General: 4 STARS
Caracters: 4
Plot: 4
Sex Heat: 3.5

Menage: MMF
62436 words / 224 pages

Where to buy it: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Author’s blog: Kelly Jamieson

I enjoyed this MMF story but it is rare that I do not like a book with over 200 pages. For me length is important in the development of the story, the characters, the plot and the sex scenes. I have to imerge myself and I have to know when how and why. Unfortunately the quickies does not do for me. It is almost like I do not have time to fall in love that they are already in bed. I need feelings, I do not like flings.

This story is about trust and acceptance. It is also about the gossips that little town love to have on each other and the fear of rejection.

I lived myself in a small village for a couple of years and I know how people can be mean with each other. In the romance, little towns have people who help each other, love each other and accept each other but in reality it is pretty rare. Not saying impossible, but very rare. This story is not about a fantasy town. It is about the guy at the front desk of an hotel who has nothing better to do but gossip. It is about people who are so scared of gossips that they will forget to think straight and believe in their own family members.

This is the story of one family. The daughter is getting married and she asked hr brother to assist to her marriage after he left the town 10 years ago after a scandal. It is the story of a young woman who fell in love with him 10 years ago, the bad boy, and never recovered. It is the story of a man who refused to accept that he is lovable and do his best to hurt the people who love him.

I found a lot of honesty in this book. I could tell that Kelly Jamieson went thru some gossips directly or indirectly. She understood also how hurtful it can be to do not be accepted the way we are. I found interesting that she developed the fear to be rejected therefore I will reject before I get hurt.

It is a menage story but unfortunately I thought the author did not developed the third character, Nick. I wanted a bit more of him. I understand his place: bisexual lover in love with his best friend, scared to be rejected once his lover find a woman to love. I missed a bit to know how he felt or how he was truly hurt by his friend. I think he needed a better love declaration from both.

Tyler is definitely a high maintenance guy. He is insecure and reject people who get too close to him and he acts as an asshole most of the time. I did not fell for the guy much. I thought he was pretty selfish and did not grovelled enough to both the heroine and his friend.

The heroine, Kaelin, was interesting. I liked her a lot. She is the kind of woman that you find in each little town. Born, raised and worked at the same place, knowing the same people all her life. Her dreams were broken but she was not whiny on that. She accepted her life. But dreams are hard to kill so it was interesting to see the conflict of a proper woman jumping the fence of becoming a bit wild.

The second characters like the mother was the most interesting. I think she was the most credible of all. Something tells me that Kelly Jamieson is very closed to this character, mother or friend or else. It is very obvious.

Pretty much all the story happened during the marriage of the sister.The story was a moment in time. I like it that Kelly Jamieson used the marriage as the plot. Many of us know or heard of some family dramas during a marriage. Marriage and funerals are the only occasion that family gathered together.

I need to mention it… Thank you Kelly Jamieson for the perfect french spelling with : ménage à trois! (wink)

Overall, I liked it and I recommend it.

Publisher’s description (Samhain):

The boys are back in town…Ten years ago, Kaelin Daume spent a steamy summer home from college secretly hanging out with town bad boy Tyler Wirth and his best friend Nick Kernsted. The connection was warm, complicated, and came to a crashing end when she walked in on her two forbidden friends with another woman. The shocking scene of sex and bondage has haunted her boring, oh-so-vanilla life ever since.

The fallout from that night tore Tyler’s life apart. He left Mapleglen, disowned and disgraced, to build a successful advertising career and a unique relationship with Nick. Nothing could bring him back except his sister’s wedding, and he plans to hightail it back to Chicago as soon as it’s over. At least one good thing hasn’t changed: Kaelin is as sweet as ever. Except she doesn’t seem too thrilled to hear it.

As tensions run high, Kaelin can’t resist the temptation to commit one crazy act of rebellion. Once the web of secrets, sins and lies starts to unravel, though, their lives will never be the same

Product Warnings

This book contains a nice girl who gets her naughty on with two hot men. M/M/F and M/M scenes may cause an increase in body temperature, pulse rate and respiration. Read with caution! For adult use only.

2 responses

  1. Emily says:

    I read this too and liked this one, I really felt for Tyler.

    Like