My rating: 4 stars

When I decide to read a new author it is like the lottery. I never know how much or how little I will like the story and/or the writing, It has been a little while since I wanted to give a try to read Louisa Bacio and I decided to read The Vampire, the Witch and the Werewolf. Since I just finished 3 werewolves stories in a row and they were all really good, I bet myself that the 4th would be also really good.

And it was.

A woman turning 29, discovers that she is gaining paranormal powers, can see “other” beings and is trying to understand who she is and why now. On her way to find responses, she finds a vampire and a werewolf and decides that they are the one to help her. They both decide to help her and ask her to move in with them.

Now. She is a virgin. If you do not know by now after all the reviews I wrote that I am not into the chiché virgin type, then you never read me. If I was reading a print I think I would use a correction tape each time I read virgin but since I use an e-reader, I just have to clench my teeth, shake my head and continue reading crossing my fingers that the author will not be another false harlequin author who decided to jump the erotica fence.

In fact, the heroine did try many times to have sex but somehow she could never have either an orgasm and be penetrated. Pheww Louisa Bacio is not a harlequin author. Yay! Little miracles exist but hey! We are closed to x-mas so that is possible!

The plot was really good up to a certain point. Once in a while I think I was missing some development like for example I would have loved to know how she found them and why she decided to come to New Orleans. I would have loved to know what happened with the kids ghosts. So the plot was great until the “oh nooo I cannot leave my mother who abandoned me when I was a baby and leave her behind me… I have to deliver her… I cannot stand to be happy and not her…”. Until that part, I really enjoyed it.

If you are looking for  lot of  sex scenes, then that is not the right book since they were quasi non existent for half of the book except a MM encounter, then it was a near miss threesome , then a MF and finally a dual penetration to cement the relationship. I understand the scarce scenes but I started to be frustrated around the half of the story. I thought: okay, be done with it now! Jump their bones! But since the non sex was part of the plot, even a bit frustrated, I understood why it took so long in the book to be developed.

From one chapter to another it was the thoughts of the main characters although it was mainly the heroine and the werewolf. The more we got into the story, the more we knew about the characters and their past. It was nicely developed. However, I missed a bit some development and not knowing if this book would become the first of a series or not, at the end of the book I was asking myself: who is her father, what does the voodoo priestess wishes in exchange (although the term “investment” ring with baby somehow), what is the history between her mother and the voodoo priestess.

Now knowing that book 2 is out Chains of Silver, I understand that the responses will be given along the way of the series. So this is a stand alone with an open door. And obviously the vampire and the werewolf were very popular because their own story just came out today.

I think the character I liked the most is probably the werewolf but I also liked the vampire. Louisa Bacio found a way to describe them vulnerable and I liked it very much. All three characters starve for love and acceptance and long term relationship. All those feelings that each one of us are also starving in real life. So I indeed fell for them along the way.

I was a bit taken by surprise with the ending. Maybe Louisa Bacio was thinking ahead in her series and she had to develop her plot that way but I am not sure that saving her mother was necessary. Going after a demon on the knowledge that she probably has her full powers but her lovers may die in the process was unnecessary in my opinion. In fact, I would have loved better if she developed more the relationship between them, add way more passion. I felt sometimes that that the heroine did not receive the equal love in the relationship. Both men accepted way too quickly to leave her alone when she asked it and were pretty happy to remain both together without her.

Overall, I spent a really good time reading Louisa Bacio. Her style is different and it was intriguing to follow her imagination. I think she found a way to use the right words to describe very attaching characters and her plot was not too quick or not too slow. This story and her style were different and everyone knows how much I love difference!

Now if you want to read this series in order, I invite you to read The Vampire and the Werewolf (MM), then The Vampire, The Witch and the Werewolf (MMF) and then Chains of  Silver (MF). I did not read the Vampire and the Werewolf since it came out today (December 20, 2011)  but I did not need it. However I think it will add a little something extra if you read their love story before.

Publisher’s description (Ravenous):

Haunted by paranormal abilities that she can’t control, and plagued by nightmares about a demon that seeks her soul, Lily Anima travels to New Orleans in search of salvation.

In the French Quarter, Lily dives into the paranormal world and enlists the help of an unlikely couple: a vampire, Lawrence Justice, and a werewolf, Trevor Pack.

As the trio encounters ghosts, voodoo and unspeakable evil, will Trevor and Lawrence be able to help Lily turn her powers into a gift rather than a curse? And when Lily discovers that she needs to lose her virginity in order to embrace her powers and get the demon off her back, will the twosome be able to survive as a threesome?

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

2 responses

  1. Louisa Bacio says:

    Thanks so much for the honest review. Definitely I felt like the sex scenes were delayed in this novel, but it was so tied into the plot! (Especially in contrast to my first book Sex University: Physical Education, which is a wild sex romp!, lol). Anyway, Chains of Silver has MUCH more sex in it, starting about page 30. They’re already established: Bam! In fact, one review so far said that she didn’t care for how Silver always wanted to get it on … all the time. (She’s 18, and I totally went for that contrast to the older trio.)

    And while you don’t read M/M traditionally, I’m glad that you liked the interplay between those characters. Now, you can see why some have asked for that story.

    Like

  2. marynaughtywhispers says:

    Thank you Louisa for taking the time to leave a comment on my review. 🙂

    I totally agree that when we are 18, our sex drive is way higher. I am also very happy that you wrote the story of The Vampire and the Werewolf. I am sure the MM lovers were dying to know more because both your male characters deserve their own story 🙂

    Thank you for the great time I spent reading you!

    Like