rare did not like it, and that is fine. Nobody can love everybody, and that is the same with books. A book should stir up emotions and oh boy did I have mine heart-stricken!

The story is about a woman, Angel,  who survived the worse. And when I say the worse, I truly mean it. Somehow, she was not broken. I loved her personality. I loved her strength; I love the way she analyzed her life. I just loved her through and through.

I also fell in love with the main characters, Daniel and Christian.  I loved the personalities. Maybe sometimes I was a bit surprised that their Dom nature did not go out more, and I was not so sure that Angel was a true submissive at times. I cannot really say yay or nay on this one because I never experienced the BDSM lifestyle, so I cannot say if this BDSM relationship is plausible or not. I only can say that I loved the fact that she was not a slave and could hold her own on every situation and could express herself freely when she disagreed, and she was witty and sarcastic, which is for me #one quality in a heroine character. From my very limited perspective, I understand that a submissive is not like a stamp you put on the forehead and has the same rules to follow. Everyone is unique. Therefore, each BDSM relationship is also unique. What works for some, may mot for the others. And I liked very much the type of BDSM relationship I read in this story. And I did not care if it is a fiction or not; I liked it.

I loved the second characters, Steve and Adrian. At first, I disliked them, a lot. Why any human being can accept to do nothing when this person knows without the shadow of a doubt that another human being is tortured and raped. Somehow they both manage to redeem themselves.

The plot was fantastic from beginning to end. It was a true thriller but the relationship was mixed equally, full of ups and downs. It was never boring, never too much or too little. Just perfect.

The sex scenes were… great! Yesssss finally I could read some sex scenes that were hot and original. Ok. I am not saying I was horny when I read them, but I was totally intrigued and the author was so not writing the same-old sex scenes I read most of the time. Some will probably call the heroine a nympho but I did not. Some women love sex and there is nothing wrong with that but of course, the women who need only sex to once a week will not understand. I read somewhere that the more you have sex, the more you want and need it and the more your libido is developed. I believe that. Let’s think when we are single or in a relationship. Our sexual needs are different right?

I was not totally convinced that after a first encounter of a couple of minutes, two men knew she was the one but how many times we heard that someone fell in love at first sight. It happens. We can even fall in lust with someone so why not. I am also not certain about the illness of one of the secondary characters was also necessary but the extra drama that brought it can be maybe explained that the author will offer us a book 2 after this one and therefore, what I consider a bit too much will be explained “later.”

I made a point to do not explain much about any plot in my reviews nor the relationship, and I am sticking to this decision. I really dislike reviews that almost explain all the plot and the relationship. Dear God! what is the point to buy the book if a review says it all? (picture me shaking my head and rolling my eyes).  So can you trust me that you will not regret to buy and read this book?

My nagging double me says that I am surprised that this author published only 2 books so far. Nagging me or suspicious me? Either she has another pen name whom I would love to know because I would track her other books, or she wrote this master piece and gave it her all and lucky for us, a publisher saw how incredible the story was.

I cannot wait to read her again, and I keep my finger crossed that the next one will be another menage romance. It does not mean it will be as great as this one but I sure can hope!

Mrs. Jan Graham, I hope every BDSM menage romance lover will read your story. And you know what? I will make sure to spread the word! No doubt about it! 🙂

ETA: I was curious to read Jan Graham’s blog and here is what I found and this is great news:

I have two series I am currently working on. Finding Angel is the first novel of the Wylde-Shore Series, three more books are to follow, Playing Jax, Switching Mercedes and a yet to be named last title. the series are contemporary romantic suspense titles, all of the stories include a BDSM theme and some include menage relationships as part of the storyline.

Publisher’s description:

Erotic BDSM Ménage a Trois Romance, M/F/M, spanking, sex toys

Angel Wylde is a woman with a complicated existence, a damaging past, and a desire to be normal. Unfortunately, what’s normal to Angel is unconventional to the rest of us. A crime boss will kill to get an incriminating ledger from her. Detective Steve Jax also wants the ledger from Angel, but the infuriating woman has disappeared.

Christian and Daniel Shore, Steve’s two best friends, don’t know about the ledger. They just want Angel. A chance meeting has them taking her home and deciding she is the only woman for them—yes, both of them. Obviously, Angel isn’t the only one with unconventional desires. So who does Angel trust? Two kinky Doms she just met, a cop she doesn’t know anything about, or a nasty crime boss? Trusting all of them may save her life, and falling in love with two Dominant brothers is the icing on the cake.

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

4 responses

  1. Laura Tolomei says:

    WOW Mary, sure sounds like you LOVED this one! MUST get a copy, too! Thanks for making it so deliciously irresistible!!!

    Laura

    Like

    • marynaughtywhispers says:

      Indeed. It was a roller coaster of emotions but a fantastic story. Not a heavy BDSM but still had enough elements that I consider it as a BDSM story.
      I am sure you will like it
      Mary

      Like

  2. bluejazz7 says:

    Thanks a lot for your recommend. When I’d read your rec, I’d immediately strated reading it in one sit. Angel’s life history had made me cry a lot. and stroy lenght really impressive for Trois Romance. Even though the story is very long, I never feel boring. it relly great story.

    Like

    • marynaughtywhispers says:

      oh thank you so much for trusting me!
      I am glad you went thru the same emotional roller coaster as me (sounds weird saing it uh? lol)
      406 pages is indeed a plus novel and like you, I never ever felt bored or skiped a page.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment! 😉
      Mary

      Like