x-na-cb-unsettled3111026_0208

General : 5 stars
Characters: 4.5
Plot: 5
Sex heat: 4

Last book (for now) of this Cowboy Boots series, Cowboy Boots and Unsettled Debts by Natalie Acres.

I think you are going to be bored me saying that I love Natalie Acres but I do not mind because when I love an author, I want to yell it loud and clear!

I am glad that Siren Publishing did not labelled this story BDSM because even if we talk a lot about it, it is much more about bondage. A little bit more than a playful bondage and bordeline BDSM.

The main reason is because we have a sex scene with the first heroine of the series, Sydney but it was not a full BDSM submission scene and we have the heroine, Abby who is the complete opposite of a submissive although she sure enjoy some roleplay.

Abby is like Veronica, the heroine of the second book. She is a bad ass heroine, trained to kill. Pretty much the same “other daughter” situation and 7 men who felt in love with her.

I loved a lot of things in this story. First the love/lust was on a long extended period of 5 years time. It was not BING BAM BOOM – I lust you – I love you – you need to be mine. Nope. It was based on admiration but also because her father decided for her before he got killed that she would not have an underground agent in her love life. In fact, his manipulative father, took away 2 of her lovers. So all the 7 guys hold themselves until the ultimate revenge operation.

I loved the characters but I have to say that maybe 7 was a bit ambitious because I connected with only4 of them, maybe 5. So maybe few extra chapters to know more about each male would have been even greater. Names? Judson, Porter, Fowler mostly. Sometimes I had the feeling that it was only about Ace and Kit. Even Casey and Brantley were slightly ignored. This said. I thought they were all interesting. I wanted to date them all also! Now this said. I am still thinking that Natalie Acres is at her best when there are a lot of guys involved in the relationship. This story was shorter than the 2 previous one and this maybe explain the hunger I had to know more about them.

Of course among the 7 men, a few were Doms. I had a little issue with that because they fell with a complete opposite of a submissive. Now I questioned myself and thought: do we always fall for the ideal person we have in mind? I mean. Yes I am attracted to a certain type of men but in the end it is the total package not the missing details that really count.

Like the other books of this series, sex did not rock my world but the sexual tension was definitely there.

It is funny to think that most people, including me, have this misconception that when they read “bondage” or “D/s” or “BDSM”, we will read tons of sex scenes and pretty much at each chapter. It was not the case in this series. Natalie Acres privileged the plot, then the characters and then the sex. In this order. And you know what? I am completely fine with it because she has this unique quality to keep me on my toes.

Publisher’s description (Siren Publishing):

Word Count: 55,715 (200 pages)

[Siren LoveXtreme Forever: Erotic Cowboy Ménage Romance, M/F/M/M/M/M/M/M, voyeurism, bondage, figging, spanking, sex toys]

Seduction turns deadly when Abby Rose, an agent with the Underground Unit, decides to put a provocative spin on revenge. Her plan to sleep with a cartel leader backfires when fellow operatives refuse to let Abby face her enemy alone.

Abby’s fellow agents begin the fight of their lives. After discovering Abby will use her body to lure in the man who killed her father and their command leader, seven highly trained special operatives cope with high tensions as each man comes to terms with feelings they never acknowledged.

This team isn’t fighting for another cause or plotting the best way to take out their mark. The stakes are much higher. These men will take up arms and meet their greatest challenge as they work together to protect the woman they admire and love.

book #1: Cowboy Boots and Untamed Heartsmy review

book #2: Cowboy Boots and Unfinished Business  – my review

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.