General: 5 stars
Characters: 5
Plot: 4.5
Sex heat: 3.5

97330 words (218 pages)
Where to buy it: Siren Publishing
Author’s blog: Sophie Oak

My review about The Night in Bliss Colorado 1-4 : HERE

The best of the series!

I was not so sure when I started to read the blurb and also the last 3 pages as I usually do. I thought that maybe it would be too much whining from Caleb, one of the male character. I mean reading 200 pages of a guy who cannot commit, I thought it would be a bit too much.

Well. Sophie Oak found the perfect balance with the Russian character, Alexei. I completely totally fully fell in love with Alexei. I thought his personality was so endearing and so funny.

ohhhh that is the key here: funny! I laughed so many times in this book! I enjoyed the previous books, I had a great time reading them but this one is really a must read.

This is a series but all stand alone. However, since all stories happen in the same small town, Bliss in Colorado, in each book we find the same characters. Not that they are necessary to understand or follow the story at all, but they are there. Sophie Oak is smart enough to give us glimpses of who will be part of the next menage. Methinks that it is time for Wolf and his brother to have a BDSM menage. But I hope that the brother will move to Bliss and not Wolf moving away. Although there is Caleb’ rebel ‘s brother, Michael the brokenhearted guy and Dolan the broken cop-kid… but I have my doubt that he will be part of the menage with Wolf and his brother here… I stop here. I’ll just see!

So back to Found in Bliss.

The choice of characters were just perfect. Caleb is what we call a damage goods. Doc in Africa, he was tortured for months and witnessed murders. He never recovered. Alexei is an ex assassin in a mobster organization that seek revenge for the death of his brother and we have Holly who is a divorced middle aged woman who was forced to left behind her gay son, moved to Bliss years ago and who is trying to regain her self esteem.

Caleb is 200% high maintenance. Alexei is naive and honest and completely lovable because of . Holly is just a woman that every woman can relate.

I love this kind of characters. It makes the relationship complicated and that is in my opinion the best part in a menage romance.

Geeez I am still smiling with some of the funny parts in this book. Priceless.

Humor is so rare. I will never say it enough. Humor is so rare in erotic romance and in menage romance since I read this sub-genre almost exclusively. I am not sure why. I cannot believe that authors are lacking humor. I mean they are like everybody right? I am not talking about goofy or forced humor but funny situation happens every now and then no? Why it seems so complicated to incorporate humor in a story? I mean, it adds so much more. Is it that authors think that intense passion does not match humor and endearing situations?

It sucks, really. Lets talk about Found in Bliss. All the humor found in this book was totally bliss for me (yeah yeah sorry could not help it…)

Anyways. As usual the plot was good and well structured and kept me on my toes. It was not at all obvious who he wanted to kill so it was nicely developed.

The sex scenes are good although I wished that if one of the character is into the lifestyle that the author would really find some BDSM sex scenes and not only spankings and holding her hands. But I have to say that it was never really said that Alexei was a Dom, it was only suggested.

And here I am going to talk in general. I wish that authors will be more kinky, more dirty and use a bit more of imagination regarding the sex scenes. Most of the time, I think: “same old, same old”. This is not an only critic for Sophie Oak but pretty much most of the erotic authors… They are okay but nothing to wet my panties.

Now this said,  I gave the perfect note to Found in Bliss because sex is not. My enjoyment to read a menage book is composed of many things and in the end it is all a matter of satisfaction, a smile on my face, a need to put this book aside and read it again in a couple of months because I had a great time reading it, still laughing with some humorous parts, thinking that the characters were cute, that the plot was nicely constructed and developed, that the relationship was overall credible and finally a story to remember.

So you see, sex is not my main focus when I read a menage. It is great and add spices in the plate but that is not all the ingredients.

Sophie Oak… I really (really) hope that your next Bliss menage story will have that level of humor and methinks that it is possible if Wolf is the next male character. He seems to have all it takes for that! Cannot wait! 😉

Publisher’s description (Siren Publishing):

Erotic Cowboy Ménage a Trois Romance, M/F/M, light BDSM, spanking, sex toys

Eight years after being tossed aside by the husband who took her son away, Holly Lang finds herself caught between two lovers—the exotic and dangerous Alexei Markov and the gentle but haunted Dr. Caleb Burke.

A former hit man for the Russian mafia, Alexei has been in witness protection while he testified against the mob. Now that he is done, he will do anything to earn Holly’s love.

Dr. Caleb Burke is a walking contradiction. His love for Holly is obvious, but he keeps her at a distance. Underneath his gruff demeanor is a tortured soul that only Holly can heal.

As their passions burn out of control, Alexei and Caleb discover someone is trying to kill her. The only way to discover the identity of the killer is for all three to face up to the secrets of their past and work together to fight for everything they have found in Bliss.

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.