na-cbauh3121022_0857

General: 4.5 stars
Characters: 4.5
Plot: 5
Sex heat: 4

What a ride! If there is one thing that I can say right away about Natalie Acres is that each time I read her, she puts me in a roller coaster.

Cowboy Boots and Untamed Hearts is not a recent release. Some people loose interest as soon at it is over a month old. I don’t. I think that certain books are not meant to be read immediately. Sometimes I am ready to read a specific author, sometimes I am not. So I have a lot of menage romance in my collection that are just waiting for me for the right time. I enjoy that. When I scroll my large menage collection, it is like Christmas time. Generally I select a dozen and put them on my e-reader.

Natalie Acres wrote 3 books in this series. Cowboy Boots and Untamed Hearts is book 1. In fact, when I started to read it, I knew it was not the first time but since I always write my review very fresh in my mind right after the last page, I decided to read it again.

Natalie Acres is a BDSM contemporary western author. But her range of BDSM varies from mild to heavy. I generally prefer her mild because she focus much more on the characters and their interactions which is one of the main reason I love so much menage romance. Do not get me wrong, I love her heavy BDSM stories as well but I find myself more disturbed or confused when I finished what I called one of her heavy BDSM story. I will also add that Natalie Acres is at her best when she writes a romance with more than 2 men. I am not sure why but I find her more intense and love it!

Cowboy Boots and Untamed Hearts is a heavy BDSM romance. No question about it.

When I said that she puts me in a roller coaster it is because when I read her, she has the talent to put me into a different kind of mood. I breath her character. Not sure if it is English when I say that. My reactions are all over the place.

5 Doms and 1 slave/sub. 5 brothers trained by their father to be government killers. 1 woman who is the daughter of the leader always on the run because she is the constant target, the weakness to be killed by their enemies.

A woman who was raised to have no choice, to submit to her father’s decision and understood that submission is the only way to keep her save. I loved the internal dilemma she had fighting her needs, her emotions and the image she projected and the submission she gave them. She knew exactly what she wanted, what she needed and she was very smart to know herself perfectly.

I loved the characters but sometimes I hated them. They were pretty much big assholes, disrespectful, crude.

Jett frowned. “I don’t like it. I don’t want to think about her with another Dom
and I damn sure don’t want used merchandise.”

So yes of course I was upset and angry. It was like I had this urge to yell but could not of course. I had this big ball in my throat that was painful because I could not express myself and could only… submit. Yes submit to the author’s words and hope that she will justify their personalities.

She did. Not completely. But she did. I understood that the damaged goods were not the heroine but the men.

5 men who are mentally bruised and because they cannot control their line of work which is death, torture and pain, the only way for them to remain sound in mind is to use sex and have the complete control over it. Being a Dom is no longer a choice but a necessity.

Jeff  loved Sydney the heroine with passion but his jealousy and internal insecurities made him a jerk. He is not the only one. I would say 4 out of 5 are, which is a lot.

I have to say that I was confused why none of the guys wooed her, told her they loved her. At least 2 of them were. It was all about fucking and not loving. So the first part of the story was a bit disturbing. I am not fond of hassholes crude cavemen. Sorry, do not find them sexy or even slightly appealing.

I regret that Natalie Acres did not gave equal attention to all the males. She left out one of the them, Kevin and I missed to know his own story. At a certain point it was said that it would take time for him to fall in love with her but then nothing was developed after that.  Yes he participated in the sex scenes but I did not know if he really loved her. All the others, yes but not him.

The plot was great and I enjoyed the unexpected twitch at the end. The sex scenes were very hot but it did not reached the 5 because some BDSM practices were left out even if the author mentioned tons of toys and it was implied. If you think to find tons of sex scenes in this story, you’ll be dead wrong. Yes there are some but mostly the second part of the story and the number was just rightly mixed with the plot and the romance.

I will end my review saying that it takes guts to read this story. I always wonder how someone could become a slave vs a submissive.

Riley pulled her down with him and they sat on the edge of the bed. “I think we
need to be honest here. Something is bothering me about all of this. Why would you
turn all of your free will over to another human being?”
She kissed his lips and reached for his cock, “Because Riley Donovan, I’m the real
damn deal. I’m not playing house here. I want to submit to the men in my bed. I
trust you to make all decisions for me. I plan to make a life with you for as long as
you want me.”
“But why would you prefer—”
“Shh…” she hummed, holding her fingertips to his smooth lips. “I love you. I’m
devoted to you long term. There’s a fine line between submissive women and those
who want to become their Master’s slave and I just want to cross it. That’s all. I’m
yours for as long as you want me. I don’t want to think about it. Just take care of
me. I trust you to do that and do it well.”

Yes. I know. Still confusing uh?

Nobody will really understand it unless she or he lives the livestyle.

Meanwhile, I will continue to select great BDSM authors like Natalie Acres and keep continue to try to understand it… and will sure read her next books of this series or any other of her books.

Publisher’s description (Siren Publishing):

Word Count: 84,330 (208 pages)

[Ménage Amour: Erotic Cowboy Ménage Romance, F/M/M/M/M/M, BDSM, Multiple Partners, Suspense]

Sydney has a problem with Bitch. The horse her father treasures more than gold is running loose and a blizzard is headed for Southwest Virginia. After spending the entire morning chasing the darn animal, she discovers she’s probably not going to earn Cowgirl of the Year for her efforts.

So what’s a damsel in designer jeans to do? Call in reinforcements and fortunately, she knows where to find them.

The Donovan men are known for their good looks, alpha-male ways, and their skills behind stacks of hay bales. It’s their skills that often keep Sydney up late at night, only she’s just dreamed about them. She’s never had the opportunity to act on them because her father’s career often kept her on the move.

A blizzard strikes out and the Donovan brothers want to take the first step and make Sydney their own. Only first they’ll have to reveal a torrid past and answer some tough questions about their family and Sydney’s father. Soon, they discover their innocent little Sydney harbors several secrets of her own and from out of nowhere, a stranger rides in the storm with a surprise for the Donovan brothers.

Book 2: Cowboy Boots and Unfinished Business my review

Book 3: Cowboy Boots and Unsettled Debts my review

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.