My rating: 4.5 stars

I just finished reading this story and I have the same emotion I had when I read this story last year.

Some people will never be able to re-read a story. Some say that once they read it, they know the end and it is no longer attractive to them. I am not like them. I always read the last 2-3 pages before I even start reading a story so of course reading a story again would not bother me at all. I generally discover new details and if I have a good idea of the main points, I do not remember per heart everything so it is still very enjoyable.

Spirals by Beth D. Carter is a MFM multiracial between a Japanese, a Caucasian and an African-American. I do not want to hurt anyone here but I am going to tell you right here right now that for me the more people are different, the better I love them. This can be physically or mentally, I do not care as long as they are different. Spirals was the first menage interracial I read. The fact that it was interracial did not make it good but it sure added extra brownies. I guess this goes along with the high maintenance in men I so like. Who said that I was not a complicated woman? Simplicity? how boring! lol

Before I go further, I have to congratulate the art cover artist. This cover is one of the most one of the kind and it is so very obvious that it was designed for this story only.  Yes it is maybe not the Pulitzer award for the best book cover but I really appreciated that I found the right cover for the right book. But I am not surprised. Loose-Id publisher is really making an effort on their covers.

So lets talk about the story. It was original, well written and I was completely enthralled with the plot.

It is a near future LA city. This post-apocalypse is so credible that this could so very happened today, tomorrow, in a year or anytime.  A crazy country leader. A plague bomb turning in a non controllable world pandemic. Survivors turning into monsters. And some heroes. Put someone into an extraordinary position, ask him/her to do extraordinary things and this person will just bring either the best or the worse of his/her personality.

I loved the characters but it was just a little bit more harder to connect with the males since the author chose to write into the narrative “I” all along the story. I missed it. I prefer when I can read the mind of all the main characters, I understand them better and I feel much closer to them. It does not mean that I did not like Tobias or Orion. It just means that I wished I knew why they fell for Kaori.

I liked the heroine very much. I loved her personality and she was credible all the way. I believed her when she was in the gas station, I believed her when she realized that she would not be a city girl anymore. All along the story, I could “see” the story unfolded. I could “see” images. It was like a movie. I was like “OMG I could totally see a movie from this story, that would be so good! And that is called talent.

I will add a little critic here. I did not find the sex scenes really hot. It was original that they masturbated all together and so far I thought it was a fantastic start but then 5 sex scenes in the story and only one threesome at almost the epilogue. I was a bit starving for more hotness somehow. I would have love to know why the bond between Michael and Graeme was so strong. So maybe a couple of extra chapters would have put this story to the perfect rating.

But I think the plot was fantastic. It kept me on my toes. It was (yes I repeat myself) original. If I read a book 2 times and if 2 times I enjoy it with the same level… then you can consider it as a must read.

Just for you to know, Beth D. Carter wrote book 2 with Kismet. I was ecstatic at first until I realized that it was not a menage although in my head it was supposed to be when the author described the trio in Spirals. Of course, my bad habit to read the last couple of pages told me that it ended a MF as well as the blurb. But I have no doubt that for MF lovers, the story will be as good as Spirals!

Publisher’s description (Loose-Id):

Genre:     Post-Apocalyptic/Futuristic Multicultural Menage

Kaori Carnelian was only sixteen when Los Angeles was hit by an earthquake that devastated it. With the world trying to recover from a plague that has wiped out half of the population, she learns how to survive by her wits and a great ability to hide, scavenging through what is left of LA.

Years later, the government sends in recon men Sergeants Tobias Noble and Orion West to find any survivors before another earthquake destroys everything. They find her pleasuring herself and instantly both want her. Her world spirals out of control in a very delicious way. But when the men have to go find two others in their regiment that are missing, Kaori has to decide if her love outweighs her instinct for surviving.

Publisher’s Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Anal play/intercourse, menage (m/f/m), voyeurism.

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.